We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable short visit” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Aiken-Rhett House

Aiken-Rhett House
48 Elizabeth St, Charleston, SC 29401
+1 843-723-1159
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #13 of 96 Attractions in Charleston
Type: Historic Sites, Cultural
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Aiken-Rhett House Museum, 48 Elizabeth Street, c. 1820, Is unique in many ways. For example, it remained in the hands of family descendents for 142 years until it was sold to The Charleston Museum and opened as a museum house in 1975. Historic Charleston Foundation purchased the house in 1995 and adopted a conservation approach to the interpretation of this important house and its outbuildings.
Venice, Ca
Top Contributor
130 reviews 130 reviews
45 attraction reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
123 helpful votes 123 helpful votes
“Enjoyable short visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2014

Clean nice bathrooms and lockers available. Audio tour was informative, and not too long or too short. It was a perfect stop after breakfast. The free trolley takes you right near this attraction. You can buy a combo ticket for the Aiken-Rhett and Nathaniel Russell house for $6 more, which I recommend. It's a unique contrast between a home that has been preserved versus restored.

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Historic C, Owner at Aiken-Rhett House, responded to this review, September 5, 2014
We are delighted that you enjoyed your visit to the Aiken-Rhett House Museum.Thank you for taking the time to leave a review, and we hope to see you again! Please visit our website to see our latest programming at the museums.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

670 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    417
    182
    55
    12
    4
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Woodbridge, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Awesome peek into unspoiled history”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2014

We have done the walking tours and explored Charleston. We have been to a few of the homes which some were disappointing and expensive the Aiken-Rhett home was priced fairly and an amazing home that is almost entirely available for your exploration. The home is preserved not restored so you truly see the past. the home is a great audio tour at your own pace and done very very well. You can truly let your mind wander and feel how it was back in time in this grand home. It is pretty relaxed and let you go through the whole estate at your own pace. one of the best sites we have seen in Charleston. a must see!

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Historic C, Owner at Aiken-Rhett House, responded to this review, August 27, 2014
We are delighted that you enjoyed your visit to the Aiken-Rhett House Museum. Thank you for taking the time to leave a review, and we hope to see you again! Please visit our website to see our latest programming at the museums.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cranford, New Jersey
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
36 attraction reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Interesting self-guided tour”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2014

They give you a tiny mp3 player and invite you to follow the audio tour. There are docents available to answer questions. At the moment, the place is in disrepair and not much to see in the working areas/slave quarters. You do get to tour the outside grounds, as well as the first and second floors of the house (which are sparsely furnished).

We didn't get the chance to visit any other houses in the area.. But, over all I would say it was good for filling 90 min if you have nothing to do. But I wouldn't go out of my way to see it. So many people recommended this house - but i was not that impressed. I really preferred Boone Hall.

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Historic C, Owner at Aiken-Rhett House, responded to this review, August 27, 2014
Built in 1820 and greatly expanded by Governor and Mrs. William Aiken Jr. in the 1830’s, the Aiken-Rhett House Museum and its outbuildings survive in a condition that depicts the way they have changed and evolved over time. The property allows visitors to explore the interconnections among all member of the Aiken household, both free and enslaved. The Aikens enjoyed traveling abroad, and visitors will find many of the objects they returned with are still in the rooms for which they were purchased. Since 1995, the Foundation has worked to conserve and preserve the historic layers of the past rather than restore the mansion to a specific moment in time. Many guests walk away from the house feeling like they have stepped back in time because of how well the house has been preserved. We hope that you will consider returning in the future, giving us the opportunity to share the true beauty of the house and its history as well as the Foundation’s appreciation of the conservation approach toward preserving the museum.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, Tennessee
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Interesting!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014

What I loved about the Aiken-Rhett House is that it has been "preserved" and not restored. Yes, some people may say it looks "run down" but I think it is hauntingly beautiful and that is why I loved it. Original wall paper is still on the walls from the 1860s, cooking utensils are still in the kitchen and furniture is still in the rooms. It is like the family left and just never came back. I liked that it was an audio tour because I was able to take my time and look around and rewind if I wanted to hear something again. There are docents around so you may ask them a question if you have any. There is so much history in the home and it is easy to imagine the girls walking in wearing their dresses for the ball. The home was considered the "country home" back when it was built, so it is a trek from downtown but I didn't mind because there were so many beautiful homes on the way. I highly recommend seeing this home.

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Historic C, Owner at Aiken-Rhett House, responded to this review, August 27, 2014
We are glad you enjoyed your visit to the Aiken-Rhett House Museum, a recipient of TripAdvisor's 2014 Certificate of Excellence. Also, we’re pleased you enjoyed and appreciated our conservation approach to the interpretation of this important house and its outbuildings. Many guests walk away from the house feeling like they have stepped back in time because of how well the house has been preserved. Thanks for visiting, and we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great self-guided tour”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014

The indoor. outdoor self-guided tour was informative and easy. This is an excellent example of a preserved city home of plantation owners. It also has intact quarters where the enslaved workers lived. Easy walk from the Meeting Street/ Market St area.

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Historic C, Owner at Aiken-Rhett House, responded to this review, August 27, 2014
We are glad you enjoyed your visit to the Aiken-Rhett House Museum, a recipient of TripAdvisor's 2014 Certificate of Excellence. Also, we’re pleased you enjoyed and appreciated our conservation approach to the interpretation of this important house and its outbuildings. Many guests walk away from the house feeling like they have stepped back in time because of how well the house has been preserved. Thanks for visiting, and we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Aiken-Rhett House also viewed

Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Aiken-Rhett House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aiken-Rhett House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.