We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great guide” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Nathaniel Russell House

Nathaniel Russell House
51 Meeting St, Charleston, SC 29401 (Charlestowne)
+1 843-724-8481
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #12 of 98 Attractions in Charleston
Type: Historic Sites, Cultural
Activities: Group tours/walking tour
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Foundation welcomes visitors to explore daily life in one of Charleston's most exquisite dwellings. Located in Downtown Charleston near High Battery, the Nathaniel Russell House Museum, 51 Meeting Street, is widely recognized as one of America's most important neoclassical dwellings. Historic Charleston Foundation purchased the National Historic Landmark in 1955, and the house served as the Foundation's headquarters for 37 years. Today, the interiors are restored to their original 1808 grandeur and surrounded by formal gardens.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great guide”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2013 via mobile

Grounds were very nice, decorated for the holidays, tour guide fabulous, giving great history of the family and architectural features of the home, able to answer the myriad of questions and enjoyed doing so.. Thoroughly enjoyed my tour, length of time was appropriate too. Staircase fabulous...

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

716 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    390
    253
    58
    13
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Sylva, North Carolina
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Beautiful guided walk through history”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013

This house has been beautifully restored, and our guide was quite knowledgeable in pointing out architectural details and providing a glimpse into the families that lived here. My husband and I both thought it was a very worthwhile visit.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Green Oak Township
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Delightfuly tour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

We toured two homes in Charleston's residential Historic District and this was our favorite. Our tour guide was so delightful and enthusiastic that it made our visit even more enjoyable. Wonderful neoclassical design and free-flying staircase.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Floating stairway beautiful, worth the price?????”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013

No photos allowed inside the building was disappointing. Would have liked one of the stairway. Tour was ok, but nothing great. Only the first two floors are open to tours, not the top floor. The house seemed much smaller inside than expected.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackstone, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
24 attraction reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“Nice tour and a must do if you have time”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

Based upon recommendation from our walking tour guide we took in this house. Overall a great part of history of the south and worth the price of admission. Ken was our guide and he knows his history and did a great job providing adequate detail and answered any questions we had. House is nice and represents the time frame in the 1800's. Ken opened my eyes on southern history as we come from New England.

Easy access from the Market Street area.

I would recommend if you have a spare hour when visiting Charleston. Worth the visit.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nathaniel Russell House also viewed

Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Nathaniel Russell House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nathaniel Russell House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.