We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Large gardens” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Magnolia Plantation & Gardens

Magnolia Plantation & Gardens
3550 Ashley River Rd, Charleston, SC 29414
+1 800-367-3517
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #22 of 219 things to do in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: South Carolina's Most Visited Plantation and Gardens. National Registry of Historic Places. Ancient Oak Avenue. Tours full of History. World Famous Gardens of the 19th Century "Romantic Style". Selected by Travel + Leisure (2014) as the only South Carolina garden deemed one of "America's Most Beautiful Gardens". Reconstruction Period Plantation Home Tour. Award Winning Slave Cabin Tour. Very popular Nature-Train Tour. Rice Field Boat Tour. Family Oriented. Petting Zoo and Nature Center. Audubon Swamp Self-Guided Tour. Amazing Nesting Rookery. If you have only one Plantation to see, don't miss us!
Metairie, LA
Top Contributor
357 reviews 357 reviews
189 attraction reviews
Reviews in 84 cities Reviews in 84 cities
153 helpful votes 153 helpful votes
“Large gardens”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

We were sorry that it was fall and not much was in bloom in the gardens. I am sure they are better at other times of the year. The house is interesting but nothing spectacular.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,173 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,054
    704
    285
    82
    48
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Aiken, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
24 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Magnolia Plantation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

We had a great time. We did the house tour and the nature tram. We would have done more but did not realize before hand that this was an all day tour if you do all of them. However the house tour was very good. The nature tram was really nice. It was a warm day but not too hot and the ride was wonderful. We had a great tour guide. We got to see a mama alligator and her babies. Also got to see quite a few birds and a lot of large turtles. Tour guide told a lot about natural habitats and different species of plants and trees there. The gardens were nice but not much blooming in October. The camellias were getting ready to bloom and I'm sure would have been beautiful. Spring would probably be a better time to go for the gardens. Also had paid for the boat tour but did not have time, and our money was refunded with no hassel at all. Would go back in the spring if I had another vacation there. Also they had a snack bar with sandwiches, burgers and drinks. Prices were reasonable.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Beautiful grounds”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

Had a great time, definitely visit the petting zoo. Gracie the deer is adorable. Only downside is that in October most flowers were not in bloom. Our fault!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anna Maria, Florida
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Magnolia Plantation and Gardens”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

It was nice but a bit disappointing. I think the time of year (October) may not have been the best because many flowers were not in bloom. We took 3 of the tours(slave cabins, the main house and the nature tour) two of the 3 tour guides were very stoic...did not make the history come to life for us.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camp Hill, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

The gardens were very pretty would like to see in the spring. the history was interesting. The house was interesting to see and hear about

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Magnolia Plantation & Gardens also viewed

Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Magnolia Plantation & Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Magnolia Plantation & Gardens, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.