We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent tour, but weak museum” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Old Exchange & Provost Dungeon

Old Exchange & Provost Dungeon
122 East Bay Street, Charleston, SC 29401
843-727-2165
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #19 of 96 Attractions in Charleston
Type: History Museums, Museums
Activities: Group tours/walking tour
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: History comes alive as Colonial dressed guides talk about Pirates, Patriots and Presidents! Explore the location where pirates were once held and view a section of the 1698 fortification that once protected the Walled City. Completed in 1771 as the New Exchange and Customs House, recognized today as South Carolina's most historic building. Where Patriots were imprisoned, the Constitution was ratified and George Washington was entertained.
New York City, New York
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Excellent tour, but weak museum”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2014

Our guide walked us through the prison and shared some of the impressive colonial history that took place there. It also helped give an overview of the history of the city in general. The rest of the museum is filled of random portraits and the like from colonial Charleston, but not much context is given.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

448 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    226
    164
    39
    14
    5
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Interesting!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2014

My husband and I loved the tour of the dungeon. Our guide, Finn, was excellent in telling the history. We learned more about Charleston history, including famous pirates. I would highly recommend this tour for anyone, including kids.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herndon, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Another Gem of American and Southern History”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014

The Old Exchange and Provost is perhaps the most striking single building in Charleston's historic district, and visiting it makes a huge amount of history come alive. The exhibits and the guided tours of the provost/basement inform the traveler about life in Charleston and South Carolina during the Colonial period (e.g., pirate stories) and the Revolutionary War (the handling of British tea, the fall of the city to the Redcoats and the imprisonment of Patriots by the British occupiers). The Great Hall reminds the traveler of the significance of the building even after the winning of American independence.

I've always gladly paid the small admission to get historic endorphins and refresh my history of South Carolina and Charleston.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kansas
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Very interesting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014

This is about an hours time to see the artifacts and take the guided tour. Our kids thought is was interesting and fun. Would recommend.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Historical gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

This place impressed me so much, wow. My husband and I came and used our AAA discount for admission. It came with a tour of the dungeon. The history and preservation was amazing. I loved how they had the mannequins set up throughout to illustrate the various moments in time.

Throughout the museum, there are some pretty cool historical items to view. My faves, besides the dungeon were the gowns worn by some of the women from that period. So cool!

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Old Exchange & Provost Dungeon also viewed

Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Old Exchange & Provost Dungeon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Old Exchange & Provost Dungeon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.