We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“In the heart of the old city but not the in the busy center” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Harbourview Inn

Save Saved
You added Harbourview Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Harbourview Inn
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2 Vendue Range, Charleston, SC 29401 (French Quarter)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Celebrate Romance
Ranked #8 of 54 hotels in Charleston
Camdenton, MO
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“In the heart of the old city but not the in the busy center”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

We loved the peace and quiet of this old building that faced the Charleston Harbor. From our room we could watch children playing in the fountain and the ships sailing by. This hotel was very quiet and not the place for people who like a lot of activity. It was within walking distance of all the activity we wanted, including the fabulous Charleston restaurants. We will definitely return.

Room Tip: Harbor view is wonderful
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AGM-HarbourViewInn, Guest Relations Manager at Harbourview Inn, responded to this review, December 23, 2012
Thank you for staying with us at the HarbourView Inn. We do have a great location to be just off the beaten path so our guests can relax, but still be close enough to enjoy all that Charleston has to offer. We are looking forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,159 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    917
    178
    40
    16
    8
See reviews for
179
667
26
47
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (246)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Southern California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

Very happy with this centrally located hotel. Room was big and so was the bed. Complimentary huge continental breakfast daily, 5p-7p cheese/wine each night and at 9pm cookies & milk! Front desk was warm, welcoming and professional. Within two blocks of the cruise passenger pier. Many, many nearby restaurants. We ate at Hank's one night and Fleet Landing another. Hotel location made it easy to walk all over historic downtown/residential area.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AGM-HarbourViewInn, Guest Relations Manager at Harbourview Inn, responded to this review, November 23, 2012
Thank you for staying with us at the HarbourView Inn! We are so glad that you had the chance to enjoy our complimentary breakfast, wine and cheese hour and milk and cookies before bedtime! Thank you for your kind words about the staff and our location. We hope you will return to Charleston and the HarbourView Inn soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mechanicsville, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

My husband and I stayed 5 nights for our anniversary getaway. It was a wonderful location with great service. Our room was clean and the extras such as tea hour, wine hour and cookies and milk at night were a plus. Breakfast was very nice and always delivered on time. The staff were always friendly. We enjoyed being able to walk to dinner and lunch and being close to the water. We would stay here again. We loved the Tempeurpedic beds.

Room Tip: The Harbor View was nice. Got to see the sunrise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AGM-HarbourViewInn, Guest Relations Manager at Harbourview Inn, responded to this review, November 23, 2012
We are so excited that were able to be part of your anniversary celebration! Thank for the compliments about all of our special extra touches, we are thrilled that you enjoyed everything with your stay! We hope to have you stay with us again at the HarbourView Inn soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
olney,MD
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

We enjoyed a lovely stay at this Inn. Just right on the water with many personal amenities and very attentive service--warm chocolate chip cookies and milk at bedtime!! Food is personally and very well prepared and tasty. Helpful and caring staff. Very clean room and well appointed. Located in center of everything and easy to get to restaurants and other special places Loved the water view the most.
Fun walking around area near the Inn and on the water decks and in town to many interesting bars, shops and boutiques. Pedi cabs are easy to find and available as well shuttle buses and cabs. Never took my car out of garage.

Room Tip: Front desk very helpful with this.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AGM-HarbourViewInn, Guest Relations Manager at Harbourview Inn, responded to this review, November 23, 2012
We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us at the HarbourView Inn. Thank you for your kind comments on our staff, complimentary amenities and location. We definitely have a great location for walking to and enjoying all that Charleston has to offer! We hope you can continue your exploration of Charleston again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

I stayed at the Harbourview Inn for sadly only one night with my mom and my 2 kids. It was a very pleasant experience. It is in a wonderful location - we were able to walk everywhere. All staff were extremely helpful and friendly. Everyone seemed to do their best to make sure we felt welcome and at home. The hotel offers a lot of extras - at no extra charge. The cookies and milk at bedtime were a huge hit with my daughter we missed the wine and cheese but the breakfast was nice as was the turndown service. The beds were really comfy and the room was quite spacious.I would definitely recommend staying here and hope to stay again soon.

Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AGM-HarbourViewInn, Guest Relations Manager at Harbourview Inn, responded to this review, November 23, 2012
We are so glad that you were able to stay with us at the HarbourView for your short visit. It is great that you were about to enjoy many of complimentary services, though next time you’ll have to find time for the wine and cheese reception! We would love to have to you stay with us again soon, and for a longer visit next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012 via mobile

I stay here a couple times a year. I'm sure I've reviewed it before but I'll do it again. I love this place. I love walking along the pier across the street. I love the wine and cheese. The staff is great. It's so close to everything- especially Magnolia's (my favorite restaurant on the planet). The rooms have a nice view of the harbor. Never noise problems. The atmosphere is homey and welcoming. Wouldn't stay anywhere else in charleston. :)

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AGM-HarbourViewInn, Guest Relations Manager at Harbourview Inn, responded to this review, November 23, 2012
We are so glad that you keep staying with us at the HarbourView Inn. We love to see you each time you come to Charleston. We can’t wait until your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Republic
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Spent 6 nights end of October to the first of November to celebrate our anniversary. Great couples place. Service is very good. We came home from dinner our first night to find champagne in our room. Turndown service with chocolates every night. Our room was fine but I thought a little small for the price. Could hear an odd whistling sound every few minutes from what I think was HVAC equipment. It did not deter my sleeping but a light sleeper might have an issue. Could also hear the free trolley that stops right outside however, the convenience of this stopping there far outways the slight noise. Charge $20 per day for valet parking. Really should be free for what you pay for the room. Free wine & cheese & cookies and milk every night. Free light breakfast every day with four choices. Over all this is a very nice hotel but definitely not for the budget conscious. However, the cost is in line with similar hotels and inns. The location is perfect and the view of the water park and harbor was a real plus from our balcony.

Room Tip: If you can afford a habor side room with a balcony do it. It is the best part of the room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AGM-HarbourViewInn, Guest Relations Manager at Harbourview Inn, responded to this review, November 23, 2012
Thank you for staying with us at the HarbourView Inn! We are always delighted to be part of a celebration! Thank you for your note about the noise in your room; we will certainly have our engineering team investigate the source of the noise. We all also appreciate your suggestion about including valet parking within the room rate; it is certainly something we will take under consideration. We are glad that you enjoyed your say and we hope to you will stay with us again on your next trip to Charleston!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Harbourview Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbourview Inn

Also Known As:
Harbourview Hotel Charleston
Harbour View Inn Charleston
Address: 2 Vendue Range, Charleston, SC 29401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston > French Quarter
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
#6 Family Hotel in Charleston
#7 Luxury Hotel in Charleston
#12 Business Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Harbourview Inn 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy unparalleled service and signature amenities from this AAA Four-Diamond and Condé Nast "Gold List Award" luxury hotel. Panoramic views, vast atriums and beautifully appointed guest rooms - some with private balconies, working fireplaces, and whirlpool tubs - await your arrival. From the moment you enter one of the most historic hotels in Charleston, SC, you will find modern features and services, old world charm and unpretentious Southern hospitality. The waterfront and atrium lobbies are reminiscent of Charleston's early years as a colonial nautical trading hub. They offer the perfect setting for idle reflection, a glass of wine or just the refined sport of people watching. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Amex, BookIt.com, Orbitz, Tingo, Priceline, Otel, Hotels.com, Venere, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your Harbourview Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Harbourview Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.