We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“History” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Old Exchange & Provost Dungeon

Old Exchange & Provost Dungeon
122 East Bay Street, Charleston, SC 29401
843-727-2165
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #20 of 98 Attractions in Charleston
Type: History Museums, Museums
Activities: Group tours/walking tour
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: History comes alive as Colonial dressed guides talk about Pirates, Patriots and Presidents! Explore the location where pirates were once held and view a section of the 1698 fortification that once protected the Walled City. Completed in 1771 as the New Exchange and Customs House, recognized today as South Carolina's most historic building. Where Patriots were imprisoned, the Constitution was ratified and George Washington was entertained.
Olean, New York
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“History”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013 via mobile

Tour guide was fantastic (Fin). Beautiful building. Great history. Staff full of knowledge. Guided tour of dungeon great bonus included in fee.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

447 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    226
    163
    39
    14
    5
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Fort Myers, Florida
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Great event venue!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013 via mobile

Attended a wedding reception here, very interesting location. Quick dungeon tours were offered and cocktails were served in the first floor/museum area. The main reception was on the second floor and the did a lovely job. Staff were friendly and we'd definitely go back another time!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muncie, Indiana
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Interesting”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

It was good if you liked reading about history, but there wasn't much interactive stuff for children or teens.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallassee, Alabama
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Ranked in the top 5 things we toured!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

We spent our entire trip touring everything we could fit into 5 days.
This was one of the top 5. The history and architecture are just amazing.
This is a must see. We spent at least an hour and could have spent much more time there.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, NC
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
“Interesting historical site”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

We were intrigued by the location, name and site of this building. We did pay for the tour. I feel it was over-priced and a bit "cheesy" as others have stated, but an interesting history to see. I am glad I did it but it is not something I would want to do again in a future visit.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael C, Public Relations Manager at Old Exchange & Provost Dungeon, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
Our tours are priced at $8.00 per adult and $4.00 for kids. This is argubly one of the best deals in Charleston when it comes to museums. I would be interested in knowing what made you think our attraction was "cheesy." We strive to deliver a good product- can you email me your thoughts at cokerm@charleston-sc.gov? Feedback like yours is invaluable in developing out tours and and presentation.

Thank you for your business!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Old Exchange & Provost Dungeon also viewed

Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Old Exchange & Provost Dungeon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Old Exchange & Provost Dungeon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.