We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great tour of an elaborate house” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Calhoun Mansion

The Calhoun Mansion
16 Meeting Street, Charleston, SC 29401 (Charlestowne)
843-722-8205
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #44 of 104 attractions in Charleston
Type: Historic Sites
Activities: Group tours/walking tour, Arts and crafts
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: One of Charleston's architectural treasures, this historic mansion owned by George Walton Williams transports visitors back in time.
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great tour of an elaborate house”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012 via mobile

Tour guide was great, funny and interesting ! The house is out of this world! Great look at the opulence of that time

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

603 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    314
    125
    65
    56
    43
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Long Island, New York
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Skip it”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

This house has never been owned by the historical society nor preserved in an authentic 19th century interior. The current owner still lives in the house, charges $15 for a brief tour, and the inside is absolutely hideous. Don't bother. Just walk around the outside of the house and take picture. Go to one of the houses that are part of the historical society.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Metairie, LA
Top Contributor
295 reviews 295 reviews
158 attraction reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
138 helpful votes 138 helpful votes
“Quite interesting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

This house is hugh and has some spectacular features, but it is hard to really see the house itself as it has been cluttered with tons and tons of museum articles. It you like to see alot of stuff - although it is very fine stuff - do visit this house and hear about the owner and his collections. Don't miss the room with the fabulous glass roof - if you can look past all of the articles in the rooms. It is certainly interesting even if you don't care for everything in the collections.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aiken, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“A hoarder with class”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

My husband and I were walking around town and decided to go in the Calhoun Mansion eventhough it was $15 per person. Boy did we get our money's worth!! This guy is a packrat of a different kind. This house is loaded with so many neat and unsual items. It was fascinating. I didn't get our tour guide's name but he was very funny and charming. He shared so much info about alot of the pieces in the rooms. Also we got a lot of history about the actual house from first built to present day. There is so much stuff packed in this house (I believe that they said 10 tractor trailers loads and still adding) it is unbelievable!! And the owners still live there and entertain and have guests over. The gardens were also beautiful. Tour lasted about 45 minutes and was well worth the money.
I'm so glad we went in and didn't walk on by.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A great tour guide makes all the difference”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

I toured the Calhoun Mansion with some friends this past weekend. We were looking for an opportunity to see a local mansion and gardens without spending a great deal of money or time. Admission to the Calhoun Mansion was $15. I cannot remember how long it was but somewhere between 30 minutes -1 hour.
The tour was great especially for people who are interested in antiques. There were a number of spectacular period pieces. Much money and time was devoted to restoring the mansion and filling it with art work, furniture, wall coverings, etc. that depicted the time period.
Pricilla was our tour guide, and she was excellent. Extremely knowlegeable,charming and funny. A great combination. I overheard another couple say that they had been on the tour two other times and thought Pricilla was the best. I cannot disagree and my friends thought the same thing. She was a terrific tour guide and the mansion owner is very lucky to have her for an employee.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Calhoun Mansion also viewed

Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to The Calhoun Mansion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Calhoun Mansion, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added The Calhoun Mansion to your Saves list