We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Second stay with Harbourview Inn” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Harbourview Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Harbourview Inn to your Saves list
Harbourview Inn
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2 Vendue Range, Charleston, SC 29401 (French Quarter)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Exclusive Savings
Ranked #7 of 57 Hotels in Charleston
georgia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Second stay with Harbourview Inn”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2010

This was our second visit to Harbourview Inn, but multiple trips to Charleston. We were so pleased with our first stay at Harbourview, we decided to stay again on our trip last week. It is extremely clean, even cleaner than up-scale chain that I have stayed in on several occassions( Has an R in the name). We considered staying somewhere else, but were just so pleased with our last stay, decided to stick with what we knew. The location is great for down town shopping, walking, sight seeing. We loved the portside breakfast, no crowded continental breakfast area's. Could sleep in, and still get your breakfast , not like some continental breakfast hotel's , with being out of breakfast, or very early time frame, or you are out of luck. Who wants to get up early while on vacation?Coffee and tea and water and iced tea 24 hours a day. M&M snacks free in lobby 24hours, cookies at night , and of course vending available. In-room refrig, and safe. This facility does not have an in-house restaurant, but so many restaurants close by, no problem walking, few blocks, Harbourview even has umbrella's for the guest, as we were visiting during rain last week. Valet service was great, never a problem getting vehicle (cost was $18 /day) but parking in Charleston anywhere in the city will cost you, as it does in most cities that are cramped for parking .We were in the historic wing , and it was excellant, has all modern conveniences, and essentially looked same as room in newer wing, but with rustic brick wall charm. The website photo's are extremely accurate. As for some of the reviews complaint's about noise, we thought it was extremely quiet????, could occassionally here voices of people walking by down on the street, and of course some traffic noise, but usually very quiet at night, Well I could go on and on without any negative comments at all.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AGM-HarbourViewInn, Guest Relations Manager at Harbourview Inn, responded to this review, October 7, 2010
We would like to thank you for returning to the HarbourView Inn for a second time. We value all of our guests, but feel we are definitely doing something right when our guests keep coming back year after year. Thank you for your glowing review of the HarbourView Inn. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,285 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,020
    193
    47
    16
    9
See reviews for
198
733
26
52
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (290)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Southeast US
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2010

For our first visit to Charleston, we chose the Harbourview Inn and boy were we blown away. Everything from the staff, the fabulous historical room and location were all fantastic. We never had a problem with the valet and used our car a great deal during our stay. We will book here again on our return to Charleston!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AGM-HarbourViewInn, Guest Relations Manager at Harbourview Inn, responded to this review, October 7, 2010
We are excited to have been your host for your first visit to Historic Charleston. We greatly appreciate your review of the HarbourView Inn and we will be waiting on you to come back to stay with us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hernando, Mississippi
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2010

We stayed there for our honeymoon through the Carolinas. I purchased the Harbourview Room just with the French Doors facing the bay. They went ahead and upgraded us the the Penthouse room with a walk-out balcony and a bottle of champagne.Not to mention the best view of the bay besides the rooftop area.We spent most of our time at our room on the balcony.Not only a fantastic view of the pier but also Waterfront Park.The wine and cheese reception is a perfect starter for a night out on the town and the cookies and milk at 9:00 is a perfect nightcap.All in all we could not ask for a better hotel. A little pricey for just a casual stay in Charleston but we defiently reccomend spending the extra dough for a special occasion.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AGM-HarbourViewInn, Guest Relations Manager at Harbourview Inn, responded to this review, October 7, 2010
It sounds like you had a great trip for your honeymoon. We are pleased that you enjoyed the views from your room as well as the wine & cheese reception and the cookies at night. Thank you for your review of the HarbourView Inn. We hope you will come back for your anniversary one day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Easley
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2010

We have frequently stayed at several locations in downtown Charleston over the past 25 years. We would highly recommend Harbourview Inn for their excellent customer service, attention to detail and location. We could not have asked for a more pleasant, friendly and helpful staff in every area of the Inn.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AGM-HarbourViewInn, Guest Relations Manager at Harbourview Inn, responded to this review, October 7, 2010
We would like to thank you for choosing the HarbourView Inn during your most recent of many trips to Charleston. Thank you for your kind remarks and recommendation. We hope you will stay with us again for your future travels to Charleston.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sun City West, Arizona
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2010

I stayed at the Harbourview last week with girlfriends and we were so pleased with everything from the great beds and linens to the wine and cheese reception and breakfast to order on the rooftop. What a perfect location from which to explore the city.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AGM-HarbourViewInn, Guest Relations Manager at Harbourview Inn, responded to this review, October 2, 2010
We would like to thank you for choosing the HarbourView Inn for your girls’ getaway weekend in Charleston. Your comments and feedback are greatly appreciated and we hope you all will come back and stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stamford, Connecticut
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2010

We spent a girl's weekend in Charleston and the Harbourview could not have been better. The rooms are large, clean and comfortable, beds are to die for with fabulous Tempurpedic mattresses. The location cannot be better, we never needed our cars, except to go on excursions outside of town. Gotta' love the 24 hour M+M's, wine and cheese every afternoon and milk and cookies to greet you at night. What's not to love about eating breakfast on the patio overlooking the park every morning. The highlight though, was the AMAZING staff. They helped make dinner suggestions and reservations, recommended intineraries, and gave fantastic directions. AND, seeing our overwhelming joy of reunititing with our friends, even sent us champagne to celebrate. They could not have been friendlier or more helpful. We all loved this hotel and would highly recommend it. The valet was never a big deal, just a bit pricey. If you are visiting Charleston, this is THE PLACE to stay.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AGM-HarbourViewInn, Guest Relations Manager at Harbourview Inn, responded to this review, October 1, 2010
We are excited to hear about your girls’ weekend in Charleston. It sounds like a great time. We wanted to thank you for the amazing review. All of the staff members are very thankful for your comments regarding their helpfulness and friendliness. Thank you again for the review and the recommendation. We hope you will all return again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
geneve, switzerland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2010

My husband and I were married on September 18th in Charleston and used HarbourView Inn as the suggested place to stay. In total, the entire wedding party and about 40 other people stayed at the hotel and we could just not say anything better about the hotel and its staff. Sarah and Drue were so helpful at the front desk and there was another girl at the front desk (whose name I cannot recall) who even took my luggage over to another hotel when she got off work. They all truly went above and beyond to make everyone feel welcome in the South and to do whatever they could do to make the wedding weekend special. One of the staff even played lookout so that my husband and I didn't see each other on the big day.

My husband and I moved the Planter's Inn the day after the wedding and we honestly enjoyed HarbourView so much more. We would recommend a stay there to anyone. Thank you so much HarbourView Inn for making our wedding even more memorable.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AGM-HarbourViewInn, Guest Relations Manager at Harbourview Inn, responded to this review, October 1, 2010
We are very excited to hear that you stayed with us during your wedding in Charleston. Charleston is a wonderful place to celebrate a wedding. We appreciate you having 40 other people stay at the hotel for your wedding. We strive to always go above and beyond, as it is one of the areas we pride ourselves in. We hope you will come back for your anniversary one day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Harbourview Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbourview Inn

Address: 2 Vendue Range, Charleston, SC 29401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston > French Quarter
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Charleston
#5 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
#6 Luxury Hotel in Charleston
#19 Business Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Harbourview Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy unparalleled service and signature amenities from this AAA Four-Diamond and Condé Nast "Gold List Award" luxury hotel. Panoramic views, vast atriums and beautifully appointed guest rooms - some with private balconies, working fireplaces, and whirlpool tubs - await your arrival. From the moment you enter one of the most historic hotels in Charleston, SC, you will find modern features and services, old world charm and unpretentious Southern hospitality. The waterfront and atrium lobbies are reminiscent of Charleston's early years as a colonial nautical trading hub. They offer the perfect setting for idle reflection, a glass of wine or just the refined sport of people watching. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TravelClick, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Harbourview Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harbourview Hotel Charleston
Harbour View Inn Charleston

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Harbourview Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.