We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quick Guided Tour” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Nathaniel Russell House

Nathaniel Russell House
51 Meeting St, Charleston, SC 29401 (Charlestowne)
+1 843-724-8481
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #16 of 109 Attractions in Charleston
Type: Historic Sites
Activities: Group tours/walking tour
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: The Foundation welcomes visitors to explore daily life in one of Charleston's most exquisite dwellings. Located in Downtown Charleston near High Battery, the Nathaniel Russell House Museum, 51 Meeting Street, is widely recognized as one of America's most important neoclassical dwellings. Historic Charleston Foundation purchased the National Historic Landmark in 1955, and the house served as the Foundation's headquarters for 37 years. Today, the interiors are restored to their original 1808 grandeur and surrounded by formal gardens.
Coventry, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Quick Guided Tour”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

The house looks huge from outside but once inside it is deceptive as the staircase takes up so much room. The tour started off on the ground floor with a talk in the entry hall and moved on to an elegant dining room and plain day room. Upstairs was an ornate music room, reception room and a bedroom and that concluded the tour. None of the third floor was included as the guide pointed out it was not in a very good state of repair.
We were not in the house very long and moved from room to room quite quickly so I would say it was expensive for what it was. The gardens are quite pretty but not big enough to go wandering in.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Historic C, Owner at Nathaniel Russell House, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. You might enjoy visiting our other property, the Aiken-Rhett House Museum. This tour is self-guided and guests are free to roam the property at their own pace. We hope that you will visit our properties soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

681 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    365
    245
    57
    12
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Larchmont, New York
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Beautiful House, Wonderful Guide and Interesting Family History”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

There are many historic homes to see in Charleston but this one should not be missed. It started with our very knowledgeable tour guide who welcomed our questions and told us if she didn't know the answer she would research it and get back to us by email. The furnishings were all of the period and she explained how original architectural details were brought back to life through painstaking removal of paint and decoration. The family also has an interesting story which I will not ruin in this review. If you read Susan Monk Kidd's book The Invention of Wings, the character Sarah goes to a ball in the Alston House and I think this is the house that it referred to.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Historic C, Owner at Nathaniel Russell House, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
We are delighted that you enjoyed your visit to the Nathaniel Russell House Museum. Thank you for taking the time to leave a review, and we hope to see you again! Please visit our website to see our latest programming at the museums.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tillson, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Excellent Tour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

This house house been completely restored and is magnificent. Visitors leave knowing the history of the family and how they lived. Our tour guide was very knowledgeable and answered all our questions. If you're looking for a restored historic mansion, this is a great choice.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Historic C, Owner at Nathaniel Russell House, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
We are delighted that you enjoyed your visit to the Nathaniel Russell House Museum. Thank you for taking the time to leave a review, and we hope to see you again! Please visit our website to see our latest programming at the museums.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida, United States
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“See the Staircase”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

Thsi was another must see. The staircase alone made it very worthwhile. The round rooms were wonderful. Another great look back at history.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Historic C, Owner at Nathaniel Russell House, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
We are delighted that you enjoyed your visit to the Nathaniel Russell House Museum. Thank you for taking the time to leave a review, and we hope to see you again! Please visit our website to see our latest programming at the museums.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melville, New York
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Go...just to look at the staircase”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

I thought this would be one of the "you see one old house you've seen them all". Mostly true. But, go here, take the tour, and just look UP and then DOWN the staircase. It's circular and appears to float. Very cool. The trim and woodwork in the "rounded" rooms on each floor were impressive, ESPECIALLY the 2nd floor. (3rd floor not open for tours).

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Historic C, Owner at Nathaniel Russell House, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
We are so glad that you enjoyed your visit to the Nathaniel Russell House Museum. The staircase and the detailing are truly remarkable. Thank you for taking the time to leave a review, and we hope to see you again! Please visit our website to see our latest programming at the museums.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nathaniel Russell House also viewed

Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Nathaniel Russell House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nathaniel Russell House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.