We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“50th Wedding Anniversary” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Harbourview Inn

Save Saved
You added Harbourview Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Harbourview Inn
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2 Vendue Range, Charleston, SC 29401 (French Quarter)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Celebrate Romance
Ranked #8 of 54 hotels in Charleston
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“50th Wedding Anniversary”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

We picked the perfect weather week in January to visit Charleston for our 50th Wedding Anniversary. We searched the internet for 4 and 5 Star Hotels in the area. We selected Harbor View Inn. We were sold by the information and pictures on their website. Our stay at the Inn and visit to Charleston was perfect. The personnel at Harbor View Inn were friendly, courteous and very accommodating. Our room was beautiful and very comfortable. The beds were the most comfortable we have ever experienced in any of our travels. The location was great - convenient to everything, yet off the beaten path. We never moved our car, we walked everywhere. We particularly enjoyed the room service for breakfast, the afternoon cheese and wine, and the warm cookies and milk in the evenings. The Harbor View Inn is definitely our hotel of choice in Charleston.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,160 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    917
    178
    40
    17
    8
See reviews for
179
668
26
47
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (246)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

Took fiance down to Charleston 2/2 - 2/4 for her birthday weekend. And while I have done a good bit of traveling, staying at a number of high end places, this experience was truly exceptional.

RESERVATION - I reached out to 4-5 of the high end places in Charleston, asking questions about each property as well as any possible upgrades associated with a birthday celebration. Harbourview responded alomost immediately with an offer of complimentaty champagne and possible room upgrade (no guarantee) based on availability. Booked a Shopping Experience package at Harbourview, which included several nice additions.

ARRIVAL - Concierge/BellHop immediately greeted us curbside, notifying front desk of our arrival. While checking in, our luggage was unloaded and taken directly to our room. And imagine my surprise when I was told we had been upgraded to The Suite at Harbourview Inn at no additional cost (their nicest room, only reserved by calling Inn directly).

ROOM/SUITE - Just an incredible suite, with a great view of the Harbour via two separate/private patios on the top floor (Room 405). Top of the line linens and bedding, with complimentary snacks and sodas/perriers in the wet bar. Very large, elegant, and well appointed suite with a huge whirlpool tub/bath. Very few inns/hotels in Charleston have properties located directly across the street from the Harbour, so a definite plus. While availability dictated this upgrade, it was several HUNDRED dollars worth of an upgrade at no additional cost. Wow!

EXTRAS - Wine and cheese/crackers/grapes served between 5-6pm. Bed turndown service and chocolates each evening. Freshly baked cookies and milk served between 9-10pm. Round the clock hot teas and coffee, as well as flavored water and snacks in the lobby area. Continental Breakfast (with daily paper) served in the lobby, devliered to your room, or to the rooftop patio outside. Valet service as needed. And while we all know these extras are factored into the room rates, just very nice to have the one price include so much without having to get out the wallet or be charged for every single additional item. Am a HUGE fan of the all-inclusive type accomodations/costs plans.

SERVICE - Impeccable. ALL staff extremely friendly and helpful. During our stay, everyone went out of their way to make us feel as if we were the most important people around. Friendly, professional, knowledgeable about area, courteous. And one extra service touch we really appreciated - calling ahead to advise continental breakfast was on its way. No surpise knock at the door, eliminating any and all awkard/uncomfortable scenarios. Both mornings breakfast was delivered promptly at the requested time. When checking out, bell hop arrived exactly at the requested time, and by the time we checked out car was already pulled around and loaded.

ADDITIONAL SERVICE - Shortly after arrival, we left to take a quick walk. When we got back, the Package extras (restaurant card/shopping card) and a nice welcome card were in the room. We leave again for a couple of hours, and when we get back, a chilled bottle of champagne was in the room ready to uncork. Very nice touches.

PARKING - Not sure why others have posted complaints about parking and/or cost. Historic Charleston is short on space and should come as no surprise to ANYONE parking is at a premium. $20 per night with round the clock valet is not unreasonable, and most packages have the parking/valet cost built in. The public parking deck about a block down is available for those who want to save a few bucks. Never undestand why or how someone spending $800-$1000 to stay at a top inn/hotel would complain about $40 for parking (and the cost is not a hidden/extra gotcha as cost is clearly explained on inn's website).

Based on our experience, all awards and accolades have been earned by Harbourview Inn and are well deserved. Absolutely fantastic and we will be back - thanks for a memorable birthday getaway!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vermont
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

As I gazed out at the building opposite my room, I realized this hotel should be called "Maybe 15% Harborview Inn" since, when looking at the facility from the outside, I'd guess that only the few rooms on the top rear overlook the water.

Breakfast in the room was pleasant, always on-time. Coffee was lukewarm, though not a problem since the room had a microwave.

Here's why I selected the "Average" rating: I had to call the desk a few times, three to ask that our car be brought around from the mandatory valet parking, and once with a question. On each and every occasion the wait was interminable, to the point where twice I simply gave up and walked down to the desk. One of those times was when we were checking out and needing to reach the airport in time. As I walked up to the front desk, the one clerk on duty was talking on the phone, and I could hear laughing coming from the back office. The female clerk and bellman emerged, and I asked why the phone went unanswered. She replied that they don't answer it in the back. Pretty lame.

If you want decent responsiveness, you might consider another hotel. Otherwise, bring a book to read while you wait, and wait, and wait, for someone to answer.

Room Tip: If you really want to look out on the water, be very specific, and get a written guarantee, since th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AGM-HarbourViewInn, Guest Relations Manager at Harbourview Inn, responded to this review, February 2, 2013
Thank you for your comments. Please accept our sincere apologies for the unnecessary wait that you experienced when trying to request simple services from our associates. It is our standard to answer phone calls in three or fewer rings, and to provide services in a timely manner. We are embarrassed that we failed to do so for you. We have shared your review with our associates to ensure that we consistently provide the expected level of service for all of our guests. We hope you will return to stay with us again, so that you can have the same superior experience that the majority of our guests have. Thank you again. We look forward to hosting you during your next trip to Historic Charleston.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Charles, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

My wife and I stayed 2 nights here. The people at this hotel could not do enough for you. Truly a great place and great location. We highly recommend this hotel. The roof top view is great and the free breakfast is also excellent

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AGM-HarbourViewInn, Guest Relations Manager at Harbourview Inn, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Thank you for the wonderful comments about our team at the HarbourView Inn. We are so glad that you had a great stay and we hope you will stay with us again the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

We came to the Harbourview Inn to spend a couple of days in Charleston with our 2 young girls. We'd never visited Charleston before & I did a little research looking for a hotel. So glad we chose the Harborview Inn.

From the phone reservation I made directly with the hotel, to the time we checked out, the customer service was impeccable. The staff definitely went above & beyond.

We thoroughly enjoyed the wine & cheese each evening and took advantage of the lovely views from the rooftop terrace. Our girls got a big kick out of the "late night" fresh baked cookies in the lobby. The complimentary breakfast each morning was way more than we could've expected. The location of the hotel was amazing. It was so nice to be right across the street from the Waterfront Park. We were able to walk everywhere. We parked our car when we arrived and didn't pick it up until we checked out.

I really can't say enough!! We had a wonderful time and my husband & I are planning to return so that we might be able to enjoy some of the historical tours that we weren't able to go on. We will definitely choose the Harborview Inn again!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AGM-HarbourViewInn, Guest Relations Manager at Harbourview Inn, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
We are so glad that you had a great stay with us with the whole family! Thank you for the wonderful compliments on our staff, I always love to hear that they helped make the stay extra special. We do have a great location to just park your car and explore the wonders of Charleston on foot while you are here. We look forward to many more visits in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

Loved the personalized service with complimentary breakfast in the room, wine and cheese in the afternoon and cookies and milk before bed. Tempur-Pedic beds were a treat too. Would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Higher floor rooms may have view of harbour, second floor did not. Wine and cheese is in first floo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AGM-HarbourViewInn, Guest Relations Manager at Harbourview Inn, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
We are thrilled you enjoyed the service and amenities of the HarbourView Inn. We hope you return to Charleston to stay with us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erie, Pennsylvania
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

Fantastic location within walking distance to top notch restaurants and more tourist type dining. The hotel serves a nice complementary breakfast to your room. It even arrives at the time you request. The room was clean and quiet. The bed was extremely comfortable. We stayed two nights and would return.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AGM-HarbourViewInn, Guest Relations Manager at Harbourview Inn, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Thank you for choosing to stay at the HarbourView Inn. We certainly do have a great location for walking to some of the best restaurants in town. We appreciate your lovely comments about our hotel and amenities and look forward to your return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Harbourview Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbourview Inn

Also Known As:
Harbourview Hotel Charleston
Harbour View Inn Charleston
Address: 2 Vendue Range, Charleston, SC 29401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston > French Quarter
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
#6 Family Hotel in Charleston
#7 Luxury Hotel in Charleston
#12 Business Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Harbourview Inn 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy unparalleled service and signature amenities from this AAA Four-Diamond and Condé Nast "Gold List Award" luxury hotel. Panoramic views, vast atriums and beautifully appointed guest rooms - some with private balconies, working fireplaces, and whirlpool tubs - await your arrival. From the moment you enter one of the most historic hotels in Charleston, SC, you will find modern features and services, old world charm and unpretentious Southern hospitality. The waterfront and atrium lobbies are reminiscent of Charleston's early years as a colonial nautical trading hub. They offer the perfect setting for idle reflection, a glass of wine or just the refined sport of people watching. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Tingo, Priceline, Otel, Venere, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your Harbourview Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Harbourview Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.