We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worthwhile to visit” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Old Exchange & Provost

Old Exchange & Provost
122 East Bay Street, Charleston, SC 29401
843-727-2165
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #20 of 104 attractions in Charleston
Type: History Museums
Activities: Group tours/walking tour
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: History comes alive as Colonial dressed guides talk about Pirates, Patriots and Presidents! Explore the location where pirates were once held and view a section of the 1698 fortification that once protected the Walled City. Completed in 1771 as the New Exchange and Customs House, recognized today as South Carolina's most historic building. Where Patriots were imprisoned, the Constitution was ratified and George Washington was entertained.
Zurich
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Worthwhile to visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

the tour of the museum was very limited. The Jung Chap who talked us trough the dungeon was lacking the information to make this tour more exciting and informative. .

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

351 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    183
    124
    26
    13
    5
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Detroit
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
52 attraction reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Neat Historical Building”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

We wandered into the Old Exchange, not expecting much, and paid the $8 for a tour. It ended up being just my wife and I and I sure wish we remembered the guide's name because he was excellent. I can't believe how knowledgeable and enthusiastic he was throughout our 30 minute tour. His quick review of the city's history and how prisoners were held here during the was was fascinating. As others on T.A. have indicated, the dungeon is the gem and seeing the old city wall remains was certainly impressive. Just how this building has survived so long is another amazing point. The floors upstairs also have some interesting displays, but the tour's the thing to do!

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Interesting slice of history”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

Our tour guide was very informative and helpful, answering extra questions about the building and its history. Even if you take a walking or carriage tour, you will learn new things about Charleston's role in American history with a visit to this museum.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Georgia
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
29 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“A must see tour!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

A costumed soldier prop outside the building caught our eye on the way to the market and we turned around to ask directions. I'm glad we did. This building has so much history involving so many important people. While the top floor was open and was used like our modern day Wall Street below was a Dungeon holding pirates as well as prisoners of the Revolutionary War and where Isaac Hayne, a martyr spent his last night. (you can read all about it upstairs in the self guided tour) Stand at the balcony that the Declaration of Independence was read!~

The dungeon was probably my favorite part, the architecture of the brick is awe inspiring considering it was done centuries ago using sandbags and mud as a form. Beautiful!

There are self guided tours that you can take you time with and read and explore at your own pace, items consisting of clothing, weapons, furniture, pictures as well as a small gift shop. Allow yourself at least 1 hour if you plan on reading and enjoying all they have to offer.

Guides are very knowledgeable, helpful and friendly.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
“Very Informative”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

Great start to our day in Charleston. Had a wonderfully knowledgable guide who told the history of Charleston with tidbits of information not found in history books. Really enjoyed the tour of the Provost. Came away with a better understanding of the history of Charleston and our country. A definite must.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Old Exchange & Provost also viewed

Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Old Exchange & Provost? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Old Exchange & Provost, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Old Exchange & Provost to your Saves list