We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Time in Charleston” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Harbourview Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Harbourview Inn to your Saves list
Harbourview Inn
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2 Vendue Range, Charleston, SC 29401 (French Quarter)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay and Save Over Select
Ranked #5 of 58 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence 2014
dallas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great Time in Charleston”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2006

We had a great 4 night stay. We got the harbour side rooms with a view and it was worth it. The view was terrific. The location couldn't be beaten. We walked all over Charleston. The continental breakfast could be brought to your room but we had it in the Atrium every day. There was also a rooftop terrace. The 5PM wine and cheese was a great start to the evening. An excellent hotel.

  • Liked — beautiful view, location, friendly staff
  • Disliked — no problems at all
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,352 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,073
    207
    47
    16
    9
See reviews for
206
778
28
53
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (320)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Georgia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2006

I travel for a living, My Wife and I had a getaway weekend to Charleston. The Harbourview Inn made our weekend. The room was fantastic. The Service was top notch, and extremely friendly,
The compimentary breakfast was delivered to my room and was delicious. The location was perfect. I am looking forward to our next visit.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2006

We just returned from a wonderful visit to Charleston, where we were fortunate to have stayed at the HarbourView Inn. The location is walking distance to everything in the Historic District, and the service was excellent. The Front Desk couldn't have been more helpful - they met all of our requests. We loved the breakfasts delivered to our room, and the wine and cheese in the afternoon was a nice touch! One caveat - if you do not get a room with a harbor view, you will probably be looking at a large electric company station. Other than that, the room was adequate for our needs. We will defintiely return!

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
1 review
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2006

The hotel seems promising as you arrive. The location is top notch and you get the feel of a first rate hotel experience. However, from the time you unload your luggage and make your way to the front desk, you get an undeniable sense that this is not what it seems to be from the outside. The staff is young and not at all into service. The gentleman that checked us in seemed to be working his second job and could not even muster a smile to welcome us. There is no concierge, so the front desk is what they would call one-stop shopping. This would be fine if they actually had suggestions. They don’t.

I was somewhat willing to look past all of this in hopes that the room would be fabulous. On the contrary, it was mediocre at best. The view from the non-water side of the hotel overlooks what seems to be the Charleston Power Company. I was already starting to feel sick with the thought that we paid nearly $300 bucks a night for a hotel with awful service and power lines views. But it got even worse, the cleaning staff must have been on July 4th vacation because the tub looked like it had not been cleaned for weeks. Disgusting!!!!! I only wish someone had written a review like this before I booked. Go elsewhere.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Service
  • Tips/Secrets — Stay Elsewhere
  • Stayed June 2006, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2006

I would have expected much more from a hotel rated as this one. The level of service was poor and the staff was very disorganized. When the reservation was made, it was for 3 nights. After the first night, we received a bill under our door. After an inquiry, they only had us in their system for one night. Because of their error, we were downgraded from our suite to a regular room and therefore had to pack up and relocate. Also, we had requested a bottle of champagne to be in the room upon arrival - they forgot.

I requested the bell person to bring up a bag, upon which he was tipped $20 and was also asked to bring a couple of bottles of water to the room. He called back a few minutes later and said that the hotel was out of complimentary water, but that there were vending machines available on the floors. This was absolutely unacceptable! The right thing to do would have been to break the $20 and buy us a couple of bottles of water.

The hotel offers complimentary breakfast room service, which is a nice feature. However, they specfically state that they will call ahead of time to notify you of the scheduled delivery time - of course, they did not.

We had to wait forever for the valet to bring the car around each time.

The location is way overrated. You do a have a view of the harbour, but you also have a view of kids playing in a water fountain with lots of accompanying noise.

If I didn't know better of Charleston, I would never go back based on the experience at this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2006
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2006

My gal and I loved our three nights here. I suppose if you are accustomed to super-high-end luxury, you might be disappointed. But if this kind of hotel is considered a bit of a splurge for your budget, you will love it.

We stayed in the historic section, which is a bit cheaper than the harbor-facing rooms. If the weather is nice, you'll have plenty of time to see the view from the rooftop. We were there in March -- my guess is that the rooftop may be pretty warm in the summer time, unless you go up very early in the morning.

The breakfast in your room is a great touch. It's not a LOT of food, mind you, but it's enough to get you started for the day.

I found the hotel staff very helpful, especially the valet parkers who had good tips for a local brewpub.

You won't need your car for any trips on the peninusla, and the hotel is within very easy walking distance of several top restaurants. Pedicabs are also available.

I hope we can return here. It was a very relaxing and romantic vacation.

  • Stayed March 2006
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2006

We would definitely stay here again. We loved the location, walking distance to lots of great restaurants (eating outside at the Peninsula Grille was our favorite), but far enough away from the main streets to avoid the noise. The staff could not have been more accomodating. Late one night, we asked one of the doormen if there was a wine store near by. We wanted to sit on the roof of the Harbourview and have a drink. He immediately offered to talk to someone at the front desk to see if we could purchase a bottle from them. Not only did they agree to sell us the bottle, but it was for a very fair price. Enjoyed eating breakfast on the roof and having cheese and wine at the end of the day. Nice decor. Clean.

Stayed May 2006
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Harbourview Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbourview Inn

Address: 2 Vendue Range, Charleston, SC 29401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston > French Quarter
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Charleston
#5 Luxury Hotel in Charleston
#5 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
#19 Business Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Harbourview Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy unparalleled service and signature amenities from this AAA Four-Diamond and Condé Nast "Gold List Award" luxury hotel. Panoramic views, vast atriums and beautifully appointed guest rooms - some with private balconies, working fireplaces, and whirlpool tubs - await your arrival. From the moment you enter one of the most historic hotels in Charleston, SC, you will find modern features and services, old world charm and unpretentious Southern hospitality. The waterfront and atrium lobbies are reminiscent of Charleston's early years as a colonial nautical trading hub. They offer the perfect setting for idle reflection, a glass of wine or just the refined sport of people watching. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, TravelClick, BookIt.com, Otel, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Harbourview Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harbourview Hotel Charleston
Harbour View Inn Charleston

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Harbourview Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.