We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wish I had done more research” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Harbourview Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Harbourview Inn to your Saves list
Harbourview Inn
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2 Vendue Range, Charleston, SC 29401 (French Quarter)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Exclusive Savings
Ranked #7 of 57 Hotels in Charleston
Naples, Florida
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Wish I had done more research”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

We liked the hotel, didn't love it. It was as described, I wish I had checked it out more before booking.

Pros:
Historic
Right in the center of things.
Nice room/beds, clean, etc.

Cons:
$10+ per day to park +valet tips.
No typical amenities like gym/pool.
Late night/evening staff somewhat disinterested/dismissive

General Info:
The complimentary wine/cheese afternoon and milk/cookie night events were nice.

The complimentary breakfast was sufficient and filling.

The roof top tables/breakfast area has high walls for safety so though there is a nice view, its not like you can see it while enjoying your breakfast.

We booked two rooms for 7 people, my wife and I and 5 children, I specifically listed the number of people and ages on the reservation, yet they put us in one room with two queens and one with a king. When it should have been obvious we required two rooms with two queens each. They offered to change it our second night but we were already settled in so we made do.

We left a small stuffed animal behind, they offered to ship it back, shipping was $12.

This is not a great place for families or kids in my opinion.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AGM-HarbourViewInn, Guest Relations Manager at Harbourview Inn, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Dear John W,

We thank you for your sincere review regarding your recent stay with us at the HarbourView Inn. On behalf of the entire HarbourView Inn team, we appreciate you sharing your experience with us and our future guests. We are happy you took advantage of our convenient location in the heart of the Historic District of Charleston, and we appreciate the compliments of our accommodations. It is important for us to provide complimentary services such as our wine & cheese reception, cookies & milk at night, and continental breakfast delivered each morning, and we are pleased to see you enjoyed these services.

We value all forms of guest feedback as it contributes to the continuing improvements of our services. Though our front desk team has received high praise in past reviews, we have reviewed your comments with our entire team so they may improve their attentiveness to guest needs at all times of the day. We would like to sincerely apologize for both of your rooms not including two queen beds. Guest requests are very important to us, and we do all in our power to meet guest requests and needs. In reviewing your reservation we noticed your request was to have rooms near each other or adjoining for 4 adults and 3 children. Though we do not have adjoining rooms, we were able to provide two neighboring Historic Wing rooms. The only neighboring rooms at the time you booked your reservation were a King Historic Wing room and a Two Queen Historic Wing room. We are sorry our solution of moving you to another room with two queens would not suffice for you. For future reservations we will note your profile for these requests and please feel free to call ahead so we may meet your every need.

We do hope you enjoyed all of our other services and our beautiful city. We send our best to you and your family in Florida, and we would welcome the opportunity to accommodate you again in the future.

Please do not hesitate to contact me any time, and it will be my pleasure to help you in any way.

Warm Regards,

DRUE FORD
Assistant General Manager
HarbourView Inn
Phone (843) 723-3197 ext 126
Fax (843) 853-4034
www.harbourviewcharleston.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,286 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,020
    194
    47
    16
    9
See reviews for
198
734
26
52
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (291)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nokesville, Virginia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

Very nice room. View of the harbour and fireplace in the room. cookies in the evening and a very friendly staff. the room was very well appointed and the bed was excellent. bath was a delight and room was always cool (as we wanted it to be0. right down town and on the bay - with a great bay view!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AGM-HarbourViewInn, Guest Relations Manager at Harbourview Inn, responded to this review, September 14, 2013
Dear 208David208,

We are thrilled HarbourView Inn’s team and services made for a pleasant experience during your visit to Historic Charleston. On behalf of the entire team, we thank you for complementing our luxury accommodations, convenient location and beautiful views. We hope to accommodate you on a future visit to Historic Charleston and we send our best to you in Virginia.

Please contact me anytime if I may assist you in any way.

Sincerely,

Drue Ford
Assistant General Manager
HarbourView Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Just returned from a lovely stay at the Harbourview Inn. Everything was top notch. From Mike at the front door, to Lisa and Jessica at the front desk, to Bernadette who delivered our hot breakfast each morning, we were greeted with sincere smiles. Our 4th floor harbor view room was elegantly furnished with a 4 poster king, fireplace, and whirlpool tub. We sipped wine on our balcony in the evening. What a view when the Carnival Fantasy pulled out of the harbor on Sunday afternoon practically right in front of us! Wow. Breakfast in our room was straight out of Paris. We loved the waterfront location by the fountain and pier, and just steps from a number of fine dining establishments. We will be back soon.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AGM-HarbourViewInn, Guest Relations Manager at Harbourview Inn, responded to this review, September 14, 2013
Dear OhioSilverLaker,

Our team will be thrilled to read your glowing review and personal compliments of Mike, Jessica, Lisa and Bernadette. Our service team is most important in meeting and exceeding our guests’ needs, and we are happy they were able to provide a nice experience. We thank you for sharing your complements of our convenient location, spectacular views and our specialized services with us and our future guests. We look forward to welcoming you back to the HarbourVIew Inn on your next trip to Historic Charleston. We send our best to you and your family.

Please contact me anytime if I may assist you in any way.

Sincerely,

Drue Ford
Assistant General Manager
HarbourView Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duncan Falls, Ohio
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Stayed at this hotel before going on our cruise. Great location, staff, and breakfast. Easy walking distance to all the great places to eat and shop. We are going on a cruise again with family and will stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AGM-HarbourViewInn, Guest Relations Manager at Harbourview Inn, responded to this review, September 15, 2013
Dear Jenny1618,

We are so pleased to see you took advantage of our convenient location in the heart of the Historic District of Charleston. On behalf of the entire team, we appreciate your review that will be shared with a multitude of future travelers. We look forward to your next visit and assisting you throughout your stay. We send our best to you in Ohio.

Please contact me directly if I may assist you in any way.

Sincerely,

Drue Ford
Assistant General Manager
HarbourView Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Placida, Florida
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

We stayed at the Harbourview for three nights during a brief touristy visit to Charleston. Booked ourselves a Wateriew King; it was directly on the Waterfront Park facing corner so we had a view of both the river and the fountain from our balcony. Delightful. Our room was well appointed and decorated, and the Tempurpedic bed was such a delight -- we have been missing ours. The little touches this hotel provides are what really made the stay -- breakfast served where you want it, wine and cheese each evening, and cookies before bed. Plus ice tea all day long. In addition, the staff is pleasant and very helpful. We wanted to play golf in Charleston and one of the front desk staff, who used to be a pro, advised us on the places he felt would be best. His advice was right on. We will definitely return to the Harbourview next time we're in or near Charleston.

Room Tip: Book one with a harbour or Waterfront Park view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AGM-HarbourViewInn, Guest Relations Manager at Harbourview Inn, responded to this review, September 14, 2013
Dear Winterblac,

Thank you so much for sharing your experience at the HarbourView Inn with future travelers. On behalf of the entire team, we appreciate your compliments of our great views, luxury accommodations and our specialized services. It is very important for us to provide complimentary services such as wine & cheese, continental breakfast delivery and cookies & milk each night, so that our guests feel at home. We will be sure to share your review with our resident golf expert and our entire team, all of whom are most important to our services. We hope to accommodate you again in the future and we send our best to your family in Florida.

Please contact me anytime if I may assist you in any way.

Sincerely,

Drue Ford
Assistant General Manager
HarbourView Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kennett Square, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Our family had a great stay at the Harbourview Inn during a recent trip to Charleston. The complimentary breakfast with optional rooftop dining was a great way to start the day and our kids loved the milk and cookies in the evening. The hotel was very convenient to downtown and the waterfront park. I can't imagine staying anywhere else in Charleston. We will definitely be back!

Room Tip: Rooms on the second and third floor are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AGM-HarbourViewInn, Guest Relations Manager at Harbourview Inn, responded to this review, September 14, 2013
Dear Lawhoops,

It is wonderful to hear your whole family enjoyed our services in our gem of a hotel. On behalf of the entire HarbourView Inn team, we appreciate your complements of our complimentary services and sharing these experiences with future travelers. We look forward to a return visit and send our best to you and your family in Pennsylvania.

Please contact me anytime if I may assist you in any way.

Sincerely,

Drue Ford
Assistant General Manager
HarbourView Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

The Harborview Inn was one of the loveliest hotels I have ever stayed in. Our room was in the historic part of the building. The furniture in the room was beautiful as were the exposed original walls. We could not have asked for a more comfortable bed. Ice water and tea are always available in the lobby…along with an M&M dispenser with both regular and peanut M&Ms. ☺ Wine, cheese, crackers and fruit are served in the atrium every afternoon from 4-5pm. Cookies and milk are available every evening. But the most wonderful part of our stay was breakfast. You mark your breakfast choices on a form and hang it on your door before 11:30pm. Then your breakfast is delivered where you would like…your room, the atrium, or the rooftop terrace. We had breakfast in our room two mornings and it was delicious…ham and cheese croissants, sweet pastries, fruit, juice and coffee. Try to be on the rooftop terrace at sunset to watch the sun set behind the buildings of historic Charleston. All the hotel staff members that we encountered…from the bellman and the people at the front desk to the person who delivered our breakfast…were very friendly and helpful. As we left one evening to walk to a restaurant for dinner, it looked like it might rain. The hotel staff person at the desk handed me an umbrella when he saw that we were leaving without one! The hotel is directly across the street from the Charleston Harbor and pier and is only two to three blocks from the Charleston Market. I wish there were more than 5 stars in the ratings on TripAdvisor. This hotel is definitely a 10!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AGM-HarbourViewInn, Guest Relations Manager at Harbourview Inn, responded to this review, September 14, 2013
Dear BirdwatcherGA,

We are thrilled to receive your extra stars to our rating. Your kind and detailed review of the HarbourView Inn experience will help future travelers understand the specialized services our hard working team provides. On behalf of the entire team, we thank you for the compliments of our specialized complimentary services and our convenient location to shopping, dining and attractions of Historic Charleston. We hope to accommodate you again in the future and we send our best to you in Atlanta.

Please contact me anytime if I may assist you in any way.

Sincerely,

Drue Ford
Assistant General Manager
HarbourView Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Harbourview Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbourview Inn

Address: 2 Vendue Range, Charleston, SC 29401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston > French Quarter
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Charleston
#5 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
#6 Luxury Hotel in Charleston
#19 Business Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Harbourview Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy unparalleled service and signature amenities from this AAA Four-Diamond and Condé Nast "Gold List Award" luxury hotel. Panoramic views, vast atriums and beautifully appointed guest rooms - some with private balconies, working fireplaces, and whirlpool tubs - await your arrival. From the moment you enter one of the most historic hotels in Charleston, SC, you will find modern features and services, old world charm and unpretentious Southern hospitality. The waterfront and atrium lobbies are reminiscent of Charleston's early years as a colonial nautical trading hub. They offer the perfect setting for idle reflection, a glass of wine or just the refined sport of people watching. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, TravelClick, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Harbourview Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harbourview Hotel Charleston
Harbour View Inn Charleston

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Harbourview Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.