We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel in Great Location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Harbourview Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Save
You added Harbourview Inn to your Saves list
Harbourview Inn
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2 Vendue Range, Charleston, SC 29401 (French Quarter)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay and Save Over Select
Ranked #8 of 59 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Jefferson City
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great Hotel in Great Location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

It doesn't get much better than this! Thee Hotel was beautiful. The staff did everything they could to make our stay GREAT! Lisa and Betsy at the Front Desk gave us cold bottles of water, they helped with Restaurant picks and made reservations for us, and sent up a bottle of Champagne for my Husband's birthday which we were celebrating. The hotel offers a great choice of breakfast rooftop, guest lobby, or in your room. Wine and cheese were offered everyday as well as milk and warm cookies before Bed. Jack was so helpful as our Valet, and we used the local Bike Taxis on occasion that picked us up at the Hotel.
We would DEFINITELY stay here again, the location is perfect for Charleston and our room had a spectacular view of the Charleston Harbour. Thanks to all at Harbourview Inn, you made our trip one to remember!

Room Tip: Ask for a corner room by the Harbour, worth a little more!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TDFord, Manager at Harbourview Inn, responded to this review, August 3, 2014
Dear Kstaff4,

I am delighted that you had a great experience at the HarbourView Inn. On behalf of the entire team, we appreciate your glowing review highlighting our complimentary services and hardworking team. I know they will appreciate your kind remarks. We are glad you enjoyed our ideal location and services such as Wine & Cheese, Cookies & Milk and our breakfast delivery. We look forward to your next visit and send our best to you in Jefferson City.

Please contact me any time, and it will be my pleasure to assist you.

Sincerely,

Drue Ford
Assistant General Manager
HarbourView Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,424 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,127
    222
    48
    17
    10
See reviews for
225
815
28
57
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (336)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Plainview, New York
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

Complimentary wine & cheese, milk & cookies, M & M's. Had a great time! The best thing to add is when the group of 6 of us got stuck in a downpour of rain that flooded the streets, I called the hotel to see if they could pick us up in our mini van. The assistant manager Drew came & rescued us. Our day was saved by Drew & we were able to enjoy our vacation. The concierge was terrific in helping us book tours & make dinner reservations in advance of our stay & continued to assist us while we were there. I would highly recommend Harbourview!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TDFord, Manager at Harbourview Inn, responded to this review, August 1, 2014
Dear Cheryl11803,

It was a pleasure meeting your group and helping keep y’all dry. On behalf of the entire HarbourView Inn team, we appreciate you taking the time to share your experience with future travelers. We are thrilled you enjoyed the Wine & Cheese, Milk & Cookies, M&Ms and the services of our concierge team. I know our team will appreciate your kind words. We hope to accommodate you again in the future and send our best to you group back home in New York

Please contact me any time, and it will be my pleasure to assist you.

Sincerely,

Drue Ford
Assistant General Manager
HarbourView Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

Had a great stay. Harbourview has an understated elegance without the blog and pretentiousness of other similarly classed hotels . Better value than those as well. Top notch small hotel and responsive staff. First trip to Charleston - this hotel is away from the hustle and bustle - yet close enough - a block away to walk anywhere. Great room and great service from front desk to the bellman. These people could not have been nicer.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TDFord, Manager at Harbourview Inn, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
Dear Pete T,

Thank you for starting your Trip Advisor membership with an astutely written 5 out of 5 review for the HarbourView Inn. On behalf of the entire HarbourView Inn team, we appreciate you spreading the word of our services to future visitors of Historic Charleston. I am thrilled you took advantage of the ideal location and I cannot thank you enough for the kind words for our service team. I know they appreciate your remarks. We hope to accommodate you again in the future and send our best to you back home.

Please contact me any time and it will be my pleasure to assist you.

Sincerely,

Drue Ford
Assistant General Manager
HarbourView Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springboro Ohio
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

Once we stayed at Harbourview in 2012 we knew there was no where else to stay in Charleston. The location is perfect with great views and tons of restaurants in walking distance. The service is absolutely amazing! The staff will make dinner reservations. Your breakfast is included and brought to your room (thank you Natasha!). Turn down service on beds you won't want to get out of except you're in Charleston and there's lots to see. Wine cheese cookies. Valet service. Afternoon tea. Just book it now....ask for Betsy or Matthew and tell em Sharon from Ohio says hi.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TDFord, Manager at Harbourview Inn, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
Dear Sbengel,

How wonderful to hear from a return guest! Also, great to know this experience was as amazing as your experience in 2012. On behalf of the entire HarbourView Inn team, we appreciate you spreading the word of our specialized services we offer, such as breakfast delivery, wine & cheese and cookie & milk hour. A very special thank you for complementing our hard working service team, whom without we could not deliver such quality experiences. We hope to host you for a third time in the future and send our best to your family back home in Springboro.

Please contact me any time and it will be a pleasure to assist you in any way.

Sincerely,

Drue Ford
Assistant General Manager
HarbourView Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

We stayed three nights here in July, not sure what standard to expect in the light of various reviews. It was excellent. The location is perfect for all destinations in Charleston, on foot or by car (we walked to the boat terminal for Fort Sumter and drove very speedily to the baseball stadium and Sullivan's Island beach). After staying at a number of hotels catering mainly for families, with the breakfast crush etc, the individual attention here was welcome. Our rooms were large, breakfast service prompt and the reception desk very helpful. Valet parking staff were superb. The lack of a restaurant is not an issue in central Charleston with so many options.

Room Tip: Historic wing rooms may be larger
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TDFord, Manager at Harbourview Inn, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
Dear Virginian18,

I am delighted you chose the HarbourView Inn for your accommodations during your time in Historic Charleston. On behalf of our entire team, we appreciate you taking the time to share your experience with future visitors of Charleston. Also, it is great to know you took advantage of our ideal location for attractions and even some destinations off the peninsular Charleston area. I am happy you found our services and accommodations to be “excellent in every way”. We hope to accommodate you again in the future and send our best to you overseas in London.

Please contact me any time and it will be my pleasure to assist you.

Sincerely,

Drue Ford
Assistant General Manager
HarbourView Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Overland Park, Kansas
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

Our family stayed at this 1800's hotel for four nights and was impressed by the timely service of the valets and front desk. The staff turned down our beds each night, had wine and cheese socials, warm cookies and milk at night, and an endless supply of fresh tea and M&Ms! The location is superb, a corner lot, right by a lightly traveled pier in the heart of the historic Battery, and buildings with a great view of the harbor and Fort Sumter (take the tour!). Lot's of stuff to do from this location including the city market (four blocks long of all kinds of stuff to buy from inexpensive souvenirs to caviar). Carriage rides, lots of restaurants, ghost tours (ours was a bit cheesy though) rounded out the experience. Your car is parked in their garage and accessible if you need to get something out of it. If you want to see the plantations it's about a half hour drive, but if you want mansions and ability to walk around and see the history of Charleston, this is a great place to start.

Room Tip: Three different styles of room to suit everyone's needs. A bit small as you might expect from a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TDFord, Manager at Harbourview Inn, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
Dear JE814,

Thank you for this wonderful review including an excellent description of our services and suggestions for future visitors of Historic Charleston. I am thrilled you took advantage of our ideal and historic location in Charleston. I especially thank you for complementing our hardworking service team, whom without we could not provide such quality experiences. I know they will all appreciate your kind words. We hope you will come back to enjoy the M&Ms, cookies & milk, wine & cheese and of course the offerings of Historic Charleston attractions in the future. We send our best to you back home in Kansas.

Please contact me any time and it will be my pleasure to assist you.

Sincerely,

Drue Ford
Assistant General Manager
HarbourView Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
53 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

We stayed at the Harbourview Inn for July 4th - our room had a terrace and we had wonderful front row seats for the fireworks. Room was beautiful (but not huge) and staff were very gracious and professional. Loved the location for walking around town and restaurants etc. No restaurant in the the hotel but free coffee and pastries in the morning and a cocktail hour every evening.

Room Tip: The top floor rooms with terraces are worth the extra money - lovely to have breakfast overlooking t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TDFord, Manager at Harbourview Inn, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
Dear Kate P,

I am glad you enjoyed your Grand HarbourView room and the “front row seat for the fireworks” on the Fourth of July. On behalf of the entire HarbourView Inn team, we appreciate your review and suggestions which will help future visitors of Historic Charletson. I am happy you enjoyed our ideal location, complimentary services and especially our hard working team. I know they will appreciate your kind words. We hope to accommodate you again and send our best to you back home in Toronto.

Please contact me any time and it will be my pleasure to assist you.

Sincerely,

Drue Ford
Assistant General Manager
HarbourView Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charleston hotels
French Quarter Inn
#1 of 59 in Charleston
5.0 of 5 stars 2,060 reviews
French Quarter
The Vendue
The Vendue
#12 of 59 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 stars 1,412 reviews
King Charles Inn
#13 of 59 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 stars 1,966 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Belmond Charleston Place
#14 of 59 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 stars 2,148 reviews
Market Pavilion Hotel
#7 of 59 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 stars 863 reviews
Planters Inn
#6 of 59 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 stars 981 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harbourview Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbourview Inn

Address: 2 Vendue Range, Charleston, SC 29401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston > French Quarter
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Charleston
#5 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
#7 Luxury Hotel in Charleston
#15 Business Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Harbourview Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy unparalleled service and signature amenities from this AAA Four-Diamond and Condé Nast "Gold List Award" luxury hotel. Panoramic views, vast atriums and beautifully appointed guest rooms - some with private balconies, working fireplaces, and whirlpool tubs - await your arrival. From the moment you enter one of the most historic hotels in Charleston, SC, you will find modern features and services, old world charm and unpretentious Southern hospitality. The waterfront and atrium lobbies are reminiscent of Charleston's early years as a colonial nautical trading hub. They offer the perfect setting for idle reflection, a glass of wine or just the refined sport of people watching. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TravelClick, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook, Hotwire, BookIt.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Venere and Jetsetter so you can book your Harbourview Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harbourview Hotel Charleston
Harbour View Inn Charleston

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Harbourview Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.