We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Absolute Precious Jewel!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Harbourview Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Harbourview Inn to your Saves list
Harbourview Inn
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2 Vendue Range, Charleston, SC 29401 (French Quarter)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Exclusive Savings
Ranked #7 of 57 Hotels in Charleston
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“An Absolute Precious Jewel!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

This hotel’s location right by the Harbor, in the heart of the downtown historic district, is unparalleled. The hotel is within walking distance to most attractions in downtown historic Charleston including the famous Market, old churches, museums, art galleries, rainbow row, the battery and others. Dining options around the hotel are great, with most notable restaurants located on or around East Bay, which is a block away from the hotel. We dined at High Cotton one evening, where we had a wonderful time (nice ambiance) and enjoyed exquisite food.

To add to the pleasure of staying there (we stayed for a week), the service and hospitality were fantastic! This hotel and its staff exceeded our expectations! The daily complimentary cheese and wine happy hour, the freshly baked cookies and milk, and the occasional live entertainment on the roof are all phenomenal ideas, quite rare in most hotels and had the effect of producing an overall exceptional experience. The staff in general was very attentive, polite and helpful, and we had the good fortune of meeting Drue, one of the hotel’s managers, who made our stay an unforgettable one! He was absolutely wonderful: a savvy businessman, a friendly local with a wealth of knowledge about local attractions and a caring supervisor with great interpersonal skills, all embodied in one person! Marcus, Sabrina and Lisa were also terrific.

We had a gorgeous room facing the harbor with its beautiful fountain, which are considered top attractions in Charleston. In fact, we noticed that shuttles from other hotels brought their guests to the harbor and locals visited the area on the weekend. The free trolley/shuttle bus (green color, no. 211) stops right by the hotel and can take you to Marion Square where there is a farmer’s market (in additional to the famous Market that is close to the hotel) every weekend as well as street fairs and exhibits (arts and crafts) during the week. We saw an art exhibit on the lawn during the Spoleto Festival. King Street, along which Charleston’s famous shopping district is located, is very close to Marion Square.

Overall a memorable experience! We look forward to staying at the HarbourView Inn again!

Room Tip: No fitness center or swimming pool, but no option above for N/A; these were not necessary to make ou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TDFord, Manager at Harbourview Inn, responded to this review, June 10, 2014
Dear YR100,

Simply the title of your review brings great pleasure to the HarbourView Inn team and myself. On behalf of the entire team, we appreciate your thorough review of our services and accommodations which will be shared with several future travelers of Historic Charleston. I am so pleased you took advantage of our ideal location in Historic Charleston by trying some wonderful restaurants and visiting local attractions. Also, it is always a pleasure getting to know our guests, and I cannot thank you enough for the compliments, especially towards our team members Marcus, Sabrina and Lisa. They are true assets to our initiative, and without them and our entire team we could not deliver such quality experiences. We hope to accommodate you again in the future and send our best to you back home in the Big Apple!

Sincerely,

Drue Ford
Assistant General Manager
HarbourView Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,285 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,020
    193
    47
    16
    9
See reviews for
198
733
26
52
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (290)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hilversum, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

Was sooo looking forward to Charleston, and this place, but overall disappointed. Hotel had that "musty" smell of ill cared for places in tropical climates. Bathroom featured one of those plastic all in one units for the tub with attached wall. This one was damaged and a bit warped so that the water didn't drain, leaving the water to collect, which of course caused it to peel. Room was generous sized-- but with no view ( We had one of less expensive ones which still was far more expensive than nice hotels in Europe…) Location was fine, within walking distance of restaurants and some attractions, but far from Aquarium. Service was ok, not really polished, though. "Business center" is one computer in lobby feet away from front desk. Fights broke out over use of computer. Sad to say I would not recommend hotel. Also admit was a bit disappointed in downtown Charleston, which should become pedistrian/ bike only! Last odd thing-- no restaurant for breakfast, which is brought to room. Coffee is-- how do I say this politely?-- yucky.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TDFord, Manager at Harbourview Inn, responded to this review, June 10, 2014
Dear Simple_Tastes_Best,

On behalf of our entire team, we appreciate you sharing your review and opinion of the HarbourView Inn and Historic Charleston. I am glad you found our accommodations to be spacious and took advantage of our convenient location for shopping, dining and several historic attractions. Moreover, please accept my most sincere apologies that Historic Charleston and our services did not meet your expectations. Your feedback is most valuable to our dedication to continually improve our services. Regarding our business center, I would hope for any disagreements over the use of our guest computer to be communicated with a team member who would certainly provide another option for computer usage. I assure you that your review will be seen by our team members so we may know where we can improve going forward. Furthermore, I am happy to report that by spring of 2015 we will have updated bathrooms that will include cast iron tubs and rooms with walk in showers. Also, our business center will be updated with multiple computers and tablets for guest use.

We hope to accommodate you again in the future so we may showcase our improvements and provide you with the superior experience I know we can deliver. Please feel free to contact me directly for any other feedback or questions, and it will be my pleasure to assist you.

Sincerely,

Drue Ford
Assistant General Manager
HarbourView Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prattville, Al
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

The hotel was chosen based on location. It's in a great spot in Historic Charleston. Parking is valet only, but there is hardly space to stop in front of the hotel, especially if there is another guest arriving at the same time. The rooms are okay. We had a 2 bed room. The beds are 4 post beds. The post blocks the view of the TV. The decor is nice, but average.

There is a wine & cheese tasting. The cheese tasted like cheddar cubes you get from the grocery store & the wine wasn't good. The evening cookies & milk were okay, but the cookies were over cooked & hard. We've had better at Hampton Inns.

The breakfast that is included was disappointing. It was all bread & they were not fresh. It comes from a local bakery & tasted like day to two old items. The low carb option was not try low carb. It was quite disappointing and we were looking forward to it after the employee raved over it.

The room was clean, but the bathroom could have been cleaner. There were hairs on the door & shower wall. Yuck.

For the price paid, it was a huge disappointment. Thankfully, we were only there 1 night.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TDFord, Manager at Harbourview Inn, responded to this review, June 10, 2014
Dear Roadtrip99,

I thank you for sharing your review and opinions of the HarbourView Inn. I am thrilled you took advantage of our ideal location and convenient valet parking service that helps with the limited parking options in Historic Charleston. Moreover, please except my most sincere apologies that we did not deliver the superior service that you came to expect. Guest feedback, both positive and negative, is most valuable in our dedication to continuously improve our services. Your review will lead to further training to improve in these areas, such as housekeeping’s attentiveness to guest bathrooms. Also, I am very sorry you did not enjoy the complimentary services such as our continental breakfast and our wine and cheese reception. I must say our breakfast options are not limited to pastries. Other options include, and are not limited to, parfaits, cereal, boiled eggs, bagels, seasonal fruit, coffee, juice, milk and tea. For a future reservation, we would be happy to have available at your request items that are not on our continental menu.

Furthermore, please feel free to contact me directly any time, and it would be my pleasure to expand on any other feedback or help in any way possible. We hope for an opportunity to accommodate you in the future so we may showcase our improvements and dedication to providing a quality experience.

Sincerely,

Drue Ford
Assistant General Manager
HarbourView Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meadville, PA
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
126 helpful votes 126 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

My husband and I stayed here for three nights to celebrate our 11th anniversary. From the moment we pulled up in front until we left, the experience was outstanding. The valet radioed the front desk so by the time we went inside (which was just minutes after arriving) our checkin was complete. The hotel is stunning and the location is incomparable. We splurged on one of the Grand Harbourview rooms and it was worth it! Our balcony had a perfect view of the harbor and Fort Sumter. The room itself was beautiful, although maybe a bit small. It was perfect for us, though. We loved the Tempurpedic bed and all the little extras - gourmet snacks, free sodas and water in the minifridge, comfortable furniture and top notch amenities in the bathroom. Breakfast is ordered the night before and you can choose where you would like it served. We ate in our room, but if we were in one of the non-balconied rooms I think we would have chosen the gorgeous terrace. The breakfast is continental, but very substantial. My favorite was the selection of fresh pastries with fruit. The terrace is immaculate with a terrific assortment of lounging furniture. They have a wine and cheese reception every afternoon, and cookies in the evening. It is not cheap, but we felt the price was more than warranted for the wonderful experience we had.

Room Tip: If you want a view of the harbor, you really need the top floor Grand Harbourview rooms. But honestl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AGM-HarbourViewInn, Guest Relations Manager at Harbourview Inn, responded to this review, June 3, 2014
Dear Julibeth,

How pleasing it is to have such a wonderful review from such a seasoned traveler. On behalf of the entire HarbourView Inn team, we appreciate you taking the time to share your experience with us and future visitors of Historic Charleston. The Grand HarbourView rooms certainly offer the best views and complimentary snacks and beverages, and I am thrilled you were pleased with the decision. Our location is truly ideal and I am delighted you took advantage of that and our complimentary services. Finally, thank you for commending our hard working service team, whom without we could not deliver such quality services. We hope to accommodate you again and send our best to you and your husband back home in Pennsylvania.

Please contact me any time, and it will be my pleasure to assist you in any way.

Sincerely,

Drue Ford
Assistant General Manager
HarbourView Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

We booked 11 rooms at the HarborView Inn for a celebration weekend and everyone raved about the selection. From the location, to the staff to the rooms and bedding to the lobby snacks, it was an amazing weekend. Great hotel in a great city.

Room Tip: Book early. Ask for a river view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AGM-HarbourViewInn, Guest Relations Manager at Harbourview Inn, responded to this review, June 2, 2014
Dear Randy S,

It is so wonderful to have such a great review from such a well-traveled individual. On behalf of the entire HarbourView Inn team, we appreciate you taking the time to share your group’s experience with future travelers of Historic Charleston. I am ecstatic that everyone was happy with our location, our accommodations and the services that we offer. I especially thank you for commending our hard working service team, whom without we could not deliver such quality services. We hope to accommodate you or anyone in the group in the future. We send our best to you back home in Charlotte.

Please feel free to contact me anytime, and it will be my pleasure to assist you.

Sincerely,

Drue Ford
Assistant General Manager
HarbourView Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

This hotel is in a great location in Charleston. Rooms are nicely decorated, large and clean. The hotel offers many freebies such as cheese and wine, cookies and milk and breakfast on the roof terrace!! Perfectly located to walk the whole area.

Room Tip: Choose the 4th floor if you have a harbour view, else the trees block the view and there isnt any po...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AGM-HarbourViewInn, Guest Relations Manager at Harbourview Inn, responded to this review, June 1, 2014
Dear WellTravelled99,

Thanks for taking the time to share your experience with us and future travelers. On behalf of the entire HarbourView Inn team, we appreciate the kind review and we are happy you enjoyed our complimentary services and our ideal location and views. We hope to accommodate you again in the future and send our best to you across the pond in London.

Please feel free to contact me any time, and it will be my pleasure to assist you.

Sincerely,

Drue Ford
Assistant General Manager
HarbourView Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greeley, Colorado
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

This hotel is located in the center of the heart of old Charleston (downtown). You are on the steps of Waterfront Park and countless other venues and history beyond belief!

The hotel is old but nice, clean, large rooms and every staff member that we had the pleasure of talking to was kind and generous with their time, information and suggestions. They treated us like royalty.

There is no restaurant or bar in this hotel but you are 2 doors away from a 'happenin' pub and infinite choices in food.

Thank you to the staff at Harbourview Inn. This choice was in an Expedia Package that included airfare and car too.

Room Tip: I do not know if the hotel has 'water front' rooms but you will most likely be touring the c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AGM-HarbourViewInn, Guest Relations Manager at Harbourview Inn, responded to this review, June 1, 2014
Dear DaphneMartinez,

I am thrilled you took advantage of our ideal location immersed in the Historic District Charleston. On behalf of the entire HarbourView Inn team, we appreciate this charming review that will be seen by several future travelers of Historic Charleston. I am happy you had nice experience supported by a clean room and I am especially happy to see our team was helpful throughout your stay. They are truly the greatest asset to our services. We hope to accommodate you again in the future and send our best to you in Colorado.

Please feel free to contact me any time, and it will be my pleasure to assist you.

Sincerely,

Drue Ford
Assistant General Manager
HarbourView Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Harbourview Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbourview Inn

Address: 2 Vendue Range, Charleston, SC 29401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston > French Quarter
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Charleston
#5 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
#6 Luxury Hotel in Charleston
#19 Business Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Harbourview Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy unparalleled service and signature amenities from this AAA Four-Diamond and Condé Nast "Gold List Award" luxury hotel. Panoramic views, vast atriums and beautifully appointed guest rooms - some with private balconies, working fireplaces, and whirlpool tubs - await your arrival. From the moment you enter one of the most historic hotels in Charleston, SC, you will find modern features and services, old world charm and unpretentious Southern hospitality. The waterfront and atrium lobbies are reminiscent of Charleston's early years as a colonial nautical trading hub. They offer the perfect setting for idle reflection, a glass of wine or just the refined sport of people watching. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TravelClick, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Harbourview Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harbourview Hotel Charleston
Harbour View Inn Charleston

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Harbourview Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.