We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Harbourview Inn

Save Saved
You added Harbourview Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Harbourview Inn
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2 Vendue Range, Charleston, SC 29401 (French Quarter)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Exclusive Savings
Ranked #7 of 54 Hotels in Charleston
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great location and staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013 via mobile

Very convenient location, right across form the North end of Waterfront Park. Almost everywhere we wanted to go was within easy walking distance. The rooms were nicely appointed and the staff were very friendly and helpful. There isn't a restaurant on-site, although there is breakfast available, but there are many very good restaurants close by.

Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AGM-HarbourViewInn, Guest Relations Manager at Harbourview Inn, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Thank you for choosing to stay with us at the HarbourView Inn! We are so glad that you had a great time and enjoyed our location staff and breakfast. We hope to have you as guests again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,247 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    987
    189
    46
    16
    9
See reviews for
193
708
26
52
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (279)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
258 reviews 258 reviews
62 hotel reviews
Reviews in 94 cities Reviews in 94 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

We spent 4 nights - 2 rooms. Price with tax was $330/night/room. This was the best prices available and we booked a month in advance.

The good news - well maintained and clean hotel in FANTASTIC location. We did not rent a car (on advice of others) - we walked everywhere (usually a10-minute walk) except to one restaurant 2 miles away.

Staff was pleasant and efficient.

The not-so-good:
The free breakfasts were so-so at best (examples - unripe banana, ham croissant was not good, and bitter coffee) - we did it the first morning and went out for breakfasts the rest of our stay.
Maid service. You'd leave your room at 9:00 AM and tell the maid in the hall you'd be out (assuming she's make it up then), and return in mid-afternoon and still not made up.
The BIGGIE - your safety. We were there on a busy weekend with tons of people in the area. The first floor is the entrance with check-in on the second floor. The elevator can be accessed on this first floor. There is a bellman sometimes on the first floor. Anyone can walk in and use the elevator - it is not activated by a hotel card. Further you can walk up to the second floor and access the stairs or elevator there as the office staff are busy or sometimes not there. I discussed this with the mgt. and they were "unaware" that this could be an issue but were planning some capital improvements and would consider it.

Finally - do NOT pay the premium for the water view. We were on the third floor (of 4) and could see a bit of water above the trees and a building...

We would probably stay here again as it is probably the best hotel in the city (unless we go the historic in or B&B route) and location is great - but only after they "secure" the place. Note we are not paranoid travelers and Charleston is a relatively safe city (although some stats say not so) - but come on - this is a hotel with access to most anyone. Please note that on most nights they do require your hotel card for entry after ~ 10 PM.

Room Tip: Do not pay extra or the "water view" which doesn't exist.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AGM-HarbourViewInn, Guest Relations Manager at Harbourview Inn, responded to this review, February 2, 2013
We would like to thank you for choosing the HarbourView Inn during your recent visit to historic Charleston. Your comments regarding the hotel and staff are greatly appreciated. We regret that you did not enjoy the breakfast and were concerned with the ease of access to the elevator. We do secure the exterior doors every evening, limiting them to room key access. During the day time, our Bellmen are located at the entrance next to the elevator, and the area is monitored by security cameras. We want all of our guests to feel a sense of safety and security while staying with us, so we will certainly take your recommendations for extra security measures into consideration, as we continue to make upgrades to the hotel. Thank you again and we hope you will return to stay with us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

In a nutshell:

Great location - can walk to best parts of Charleston, trolly stops across the street.
Great staff - helpful with tourist information.
Thoughtful extras - breakfast served in the room, wine at cheese in the evening, milk and cookies before bed, water bottles, M&Ms.
Rooftop terrace - relaxing view of the city.
Lovely guests - other guests were easy to meet and friendly...noticeably so.

Would definitely recommend. And, would definitely recommend visiting in January.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AGM-HarbourViewInn, Guest Relations Manager at Harbourview Inn, responded to this review, January 20, 2013
Thank you for recommending the HarbourView Inn to others! We are glad that you enjoyed your time with our staff and other guests as well as our complimentary amenities. We hope to have you stay with us again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canton, Georgia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

Probably the best high end hotel I have stayed in. Very classy and our room had a beautiful view.
Close to everything including a Ghost walk around the corner. For what you get, this is an outstanding bargain. Very clean and the hotel people were very helpful and knowledgeable.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AGM-HarbourViewInn, Guest Relations Manager at Harbourview Inn, responded to this review, January 20, 2013
We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us at the HarbourView Inn. We hope to have you stay with us again the next time you are in the Charleston area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johnson City, TN
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

It's been over 10 years since the first time I visited Charleston and I fell head-over-heels in love with the City. On my first visit, I passed by Harbourview Inn, with its unique lion head fountain, stately brick exterior and its Juliet balconies overlooking the water and I said to myself, "Someday I will stay there!" Fast forward to this past weekend when my dream finally came true and my husband and I returned to celebrate our 14th anniversary. Harbourview Inn met -and exceeded- all of my very high expectations. From our warm welcome by all the staff, to our beautifully decorated, spacious room, to the milk and cookies and our exceptionally comfortable king bed, everything was absolutely perfect. As we were spending a lazy morning enjoying our delicious breakfast delivered in-room, we looked out the bedroom window and saw dolphins playing in the water...talk about the perfect ending to the perfect stay. Like an old friend, I miss Charleston already, and can't wait to return! When I do, I can't think of anywhere I'd rather stay than Harbourview Inn.

Room Tip: We stayed on the second floor and had a great view, but I'm sure the higher floors would have an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AGM-HarbourViewInn, Guest Relations Manager at Harbourview Inn, responded to this review, January 20, 2013
We are thrilled that you were able to make your dream a reality and that the HarbourView Inn was part of it! Thank you for your wonderful compliments about our staff and services. I wish we could take credit for the playful dolphins in the Cooper River, but that is just us being lucky in location. We are looking forward to having you stay with us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

There is nothing to complain about with the Harbour View Inn, yet it lacked any character. In this city that is defined by it's history and charm I expected a hotel with some of the same. With so many places to choose from, I would prefer something that reflected more of the city. It has the feel of a chain hotel. Structurally, the design made the hotel feel impersonal. Guests enter to see a porter and have to get to the next level to the rather small unremarkable lobby. On the plus side: the price was lower than most comparably rated hotels and it was spanking clean with continental breakfast and wine and (grocery store) cheese and crackers in the evening.

Room Tip: As far as I could tell the "historic" part of the hotel differed from the main hotel in t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AGM-HarbourViewInn, Guest Relations Manager at Harbourview Inn, responded to this review, January 20, 2013
We appreciate you staying with us at the HarbourView Inn, and taking the time to write a review. We are sorry to hear that you felt the hotel’s design was impersonal and lacked character. We sincerely hope that you will stay with us again and allow us to share with you the character and charm that both Charleston and the HarbourView Inn have to offer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

We had a fantastic stay at the Harbourview Inn in Charleston. Its within walking distance to everything you want to do in Charleston and the rooms are quite nice (you'd never know that the building used to be a nightclub). And the beds with the tempurpedic mattress -- heaven.

But what makes the Harbourview stand out is the customer service and the perks. When we arrived we were given a room with 2 Queens when we wanted a King and they moved things around to accommodate us and gave us a bottle of champagne to make up for the confusion. But lets talk about the perks -- free breakfast delivered to your room, wine and cheese hour and milk and cookies at night. I can still taste the warm baked cookies now.....

Room Tip: I wouldn't pay for the harbour view as there really isn't that great of a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AGM-HarbourViewInn, Guest Relations Manager at Harbourview Inn, responded to this review, January 20, 2013
We are so glad that you had a great stay with us at the HarbourView Inn! We do have a great location and a great staff to go along with it. We hope to have you stay with us again, we’ve got some cookies with your name on them!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Harbourview Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbourview Inn

Address: 2 Vendue Range, Charleston, SC 29401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston > French Quarter
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Charleston
#5 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
#6 Luxury Hotel in Charleston
#8 Business Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Harbourview Inn 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy unparalleled service and signature amenities from this AAA Four-Diamond and Condé Nast "Gold List Award" luxury hotel. Panoramic views, vast atriums and beautifully appointed guest rooms - some with private balconies, working fireplaces, and whirlpool tubs - await your arrival. From the moment you enter one of the most historic hotels in Charleston, SC, you will find modern features and services, old world charm and unpretentious Southern hospitality. The waterfront and atrium lobbies are reminiscent of Charleston's early years as a colonial nautical trading hub. They offer the perfect setting for idle reflection, a glass of wine or just the refined sport of people watching. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TravelClick, Tingo, Priceline, BookIt.com, Otel, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Harbourview Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harbourview Hotel Charleston
Harbour View Inn Charleston

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Harbourview Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.