We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Location!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Harbourview Inn

Save Saved
You added Harbourview Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Harbourview Inn
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2 Vendue Range, Charleston, SC 29401 (French Quarter)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Exclusive Savings
Ranked #7 of 54 hotels in Charleston
North Kingstown, Rhode Island
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Excellent Location!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

To fully appreciate Charleston, SC you need to be able to explore it on foot, and Harbourview Inn is perfectly situated for meandering the streets of this charming southern city. Not only does it have harbor views and modern amenities, but there's also safe off-street parking on site where guests can stash their car, slow their pace and get an insiders look at things.

Room Tip: River side also provides views of the fountain and boardwalk.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AGM-HarbourViewInn, Guest Relations Manager at Harbourview Inn, responded to this review, August 18, 2013
Dear ArtMajor,

Thank you for sharing with future guests the great location and specialized services the HarbourView Inn has to offer. On behalf of the entire team, we thank you for complimenting the convenience of our location and services. We hope to accommodate you again, and we send our best to you in beautiful Rhode Island.

Please contact me anytime if I may assist you in any way.

Sincerely,

Drue Ford
Assistant General Manager
HarbourView Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,220 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    963
    187
    46
    16
    8
See reviews for
190
694
26
49
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (271)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Elmira, New York
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

Immaculate room, great coffee, neat snacks, attentive staff. Location was perfect and would definitely go again. The options for breakfast were unbelievable! Nice roof top sitting area too. Great views!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AGM-HarbourViewInn, Guest Relations Manager at Harbourview Inn, responded to this review, August 18, 2013
Dear jeaniegirl,

Salutations to you in New York! We are delighted to see you enjoyed your experience at the HarbourView Inn. On behalf of the entire staff, we thank you for complimenting the accommodations and services you receive from each department, and we are happy you took advantage of our convenient location. We would welcome the opportunity to have you stay with us again in the future.

Please contact me anytime if I may assist you in any way.

Sincerely,

Drue Ford
Assistant General Manager
HarbourView Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

The view of the fountain and the Harbor were amazing,especially at night.we want to go back again.the breakfast at the roof top was my favorite part,it was very romantic.we loved that the inn was walk in distance to all the the beautiful landmarks and all the wonderful restaurants.

Room Tip: Room 206 was great because you have a beautiful view of the fountain in waterfront park ,and the am...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AGM-HarbourViewInn, Guest Relations Manager at Harbourview Inn, responded to this review, August 17, 2013
Dear Carmen C,

We are thrilled to have you share with future guests the special views in our most convenient location at the HarbourView Inn. On behalf of the entire team, we thank you for your review and hope we may accommodate you again on a future trip to Historic Charleston.

Please contact me anytime if I may assist you in any way.


Sincerely,

Drue Ford
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massapequa, New York
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

As a Hilton Diamond Honors member, I usually stay within the Hilton family of hotels. This was our first trip to Charleston and the TripAdvisor community spoke highly of the HarbourView Inn, so we took a shot and booked it. The rates were slightly higher than other hotels in the area, but little did we know the value that we would receive for that slightly higher rate.

The location of the hotel was great and upon check in we could see that the hotel was well-maintained and clean. The real pleasant surprise came with things like:

Breakfast included and served to your room, the rooftop terrace, or the atrium lobby.
Afternoon wine and cheese served in the lobby
Nighttime milk and cookies served in the lobby

Our room had a king size tempurpedic bed and it felt great. Bathroom was clean and well-stocked.

Finally, the staff was kind and very helpful. They met every request we had with a smile.

We would definitely return to the HVI.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AGM-HarbourViewInn, Guest Relations Manager at Harbourview Inn, responded to this review, August 17, 2013
Dear John K,

On behalf of the entire HarbourView Inn team, we are thrilled to be a part of your first trip to Historic Charleston. Thank you for your compliments of our services, accommodations and our most convenient location. Thank you too for complementing our staff; they are truly our most valuable asset. We hope to accommodate you again in the future, and we send our best to you in New York.

Please contact me anytime if I may assist you in any way.


Sincerely,

Drue Ford
Assistant General Manager
HarbourView Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mobile, Alabama
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

The Harbourview Inn is in a great location, you are walking distance from most everything. The evening wine and cheese was nice, but the night time cookies were great! The staff wasn't the friendliest, but we stayed out most of the time so it didn't bother us too much.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AGM-HarbourViewInn, Guest Relations Manager at Harbourview Inn, responded to this review, August 17, 2013
Dear Brad N,

On behalf of the entire HarbourView Inn team, thank you for sharing your experience with us and future travelers. I send my most sincere apologies to you in regards to the friendliness of our staff, who in most reviews receive the highest marks. Our entire team will review your remarks, so we may improve our services. We are happy to see you enjoyed our specialized services, and we would welcome the opportunity to accommodate you again in the future. We send our best to you in Alabama.

Please contact me anytime if I may assist you in any way.


Sincerely,

Drue Ford
Assistant General Manager
HarbourView Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

This hotel had it all. The check in was adequate but there are so many amenities that come with the hotel. They were note explained well to us. Our room had a view of a power station but who cares! The room was fabulous. It was huge. Turn down service in the evenings with robes on the bed and chocolates. The hotel uses an aromatherapy throughout the facility so it has a wonderful fragrance. They serve complimentary wine and cheese in the evening, cookies and milk at 9 PM and breakfast is served when you want and you have options of having it in the atrium, your bedroom or on the terrace. The location is fantastic, right by the river and park. There is a free shuttle pick up right outside the hotel. Easy walk to The Battery, Historic District, French Quarter, and City Market. They do encourage valet parking and it is $20 a day. We kept a set of car keys and were able to retrieve items from our car that we didn't want to carry into the hotel.

There is no restaurant on site and no bar but the evening wine is free so no complaints. We loved our room and the little perks that came with the reservation. We would come back here in a heartbeat. It is a bit of a splurge for us but it was a very positive experience. The aromatherapy just made me feel happy when I stepped inside the facility. Oh the little things that mean so much!

Room Tip: Lower levels on the river side don't really have much of a view. If a room on the south side (ba...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AGM-HarbourViewInn, Guest Relations Manager at Harbourview Inn, responded to this review, August 17, 2013
Dear takemewithyou2,

Thank you for this fantastic and descriptive review of the HarbourView Inn. On behalf of our entire team, we appreciate you sharing your experience with the accommodations and all of our specialized services, even areas where we can improve. We are glad that you took advantage of and enjoyed our convenient location, our valet services and our special air aroma. We send our best to you in Illinois and hope to accommodate you again in the future.

Please contact me anytime if I may assist you in any way.


Sincerely,

Drue Ford
Assistant General Manager
HarbourView Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013 via mobile

Here now. Have a harbor view room. Location great free bus stops right outside hotel. People here great. Very helpful and friendly. Continental breakfast good. Wine and cheese at night fun. Cookies and milk at night really good. We are loving it.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AGM-HarbourViewInn, Guest Relations Manager at Harbourview Inn, responded to this review, August 17, 2013
Dear Autoxer48,

It is a special sentiment when a guest takes the time while still at the HarbourView Inn to give us such a great review. On behalf of our entire team, thank you for sharing our convenient location and specialized services with future guests. We hope we may accommodate you for your next trip to Historic Charleston as well.

Please contact me anytime if I may assist you in any way.


Sincerely,

Drue Ford
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Harbourview Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbourview Inn

Address: 2 Vendue Range, Charleston, SC 29401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston > French Quarter
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
#6 Luxury Hotel in Charleston
#6 Family Hotel in Charleston
#22 Business Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Harbourview Inn 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy unparalleled service and signature amenities from this AAA Four-Diamond and Condé Nast "Gold List Award" luxury hotel. Panoramic views, vast atriums and beautifully appointed guest rooms - some with private balconies, working fireplaces, and whirlpool tubs - await your arrival. From the moment you enter one of the most historic hotels in Charleston, SC, you will find modern features and services, old world charm and unpretentious Southern hospitality. The waterfront and atrium lobbies are reminiscent of Charleston's early years as a colonial nautical trading hub. They offer the perfect setting for idle reflection, a glass of wine or just the refined sport of people watching. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, TravelClick, BookIt.com, Tingo, Hotels.com, Priceline, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your Harbourview Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harbourview Hotel Charleston
Harbour View Inn Charleston

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Harbourview Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.