We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“History happened here” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Old Exchange & Provost Dungeon

Old Exchange & Provost Dungeon
122 East Bay Street, Charleston, SC 29401
843-727-2165
Website
Improve this listing
Visit Old Exchange & Provost Dungeon like an insider
Top Rated
$21*
and up
Historical Charleston Tour with Optional Joseph...
Ranked #31 of 219 things to do in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Activities: Group tours/walking tour
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: History comes alive as Colonial dressed guides talk about Pirates, Patriots and Presidents! Explore the location where pirates were once held and view a section of the 1698 fortification that once protected the Walled City. Completed in 1771 as the New Exchange and Customs House, recognized today as South Carolina's most historic building. Where Patriots were imprisoned, the Constitution was ratified and George Washington was entertained.
new york
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“History happened here”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

Very historically significant building in the history of our Nation. And there is lots of history to read about in the dislplays. The cannonball they found in 2012 was cool and it is on display in the first floor. The dungeon was alright...but seeing the original city breakwall was cool ....rest of dungeon history is good for the ghost hunters and historians.
Worth the tourist dollars but not a place id go back to again when we visit Charleston in the future.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

519 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    251
    196
    51
    16
    5
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Olean, New York
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“History”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013 via mobile

Tour guide was fantastic (Fin). Beautiful building. Great history. Staff full of knowledge. Guided tour of dungeon great bonus included in fee.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Myers, Florida
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Great event venue!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013 via mobile

Attended a wedding reception here, very interesting location. Quick dungeon tours were offered and cocktails were served in the first floor/museum area. The main reception was on the second floor and the did a lovely job. Staff were friendly and we'd definitely go back another time!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muncie, Indiana
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Interesting”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

It was good if you liked reading about history, but there wasn't much interactive stuff for children or teens.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallassee, Alabama
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Ranked in the top 5 things we toured!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

We spent our entire trip touring everything we could fit into 5 days.
This was one of the top 5. The history and architecture are just amazing.
This is a must see. We spent at least an hour and could have spent much more time there.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Old Exchange & Provost Dungeon also viewed

Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Old Exchange & Provost Dungeon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Old Exchange & Provost Dungeon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.