We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spend the entire day!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Magnolia Plantation & Gardens

Magnolia Plantation & Gardens
3550 Ashley River Rd, Charleston, SC 29414
800 367-3517
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #20 of 96 Attractions in Charleston
Type: Historic Sites, Gardens, Outdoors
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Home of the oldest garden in America.
Wabash, Indiana
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Spend the entire day!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

This was the best place we visited in Charleston. You will want to spend the entire day there. There are so many beautiful locations in the gardens. Bring a camera with a full battery. The slavery program was very informative and educational about how slavery was. A very relaxing boat tour where you will see many alligators, birds, and turtles. Overall, a very relaxing experience that made us want to return. We were sad to leave.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,871 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    893
    606
    249
    76
    47
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Naples, Florida
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Great garden and history lesson.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

We had a great time visiting Magnolia Plantation. Was a beautiful day. It had rained earlier and parking was a little muddy. Down fall is you have to pay for every tour. The plantation house is small but guide was very knowledgable. The nature was a nice trip but we did see a lot of stuff we see in Florida. The best was
The slave house. Tim was our guide. He was awesome. It was a 1 hour tour and he gave us a ton of info. Very sad to see how how slaves had to live in those days. We spent 4 hours there but a good time.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cary, North Carolina
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Leisurely Afternoon”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

This is a little drive from downtown but well worth it. We toured the house, took the nature train, and did the swamp walk. We definitely could have spent more time walking through the gardens but we were on our way back home so we had limited time.

The house was not quite what we expected (expecting Antebellum home in all its extravagance, but that one had burned down) but our tour guide was fabulous and walked us through the whole history of the plantation right up to present day. Very interesting.

Dick was our nature train driver and guide. He was so great, lots of stories about the plantation and the wildlife to be found there, quite the joker, and very excited about his job.

The swamp tour is self-guided although there is an option to dial a number on your cell and get a "guided" tour. I was wishing a brought my "good" camera instead of just my iPhone.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Longmeadow, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“Interesting day”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

The house tour was given by a colorful, very Southern gentleman and was interesting and informative. Gardens consisted mainly of azaleas and wasn't very well maintained. The Slave Cabin Tour and the Audubon Swamp Tour (self guided) were definitely worth taking.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
1 review
“Slave cabins”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

Went in march and saw the gardens. Everything is natural looking, not manicured. We we were told that romantic gardens are when mans works with nature. I like the style. They offer 5 extra tours but it is an extra cost for each one. We hose the slavery to freedom tour and Jenn was our guide. We enjoyed hearing how the slaves lived and the continuing story after the war. Would love to go back but will have to budget for it.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Magnolia Plantation & Gardens also viewed

Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Magnolia Plantation & Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Magnolia Plantation & Gardens, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.