We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love the history here!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Old Exchange & Provost Dungeon

Old Exchange & Provost Dungeon
122 East Bay Street, Charleston, SC 29401
843-727-2165
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Top Rated
$21*
and up
Historical Charleston Tour with Optional Joseph...
Ranked #31 of 229 things to do in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Activities: Group tours/walking tour
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: History comes alive as Colonial dressed guides talk about Pirates, Patriots and Presidents! Explore the location where pirates were once held and view a section of the 1698 fortification that once protected the Walled City. Completed in 1771 as the New Exchange and Customs House, recognized today as South Carolina's most historic building. Where Patriots were imprisoned, the Constitution was ratified and George Washington was entertained.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
1,530 reviews
809 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 410 helpful votes
“Love the history here!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

This place has seen so much, and the docents are very knowledgeable and friendly! I certainly recommend it, and don't forget to look around upstairs as well as in the dungeon. It's great!

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

541 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    264
    201
    54
    17
    5
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Springfield, Illinois
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great tour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

This location did a great job of providing a historical overview of the City of Charleston. The docent was very knowledgeable and made what could have been quite dry interesting for our family.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 attraction reviews
“Not that great”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

Definitely not worth the money. Guide didn't seem to be a natural - seemed to be overly scripted. Not that exciting.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael C, Public Relations Manager at Old Exchange & Provost Dungeon, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
So sorry to hear that you did not enjoy time at the Old Exchange. Most of our guides are educators or licensed tour guides (or in some cases, both), so it is surprising to hear that you felt the tour was too scripted. If you get a chance, please email me through the tripadvsior email system, with a little more information. I would glad to review your guides tour.

Thank you for visting us. Safe travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level Contributor
70 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Beautiful and Well Preserved Building”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

We enjoyed our tour of the Old Exchange and Provost building. It offered an interesting glimpse into the history of early Charleston and the revolutionary war. Defiantly worth a visit. I recommend getting the combined ticket to the Old Slave Market.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pensacola, Florida
Level Contributor
34 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Step back in time”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

Hear the tales from the past. Kids will enjoy this stop.
Full of history. Be sure to add this to your list of places to visit.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Old Exchange & Provost Dungeon also viewed

Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Old Exchange & Provost Dungeon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Old Exchange & Provost Dungeon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.