We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Nice Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Harbourview Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Harbourview Inn to your Saves list
Harbourview Inn
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2 Vendue Range, Charleston, SC 29401 (French Quarter)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay and Save Over Select
Ranked #5 of 59 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Raleigh, North Carolina
Top Contributor
217 reviews 217 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
113 helpful votes 113 helpful votes
“Very Nice Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

The Harbourview Inn is conveniently located and just a short walk from all the major attractions in Chalreston. The staff is friendly and welcoming and the rooms are nicely sized. The perks like the wine and cheese and breakfasts are nice. The common areas like the lobby and dining area are very small and feel crowded with more than just a few people. One thing I found extremely irritating here were the push button toilets. You have to put the seat down in order to flush. The other problem was that there was no view (unless you consider electrical works a view) from our room. The mattresses are very comfortable and we both slept very well. I think you will enjoy your time at the Harbourview.

Room Tip: Make sure you are not getting a room that looks out on the electrical system.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AGM-HarbourViewInn, Guest Relations Manager at Harbourview Inn, responded to this review, January 13, 2013
Thank you for staying with us at the HarbourView Inn. We are glad that you enjoyed many of the hotels features including our wine and cheese and complimentary breakfast as well as your time with our staff. I am sorry to hear that you found the toilets difficult to flush. We do have select rooms available with HarbourViews, and we hope to accommodate you on your next trip to Charleston.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,365 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,083
    209
    47
    17
    9
See reviews for
210
785
28
53
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (325)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington, DC
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

The location is excellent - possibly unbeatable in Charleston. The rooms and staff are great. But the hotel is significantly more expensive than its competitors. And the wine happy hour and breakfasts are unexceptional. I would probably try a different hotel next time.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AGM-HarbourViewInn, Guest Relations Manager at Harbourview Inn, responded to this review, January 13, 2013
Thank you for staying with us at the HabourView Inn. We appreciate the kind words about our rooms and staff. Our rates do fluctuate with occupancy and season, but we do always offer a 10% discount for AAA or AARP memberships and seasonal email offers. We do sincerely you will stay with us again on your next trip to Charleston.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Litchfield, Connecticut
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

I don't know what I can say about the HarbourView other than we would NEVER stay anywhere else! The rooms are beaufiful and comfortable. The location is the best. Right by the water. The staff well...Thank you Bruce, Erik, Drue, Madison, Sabrina, Grant, Rob, Jack, Kenny, Mike and Josh, Sidney, Irene, Demetrial, Demetra and Stacey and Bernadetta! Do we know the staff or what? We love the afternoon cheese and wine and of course, my cookies and milk every evening. Morning breakfast is excellent and enough to get us through to lunch. We can't wait to go back and visit! Thanks again to all for another great stay!

Room Tip: Great rooms facing the water, the historic rooms are lovey, really can't go wrong in any room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AGM-HarbourViewInn, Guest Relations Manager at Harbourview Inn, responded to this review, January 6, 2013
On behalf of the whole staff (almost all of whom are mentioned here) and management, thank you for continuing to stay with us at the HarbourVIew Inn. We are always thrilled to have such kind and wonderful repeat guests, who we consider to be part of the HarbourView Inn family. Thank you for all of your kind words and we can’t wait until your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Stonington, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

Thank you Sarah, Bruce, Sabrina,, Madison, Rob, Kenny and all the staff members who made our stay so completely enjoyable. I really need to recognize their efforts to make sure we were not lacking anything. This hotel is located in a great spot, within easy walking distance of the shopping on King street and the market as well as all the historical places in Charleston. The wait staff (breakfast in the room, wine and cheese in the afternoon and warm cookies and milk at night) were very professional and need to be recognized as well. You will NOT be disappointed in one of Charleston's finest hotels. We cannot wait to return. They made us feel right at home. There is no pool, restaurant or gym facility on the premises. There are more restaurants in Charleston than you could ask for and walking around the city provides plenty of exercise. I do not consider the lack of any of those amenities to be a serious short-coming.

Room Tip: We have stayed there several different times and have never had a "bad" room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AGM-HarbourViewInn, Guest Relations Manager at Harbourview Inn, responded to this review, January 6, 2013
We are overjoyed that you had such a wonderful experience with all of our staff members! I am glad that every member of our team made you feel at home while in Charleston. While we have limited space, not allowing us to have gym, pool or restaurant on site, you are correct in stating that the best restaurants in town are just a short stroll away. We are already looking forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doylestown, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

Our family chose to have our holiday celebration at this hotel because it is my favorite hotel due to a previous stay . The location is the best. The rooms are well appointed and the staff will do whatever they can to accommodate The roof top patio provides great views or the perfect place to sip evening champagne

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AGM-HarbourViewInn, Guest Relations Manager at Harbourview Inn, responded to this review, January 6, 2013
Thank you for returning to Charleston and the HarbourView Inn! We are so glad that you enjoyed your time with our staff, and on our wonderful rooftop terrace overlooking the Charleston Skyline and Charleston Harbor. We hope to have you as guests again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pinehurst, nc
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

We stayed 2 nights in December. Room was great and had a wonderful view. The staff was very friendly and helpful. (They even mailed us something we left behind.) Delicious breakfast was delivered to room each morning. Location was great--we walked to everything. Fantastic experience. We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AGM-HarbourViewInn, Guest Relations Manager at Harbourview Inn, responded to this review, January 6, 2013
We are thrilled that you had a great stay with us at the HarbourView Inn. Thank you for the kind words about our staff and amenities! We are looking forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

We stayed 4 nights the end of November 2012 and bought the "Shop Charleston Package" which was a good value. The Hotel is ideally located to walk to restuarants (our favorites were around the corner: Slightly North of Broad, Magnolia and Hi Cotton). The free trolley stops just outside the lobby.

Breakfast is a nice selection and is delivered to your room or the Atrium Lobby, or in good weather the 4th Floor Terrace.

Enjoyed the complimentary roof-top tour with Brian, who was very knowledgeable and enthusiastic about Charleston.

From the time we called to make our reservation until we checked out, the service level was exceptional. Our room was very comfortable and had an excellent view of Waterfront Park.

Our thanks to the staff and management!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AGM-HarbourViewInn, Guest Relations Manager at Harbourview Inn, responded to this review, January 6, 2013
We are so glad that you stayed with us at the HarbourView Inn and were able to experience one of our many packages. We are so glad you enjoyed our variety of complementary amenities from our breakfast to our twice a week Skyline tour of Charleston with Brian of Charleston Sole. We hope you choose the HarbourView Inn again on your next trip to Charleston.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Harbourview Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbourview Inn

Address: 2 Vendue Range, Charleston, SC 29401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston > French Quarter
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Charleston
#5 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
#5 Luxury Hotel in Charleston
#20 Business Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Harbourview Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy unparalleled service and signature amenities from this AAA Four-Diamond and Condé Nast "Gold List Award" luxury hotel. Panoramic views, vast atriums and beautifully appointed guest rooms - some with private balconies, working fireplaces, and whirlpool tubs - await your arrival. From the moment you enter one of the most historic hotels in Charleston, SC, you will find modern features and services, old world charm and unpretentious Southern hospitality. The waterfront and atrium lobbies are reminiscent of Charleston's early years as a colonial nautical trading hub. They offer the perfect setting for idle reflection, a glass of wine or just the refined sport of people watching. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Priceline, TravelClick, BookIt.com, Otel, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Harbourview Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harbourview Hotel Charleston
Harbour View Inn Charleston

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Harbourview Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.