We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Reflects Charleston's Charm” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Harbourview Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Harbourview Inn to your Saves list
Harbourview Inn
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2 Vendue Range, Charleston, SC 29401 (French Quarter)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Exclusive Savings
Ranked #7 of 54 Hotels in Charleston
NEW YORK
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Reflects Charleston's Charm”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

Booked this hotel based on trip advisor reviews and we were not disappointed. The staff was friendly and we especially enjoyed getting to know Sidney who poured our wine and turned down the beds each evening. Breakfast was fine, Afternoon wine relaxing and cookies and milk at night was hard to resist. Rooms were well appointed and very clean.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AGM-HarbourViewInn, Guest Relations Manager at Harbourview Inn, responded to this review, December 23, 2012
Thank you for staying with at the HarbourView Inn! I’m so glad to hear that you enjoyed getting to know Sidney during your time with us, as well as you enjoyed our complementary amenities. We hope to have you stay with us in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,259 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    998
    190
    46
    16
    9
See reviews for
195
715
26
52
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (282)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Canton, Georgia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

If you have never been to Historical Charleston, SC...you must GO! And you must stay at the Harbourview Inn which is located on the tip of the harbor in Historical Charleston. The day we arrived they had upgraded our room to a harbor view room which was a wonderful surprise (we went the first week of December). Our room and the entire hotel was immaculate. They serve you breakfast in your room every morning off a menu of four fabulous choices, plus there are heavenly pastries in the atrium every morning with coffee and tea....happy hour with wine and cheese and fruit every evening and cookies and milk before bedtime. There's a beautiful terrace off the top floor with great views of the harbor waters and downtown. Every single person on the staff was professional yet friendly. The weather was in the mid 70's and we parked the car and left it and walked everywhere in town...from The Market for incredible shopping to the Battery and White Point Gardens surrounded by antebellum mansions. December seems like the perfect time to go as there are no crowds of people. It was the best vacation we've ever had thanks to the Harbourview Inn and their staff.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AGM-HarbourViewInn, Guest Relations Manager at Harbourview Inn, responded to this review, December 23, 2012
I am overjoyed that the HarbourView Inn and staff were able to be part of your best vacation. Thank you for all of the lovely compliments to our hotel and staff as well as our amenities. Historic Charleston is definitely a must visit kind of place (more than one time!) and we hope to have the chance to host you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

This hotel has the best of everything. The staff is always pleasant, helpful and are great for tips on places to visit and eat. The rooms are comfortable, well-appointed and very clean. The only downside is that you may gain weight from the continental breakfasts. They are too good! The location is also terrific as you are within walking distance of many attractions downtown and the free trolley is stepfalls from the front door. Another appealing thing about the Harborview Inn is that on your next trip to Charleston (and there will be a next trip), you don't have to search the web for somewhere else to stay.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AGM-HarbourViewInn, Guest Relations Manager at Harbourview Inn, responded to this review, December 23, 2012
We are thrilled that you had such a great time with us at the HarbourView Inn! We do have a wonderful and helpful staff, and I am glad to hear that they were able to assist you with having a great stay. We are excited to see you on your next trip to Charleston!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria VA
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

My second stay and still very nice. Nice front desk staff and valets. The room is large as is bath. Nice location and close to everything. I highly recommend. I also looked at Renaissance Charleston Historic District Hotel and rooms there- and the Harborview is much nicer! Better rooms and staff by far!

Room Tip: Harbor side much better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AGM-HarbourViewInn, Guest Relations Manager at Harbourview Inn, responded to this review, December 23, 2012
We are so glad that you came back to Charleston to stay with us at the HarbourView Inn! Thank you for the kind words about our hotel and our team and we hope to have you stay with again on your next trip to the Charleston area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camdenton, MO
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

We loved the peace and quiet of this old building that faced the Charleston Harbor. From our room we could watch children playing in the fountain and the ships sailing by. This hotel was very quiet and not the place for people who like a lot of activity. It was within walking distance of all the activity we wanted, including the fabulous Charleston restaurants. We will definitely return.

Room Tip: Harbor view is wonderful
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AGM-HarbourViewInn, Guest Relations Manager at Harbourview Inn, responded to this review, December 23, 2012
Thank you for staying with us at the HarbourView Inn. We do have a great location to be just off the beaten path so our guests can relax, but still be close enough to enjoy all that Charleston has to offer. We are looking forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

Very happy with this centrally located hotel. Room was big and so was the bed. Complimentary huge continental breakfast daily, 5p-7p cheese/wine each night and at 9pm cookies & milk! Front desk was warm, welcoming and professional. Within two blocks of the cruise passenger pier. Many, many nearby restaurants. We ate at Hank's one night and Fleet Landing another. Hotel location made it easy to walk all over historic downtown/residential area.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AGM-HarbourViewInn, Guest Relations Manager at Harbourview Inn, responded to this review, November 23, 2012
Thank you for staying with us at the HarbourView Inn! We are so glad that you had the chance to enjoy our complimentary breakfast, wine and cheese hour and milk and cookies before bedtime! Thank you for your kind words about the staff and our location. We hope you will return to Charleston and the HarbourView Inn soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mechanicsville, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

My husband and I stayed 5 nights for our anniversary getaway. It was a wonderful location with great service. Our room was clean and the extras such as tea hour, wine hour and cookies and milk at night were a plus. Breakfast was very nice and always delivered on time. The staff were always friendly. We enjoyed being able to walk to dinner and lunch and being close to the water. We would stay here again. We loved the Tempeurpedic beds.

Room Tip: The Harbor View was nice. Got to see the sunrise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AGM-HarbourViewInn, Guest Relations Manager at Harbourview Inn, responded to this review, November 23, 2012
We are so excited that were able to be part of your anniversary celebration! Thank for the compliments about all of our special extra touches, we are thrilled that you enjoyed everything with your stay! We hope to have you stay with us again at the HarbourView Inn soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Harbourview Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbourview Inn

Address: 2 Vendue Range, Charleston, SC 29401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston > French Quarter
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Charleston
#5 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
#6 Luxury Hotel in Charleston
#11 Business Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Harbourview Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy unparalleled service and signature amenities from this AAA Four-Diamond and Condé Nast "Gold List Award" luxury hotel. Panoramic views, vast atriums and beautifully appointed guest rooms - some with private balconies, working fireplaces, and whirlpool tubs - await your arrival. From the moment you enter one of the most historic hotels in Charleston, SC, you will find modern features and services, old world charm and unpretentious Southern hospitality. The waterfront and atrium lobbies are reminiscent of Charleston's early years as a colonial nautical trading hub. They offer the perfect setting for idle reflection, a glass of wine or just the refined sport of people watching. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, TravelClick, Priceline, BookIt.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Harbourview Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harbourview Hotel Charleston
Harbour View Inn Charleston

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Harbourview Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.