We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved this hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Harbourview Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Harbourview Inn to your Saves list
Harbourview Inn
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2 Vendue Range, Charleston, SC 29401 (French Quarter)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay and Save Over Select
Ranked #10 of 59 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Loved this hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

We stayed here four nights and were very pleased with the service, our large room, wonderful staff. A nice breakfast is included and is brought to your room, The location is terrific, located right on the free trolley line and next to the waterfront park. It's also easy to walk to many good restaurants and attractions. Good value.

Room Tip: Waterfront view rooms are more expensive, but our room on the other side was lovely but had no view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AGM-HarbourViewInn, Guest Relations Manager at Harbourview Inn, responded to this review, April 20, 2013
On behalf of our entire staff, thank you for your kind remarks regarding your stay at the HarbourView Inn. We are thrilled you enjoyed the continental breakfast delivery, our guest rooms, and our convenient location. We hope to have you stay with us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,461 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,153
    230
    49
    19
    10
See reviews for
232
842
28
57
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (342)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
103 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

First time to Charleston, so we opted to stay near the tip to be able to walk to the many attractions. This hotel, located at the corner of Vendue Range and Concord St. was perfect for that. Get over the sticker shock for the cost of the room, and then focus on the benefits of being able to walk to the market, the battery, the excursion boat to Ft. Sumpter, the many fine restaurants, shoppes and historic sites. The hotel is limited in its amenities. No pool, fitness room, restaurant or bar. You can valet park here at an additional charge. A small reception area on the 2nd floor with some comfortable seating overlooking the harbor, a fireplace and a couple of containers of lemon or orange water, and self-serve M&Ms to snack on. At night, around 9 p.m., they bring out homemade cookies and milk. In another seating area just down the hall on the 2nd floor there is a cheese plate and wine gathering every afternoon at 5. A rooftop outdoor seating area is pleasant, but beware of the birds and gulls waiting for you to walk over to get a glimpse of the city and harbor so that they can pounce on your goodies left at the table. The room we had was quite large and faced Vendue Range, with a floor to high ceiling window wall with shutters to easily allow ample daylight into the room if you choose. But the layout of the room was strange. Two queen beds with Temperpedic mattresses were fine. But the the posts on the beds interfered with the view of the television set into a double armoire. A desk to the left of the armoire, and a small glass table and table chairs to the right. Just one cushioned low-back chair next to the bed made viewing the TV from 15 ft difficult and partially obstructed. There were just two of us in the room, so getting comfortable without sitting/laying on the beds was difficult. The large bathroom was also baffling. A large, high sided spa tub made it difficult to get in and out of the shower. With no grab bars, I considered it dangerous as well. The shower curtain was at the tip of my fingers as I stretched my 6 foot frame to reach it to help the curtain along. The bathroom is large enough to accommodate a separate shower. A lot of wasted space in this room and bathroom that could easily be rearranged to make it more comfortable after a long day out and about. Breakfast is included here, and you can get it brought to your room. But it is limited selection catered from outside, and very unremarkable. Apart from this, the staff is very friendly and the hotel is extremely clean and fresh smelling. There are many other hotels in this particular area, none of which I have seen or able to compare. But I would check out others the next time because of the disappointing comfort issues here. My rating is based on this class of hotels, where you expect a lot more for the fees paid.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockville, Maryland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

We took advantage of a Trip Advisor discount to stay here 3 nights... the offer discounted the room to $231 for two of the nights -- the rate was $319 for the third night. The room we had was initially a disappointment... we had a view of what seemed to be their electrical plant with some palmettos around it (in other words, no view) -- perhaps these were the rooms available via the discount. That said, once we got use to the idea we'd have no view at all, the room itself, while nothing special, was fine. We were traveling with our 12 year old daughter and all 3 of us slept very well on the memory foam beds (in fact we all liked them). The room was quiet, which was a concern b/c we were near their Atrium (which is the sitting area for amenities and breakfast), but we did not have a problem with any noise. We were not aware of all the amenities they offer ahead of time and we were happy we could have breakfast delivered to our room to get us going in the a.m. It was delivered on time each day and was exactly what we ordered. We were pleased they had tea and coffee and water out during the day as well as fruit and M&M's. The cookies and milk at night were appreciated by our daughter. It poured the first full day of our trip and we were glad we had a rental car (I had considered canceling the rental car -- you don't really need one to get around the historic area and it does cost $20 a night to park). The bellman made a point of warning us about flooded roads and we were very grateful for his advice, b/c in all the travel info I'd read, I never saw anything about what happens when it rains in Charleston (i.e., extensive street flooding). The location of this hotel is great if you want to be able to walk to some of the best restaurants in town and historical sights. We took a walking tour sponsored by the Historic Charleston Foundation and throughly enjoyed it. We also took in a concert through the Festival of Houses and Gardens and enjoyed it as well. Over the 3 days we stayed there I did begin to appreciate the service the hotel offers -- things just seemed to be taken care of without a lot of need for contact -- our rooms were made up, breakfast was delivered, turn down service was done, amenities were replaced without having to ask. Even though there isn't a big lobby, there is a small one that had a fireplace and on one of the unseasonably cold days we had it was nice to sit for a few minutes and warm up. All in all, the hotel grew on me and I would recommend staying there -- the location is great and the service is good -- for the room we had, I think the $230 price range was appropriate -- $300 plus was pushing it -- for a room with a view, this hotel would probably be an excellent choice. I do agree with others that their staff seemed a bit young and inexperienced, but we didn't need assistance. Also, while they don't have a restaurant, there are so many good restaurants within walking distance that wasn't a problem for us -- the breakfast they offer and snacks were enough to keep us going throughout the day.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Milford, New Jersey
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

This hotel would be above average on its own, but the amenities offered go above & beyond. Afternoon wine & cheese, tea & coffee all day, cookies & milk in evening, breakfast delivered to room ( our favorite ) each morning. Convenient location to all areas in historic Charleston- close to numerous restaurants and shopping - plus right on waterfront park with a rooftop veranda. Would absolutely recommend!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
182 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

Stayed there during our recent six-day visit to Charleston. Our room was excellent, with ample space and large bath. The continental breakfasts were simple, but well done. Nightly complimentary wine and cheese receptions and the free M&Ms in the lobby were nice touches. The service was generally very good. Our only complaint was the bell staff seemed young and inexperienced. Will certainly consider this hotel again during our next visit.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

We loved the Harbourview Inn in Charleston, SC.
I travel frequently for business, so I am quite particular about the hotels I chose.

The staff as well as their service was fantastic. Very friendly and accommodating.
We were celebrating a birthday, and they sent up a complimentary bottle of Champagne.

The hotel was beautiful. It was clean (spotless) and welcoming. Our room was bright, spacious and sunny and we had a great view of the water, fountain and park area. We valeted our car and it was always there and waiting for us when we wanted to take a drive.

Continental breakfast was included and delivered every day at the time of our choice.

The location was excellent. We could walk over all downtown Charleston from our hotel. The Sunrise and Sunset, viewed from the rooftop deck, was stunning.

We would definitely go back and also highly recommend this hotel to anyone traveling to Charleston, SC.

Room Tip: Ask for a corner room, overlooking the water, fountain and park area
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

I'll preface this review by saying that this is easily one of the more expensive hotels we've stayed in thus far; but my husband and I were celebrating our anniversary in Charleston and decided it was worth the splurge. I don't regret it one bit!

The service was excellent; everyone was very friendly and accommodating. The room itself (303) was spacious, clean and offered an excellent view of the fountain in Waterfront Park and the harbor. We could even see the dolphins breach during high tide! The mattress was a king-size Tempur-Pedic, which I'd never slept on before; it was ridiculously comfortable and I slept like a baby. The breakfast pastries were delicious, as were the "bedtime" cookies.

The location was perfect and we walked everywhere: down to the Battery, up to the Aquarium and everywhere in between. The Inn is just a couple of blocks from the famous Charleston city market and there are tons of great restaurants and bars nearby. When the weather is nice, take advantage of that rooftop terrace; on our last night, we brought up our own beer and wine and enjoyed the views one last time. Highly recommended!

Room Tip: HarbourView Guest Rooms offer a view of Waterfront Park and the harbor. We stayed on the third floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charleston hotels
French Quarter Inn
#1 of 59 in Charleston
5.0 of 5 stars 2,101 reviews
French Quarter
The Vendue
The Vendue
#13 of 59 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 stars 1,453 reviews
Belmond Charleston Place
#16 of 59 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 stars 2,194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
King Charles Inn
#14 of 59 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 stars 2,026 reviews
Market Pavilion Hotel
#8 of 59 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 stars 881 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harbourview Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbourview Inn

Address: 2 Vendue Range, Charleston, SC 29401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston > French Quarter
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
#7 Family Hotel in Charleston
#9 Luxury Hotel in Charleston
#17 Business Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Harbourview Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy unparalleled service and signature amenities from this AAA Four-Diamond and Condé Nast "Gold List Award" luxury hotel. Panoramic views, vast atriums and beautifully appointed guest rooms - some with private balconies, working fireplaces, and whirlpool tubs - await your arrival. From the moment you enter one of the most historic hotels in Charleston, SC, you will find modern features and services, old world charm and unpretentious Southern hospitality. The waterfront and atrium lobbies are reminiscent of Charleston's early years as a colonial nautical trading hub. They offer the perfect setting for idle reflection, a glass of wine or just the refined sport of people watching. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, TravelClick, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, BookIt.com, Priceline, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Harbourview Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harbourview Hotel Charleston
Harbour View Inn Charleston

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Harbourview Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.