We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An excellent hotel with superb service - Eileen K” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Harbourview Inn

Save Saved
You added Harbourview Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Harbourview Inn
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2 Vendue Range, Charleston, SC 29401 (French Quarter)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Exclusive Savings
Ranked #8 of 54 hotels in Charleston
Wake Forest, North Carolina
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“An excellent hotel with superb service - Eileen K”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

We had a beautiful harbor view room on the 1st floor for three nights. The service was superb. You get continental breakfast in your room, on the roof top terrace or in the atrium. From 5 to 6 every evening they serve wine with cheese and crackers. There is always fresh coffee, tea, hot chocolate and fresh fruit throughout the day. Every evening at 9:00 they serve cookies. We didn't miss not having a pool since we went to Charleston to enjoy the sites. All the best restaurants and shopping are within walking distance. Two blocks from the hotel is the fantastic Grill 225 where we had dinner for anniversary. The food was excellent and the staff very attentive.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AGM-HarbourViewInn, Guest Relations Manager at Harbourview Inn, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
On behalf of the entire HarbourView Inn team, thank you for your wonderful review. We are so happy you had a successful anniversary getaway. It is our goal to provide a memorable experience for all of our guests, and we are glad to hear our amenities and services contributed to your experience. We are indeed walking distance to some great local restaurants, shopping and attractions in Historic Charleston. We hope to accommodate you again in the future so you may enjoy more local cuisine and beautiful sites.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,207 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    951
    185
    46
    17
    8
See reviews for
185
690
26
48
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (264)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brookline, MA
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

We stayed in a 4th floor room facing the harbor for two nights in June and could not have had a better time. The roof terrace was at the end of the corridor for a delivered Continental breakfast, wine and sunsets. The service was uniformly superb. The Charleston historic district and best restaurants were in easy walking distance. The bed was very comfortable, the bathroom had a huge shower and there were two chairs for reading. The room had a small balcony overlooking Waterfront Park and a wonderful fountain, with views of Ft. Sumter, sailboats, etc. Expensive but worth it.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the 4th floor for easy access to the very enjoyable roof deck
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AGM-HarbourViewInn, Guest Relations Manager at Harbourview Inn, responded to this review, May 4, 2013
On behalf our entire team, thank you for your review of the HarbourView Inn. We are so happy you enjoyed one of the best views of the Charleston Harbor from your Grand HarbourView room and from our rooftop terrace. It is pleasing to see you took advantage of our central location in Historic Charleston as well. Also, thank you for complementing our luxury accommodations. We look forward to the opportunity to accommodate you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, Virginia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

The location is outstanding for access to the historic district tours or just walking about, as well as restaurants and shopping. The room was spacious and comfortable. We didn't miss any aminities such as a pool, spa, etc. since the purpose of the trip was to experience Charleston and enjoy old friends. The atrium room was a great place to meet with the other couple we were reuniting with to plan the day's and evening's activities. Spent four nights and have nothing but praise for the attention and courtesy of all of the staff.

Room Tip: Plan in advance and get a harbor side room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AGM-HarbourViewInn, Guest Relations Manager at Harbourview Inn, responded to this review, May 4, 2013
Thank you for your praise of the HarbourView Inn. We are thrilled you enjoyed our location, accommodations and our convenient common areas. The HarbourView Inn is proud to be a part of your reunion with old friends, and we are proud to be a part of the new memories you created with them. Our entire team looks forward to the opportunity to accommodate you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OrangeCountyCA
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

The name is accurate: a fine view of Charleston Harbor immediately adjacent to the riverfront/harbor walkway. Historical Charleston is just steps away. Our room had plenty of space and was well appointed. Because we made a switch at the last minute to arrive a day earlier, we got a handicapped room with a walk in shower, so I can't comment on a normal bathroom. The hotel serves a complimentary breakfast on the rooftop, which in good weather is pleasant, but it is limited to fruit and pastries. We recommend Eli's Kitchen on Meeting Street for a full breakfast. Wine and cheese at 5 was OK, but we didn't come to Charleston for the wine. You can walk five minutes to many restaurants, and in about 15 minutes cover the bulk of the historic district. The front desk got us a dinner spot when we arrived a little late our first night with one call. If you come by car, valet parking in front is limited to two spots, so be aware you might have to circle the block a couple of times. The hotel does not have pool, spa or a convenience store. We paid over $300 per night; I think $225-$250 was the value, but it was during the height of spring garden/home tour season and the city was full of tourists.

Room Tip: Our room was behind the elevator shaft and faced the electrical transformer station behind the hotel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AGM-HarbourViewInn, Guest Relations Manager at Harbourview Inn, responded to this review, May 4, 2013
Thank you sincerely for your review of the HarbourView Inn. We welcome all guest feedback as it helps us to continually improve our services and amenities. We are glad you took advantage of our location near the heart of the historic district of Charleston. HarbourView Inn is walking distance to restaurants, shopping and several attractions. Our front desk takes pride in their hard work and personalized service, and our entire team appreciates your comments. Thank you again and we hope you will choose the HarbourView Inn for your next visit to Historic Charleston.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, U.K.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

The staff were lovely. The room was well kept, but there were few toiletry amenities, no full length mirror, no mini bar. We were told there were vending machines, which gave the place a motel feel. Breakfast was included. "Seasonal fruit" turned out to be an overripe banana.

We left our room on Sunday morning at 9:15 am and returned at 2:30 pm. The room still had not been serviced.

Well-located, but NOTHING special about this place, except the staff.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AGM-HarbourViewInn, Guest Relations Manager at Harbourview Inn, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Thank you for your review. We are delighted that you enjoyed our associates. They are truly the heart of the experience at the HarbourView Inn. We are sorry that you were not completely satisfied with the accommodations. Most of our rooms do have full length mirrors. We would certainly be happy to note any future reservations with that preference for you. We keep an ample variety of toiletries in each guestroom bathroom, but we also have a supply of less commonly used toiletries at the Front Desk and are always happy to deliver them to the room upon request. Please accept our sincere apologies that we did not properly communicate the availability of these items to you. Thank you again for your review. We hope you will stay with us again, so that we can provide you with an experience more indicative of what the majority of our guests rate us so highly for.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murrells Inlet, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

Great view. Good location. Really overpriced for mediocity.

1 Valet / door guy on a Saturday afternoon, just left my car and went to check in. Also means that there was no one to help with the bag. Check in was standard. The staff was aware that I had just gotten engaged and for $500+ a night we didn't even get a congratulations or a can of Coke.

The room was standard - flat screen tv, king bed, iHome alarm clock with docking station, huge tub that also contained measley shower head. (The water pressure is terrible. At one point I was under this dribble of a shower surrounded by this enormous tub - mildly humorous.)

Service was spotty. We checked in at 4:30. At 4:45, housekeeping knocked for turndown service. We refused the ridiculous offer and the surly housekeeper handed us two chocolates and a piece of cardstock with the next day's weather.

Breakfast service was much better and the "complimentary" pastries were good (The Nestle hot chocolate packet and luke warm water - not so good for $500).

Checkout was ok. The valet had my car waiting. The front desk was understaffed so when the clerk got stuck on a phone call, we had a good 10 - 15 minute wait.

Overall, not a bad place,just not up to its 4 diamond rating when it comes to service.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AGM-HarbourViewInn, Guest Relations Manager at Harbourview Inn, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
We are embarrassed and saddened that you had such an experience. Please accept our sincere apologies for lack of available associates during your stay and for the confusion with your turn down service. We keep a full complement of Bellmen and Front Desk associates on each shift. We will certainly investigate to find out what caused the shortage during your stay, to ensure that others do not experience the same lack of service. We do not begin our turn down service until after our wine and cheese reception, but will turn down the rooms for known late arrivals in advance. We may have had you incorrectly indicated for arriving late. We assure you that your experience is not the typical experience at the HarbourView Inn. If you choose to stay with us again in the future, we promise to provide you a much more memorable experience. Thank you for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwalk, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

A very nice hotel. Comfortable, nicely decorated, centrally located. The staff is very friendly and extremely helpful. Nice amenities like breakfast, wine and cheese reception, milk and cookies. Rooms are spacious enough, beds very comfortable. I'd go back.

Room Tip: Ask for a Harbor view vs. back of hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AGM-HarbourViewInn, Guest Relations Manager at Harbourview Inn, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
We thank you for your review of the HarbourView Inn. Your comments regarding location, decorations, comfort and especially our staff are much appreciated. We are thrilled to hear you enjoyed all the amenities. We hope you will choose to stay with us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Harbourview Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbourview Inn

Address: 2 Vendue Range, Charleston, SC 29401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston > French Quarter
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
#6 Family Hotel in Charleston
#7 Luxury Hotel in Charleston
#24 Business Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Harbourview Inn 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy unparalleled service and signature amenities from this AAA Four-Diamond and Condé Nast "Gold List Award" luxury hotel. Panoramic views, vast atriums and beautifully appointed guest rooms - some with private balconies, working fireplaces, and whirlpool tubs - await your arrival. From the moment you enter one of the most historic hotels in Charleston, SC, you will find modern features and services, old world charm and unpretentious Southern hospitality. The waterfront and atrium lobbies are reminiscent of Charleston's early years as a colonial nautical trading hub. They offer the perfect setting for idle reflection, a glass of wine or just the refined sport of people watching. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TravelClick, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Tingo, Priceline, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, Jetsetter, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Harbourview Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harbourview Hotel Charleston
Harbour View Inn Charleston

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Harbourview Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.