We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel, Fantastic Location!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Harbourview Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Save
You added Harbourview Inn to your Saves list
Harbourview Inn
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2 Vendue Range, Charleston, SC 29401 (French Quarter)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Exclusive Savings
Ranked #7 of 55 Hotels in Charleston
Raleigh, North Carolina
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Excellent Hotel, Fantastic Location!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2014

My husband and I recently stayed 2 nights at HI and wish we could have stayed at least 2 more! The staff and service were wonderful, the room beautiful with awesome views (corner 3rd floor), the location fantastic(walking distance to great restaurants, the waterfront, Rainbow Row, King St., market, etc.). Everything from the complimentary breakfast served to location of guests preference, afternoon tea, wine and cheese hour, nightly milk and cookies, turn down service, Tempurpedic mattress, rooftop terrace, friendly, knowledgeable staff... everything simply amazing. We hope to stay again.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TDFord, Manager at Harbourview Inn, responded to this review, September 1, 2014
Dear Rhonda H,

Thanks for helping spread the word of the specialized services offered at HarbourView Inn. On behalf of the entire team, we thank you for the kind review, and we are happy you found HarbourView Inn to be an excellent hotel in an excellent location as many before you have. Our location is very special as well as our complimentary services, such as wine & cheese, cookies & milk and continental breakfast delivery each morning. We hope to accommodate you again and send our best to you in Raleigh.

Please contact me any time, and it will be my pleasure to assist you.

Sincerely,

Drue Ford
Assistant General Manager
HarbourView Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,275 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,013
    191
    46
    16
    9
See reviews for
196
727
26
52
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (287)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2014

We stayed at the hotel for 2 nights and could not have been happier with our hotel choice. The staff was upbeat, happy, and friendly. Every time we passed a staff member in the halls or elevator they would greet us with a smile and ask how our day was. The rooms are lovely and well taken care of. The Tempur-pedic mattress was to die for! Having never slept on one, it turned me into a believer and I see a purchase of one in my near future. The only complaint I would have about the room is the choice to put a 4 poster bed in front of the TV. We tried to enjoy breakfast in bed our first morning there but the front bed poster was blocking our view! Poor planning on the hotel but maybe not all the rooms are like that? Either way, it wouldn't discourage me from staying there again. The hotel is located within walking distance to most things you'll want to see in Charleston and being steps away from Waterfront Park and the pier was more than we could have asked for. I would recommend this hotel to anyone...you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TDFord, Manager at Harbourview Inn, responded to this review, August 23, 2014
Dear Jamie V,

I am pleased that you were happy with you choice of accommodations for your trip to Historic Charleston. On behalf of the entire HarbourView Inn team, we appreciate the feedback and glowing review of our specialized services and accommodations. I am glad you enjoyed our cozy Tempur Pedic mattresses and took advantage of our ideal location near the harbor and many Charleston attractions. Also, we appreciate your feedback regarding the four poster beds. All guest feedback will help us continually improve our services and accommodations. We look forward to your next visit and hope everything is well back home.

Please contact me any time, and it will be my pleasure to assist you.

Sincerely,

Drue Ford
Assistant General Manager
HarbourView Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mishawaka, Indiana
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2014

The Harbourview Inn is an amazing place to stay. The two short nights that we spent there were way too short and we loved every minute of it. From the chocolate chip cookies at night to the wine and cheese hour, everything was great. I recommend grabbing yourself a glass of wine and going upstairs to the rooftop seating area to check out the amazing views.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TDFord, Manager at Harbourview Inn, responded to this review, August 17, 2014
Dear Btc34,

I am thrilled you had an amazing experience, and we wish it lasted longer as well. On behalf of the entire HarbourView Inn team, we appreciate you helping spread the word of our specialized services such as milk & cookies and wine & cheese. Our rooftop terrace offers beautiful views of Charleston and the Harbor that are unparalleled by other hotels, and it is a great place to enjoy some wine or breakfast delivered there in the morning. We hope to accommodate you again and send our best to you in Indiana.

Please contact me any time, and it will be my pleasure to assist you.

Sincerely,

Drue Ford
Assistant General Manager
HarbourView Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2014

I made a last minute reservation on a Monday afternoon and The Harbourview Inn could not have been more accommodating! The room was beautiful and everyone at the hotel was extremely helpful and friendly. I just wish we could have stayed longer:) The breakfast delivered to our room was an extra wonderful touch. Everything we wanted to do was in walking distance and the view from our room was spectacular. We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TDFord, Manager at Harbourview Inn, responded to this review, August 17, 2014
Dear Tkrogero,

I am pleased you found the HarbourView Inn for your last minute trip through Historic Charleston. On behalf of the entire team, we appreciate you starting your Trip Advisor membership with a glowing review of the HarbourView Inn. Also, thank you for complementing our friendly team; they will appreciate the kind words. We are happy you enjoyed the accommodations and services and hope to accommodate you again in the future. We send our best to you in Asheville.

Please contact me any time, and it will be my pleasure to assist you.

Sincerely,

Drue Ford
Assistant General Manager
HarbourView Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockford
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014

They really know what service is about in Charleston! This spot is in an excellent location to the local galleries and eateries. The staff is knowledgeable and willing to assist you in every way. The rooms are clean with ample space. They are beautifully appointed. Breakfast comes with your reservation and is wonderful. It is worth it's price.

Room Tip: Loved the historic room we had. Ask for that area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TDFord, Manager at Harbourview Inn, responded to this review, August 17, 2014
Dear Ohly01,

I am delighted our location was convenient for your interest in local galleries and restaurants. On behalf of the entire HarbourView Inn team, we thank you for the kind complements, and we are thrilled you enjoyed the cozy accommodations on our Historic Wing and enjoyed our other services. We hope to accommodate you during your next trip to Historic Charleston and send our best to you back home in Rockford.

Please contact me any time, and it will be my pleasure to assist you.

Sincerely,

Drue Ford
Assistant General Manager
HarbourView Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Punta Cana
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

The location of this lovely hotel could not be better....right on the harbor and steps from everywhere you want to be....dining, walking tours, etc. The staff is courteous and helpful and the rooms are of good size and nicely appointed. Big bonus is the afternoon wine and cheese served up every day. Also you let them know what you'd like for breakfast - and where you'd like it delivered - by placing a card on your room door lock each night....really a nice touch.
We highly recommend this great place to stay in Charleston and would certainly stay there again should we return to the city.

Room Tip: Harbor views available but not in all rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TDFord, Manager at Harbourview Inn, responded to this review, August 17, 2014
Dear Linksters,

I am thrilled you enjoyed your stay and found HarbourView Inn to be in a great location. On behalf of the entire HarbourView Inn team, we appreciate you taking the time to help spread the word of our great location and specialized services. It is important to add value to our guests’ experience with complimentary services such as breakfast delivery, wine & cheese reception and milk & cookies. We look forward to your next visit and send our best to you in Punta Cana.

Please contact me any time, and it will be my pleasure to assist you.

Sincerely,

Drue Ford
Assistant General Manager
HarbourView Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Concord, North Carolina
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

My wife and I visited Charleston for our 13th wedding anniversary. The staff was great and our room had a balcony that overlooked the water. We had a great time and will stay again the next time that we visit Charleston.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TDFord, Manager at Harbourview Inn, responded to this review, August 9, 2014
Dear Awalker01,

Happy Anniversary and thank you for beginning your Trip Advisor membership with a glowing review for the HarbourView Inn. On behalf of the entire team, we appreciate you taking the time to share your review and suggestions to future guests of Historic Charleston. I am happy our team was helpful as they are our greatest asset in delivering quality experiences, and we are glad you enjoyed the views. We look forward to your next visit and send our best to you in North Carolina.

Please contact me any time, and it will be my pleasure to assist you.

Sincerely,

Drue Ford
Assistant General Manager
HarbourView Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Harbourview Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbourview Inn

Address: 2 Vendue Range, Charleston, SC 29401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston > French Quarter
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Charleston
#5 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
#6 Luxury Hotel in Charleston
#16 Business Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Harbourview Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy unparalleled service and signature amenities from this AAA Four-Diamond and Condé Nast "Gold List Award" luxury hotel. Panoramic views, vast atriums and beautifully appointed guest rooms - some with private balconies, working fireplaces, and whirlpool tubs - await your arrival. From the moment you enter one of the most historic hotels in Charleston, SC, you will find modern features and services, old world charm and unpretentious Southern hospitality. The waterfront and atrium lobbies are reminiscent of Charleston's early years as a colonial nautical trading hub. They offer the perfect setting for idle reflection, a glass of wine or just the refined sport of people watching. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jetsetter, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, TravelClick, Travelocity, Priceline, BookIt.com, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com, Otel, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Harbourview Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harbourview Hotel Charleston
Harbour View Inn Charleston

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Harbourview Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.