We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Must stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Harbourview Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Harbourview Inn to your Saves list
Harbourview Inn
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2 Vendue Range, Charleston, SC 29401 (French Quarter)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay and Save Over Select
Ranked #6 of 59 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Saint Louis, Missouri
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Must stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

I stayed at the Harbourview Inn for sadly only one night with my mom and my 2 kids. It was a very pleasant experience. It is in a wonderful location - we were able to walk everywhere. All staff were extremely helpful and friendly. Everyone seemed to do their best to make sure we felt welcome and at home. The hotel offers a lot of extras - at no extra charge. The cookies and milk at bedtime were a huge hit with my daughter we missed the wine and cheese but the breakfast was nice as was the turndown service. The beds were really comfy and the room was quite spacious.I would definitely recommend staying here and hope to stay again soon.

Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AGM-HarbourViewInn, Guest Relations Manager at Harbourview Inn, responded to this review, November 23, 2012
We are so glad that you were able to stay with us at the HarbourView for your short visit. It is great that you were about to enjoy many of complimentary services, though next time you’ll have to find time for the wine and cheese reception! We would love to have to you stay with us again soon, and for a longer visit next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,427 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,130
    222
    48
    17
    10
See reviews for
226
816
28
57
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (336)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
52 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012 via mobile

I stay here a couple times a year. I'm sure I've reviewed it before but I'll do it again. I love this place. I love walking along the pier across the street. I love the wine and cheese. The staff is great. It's so close to everything- especially Magnolia's (my favorite restaurant on the planet). The rooms have a nice view of the harbor. Never noise problems. The atmosphere is homey and welcoming. Wouldn't stay anywhere else in charleston. :)

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AGM-HarbourViewInn, Guest Relations Manager at Harbourview Inn, responded to this review, November 23, 2012
We are so glad that you keep staying with us at the HarbourView Inn. We love to see you each time you come to Charleston. We can’t wait until your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Republic
Level Contributor
73 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Spent 6 nights end of October to the first of November to celebrate our anniversary. Great couples place. Service is very good. We came home from dinner our first night to find champagne in our room. Turndown service with chocolates every night. Our room was fine but I thought a little small for the price. Could hear an odd whistling sound every few minutes from what I think was HVAC equipment. It did not deter my sleeping but a light sleeper might have an issue. Could also hear the free trolley that stops right outside however, the convenience of this stopping there far outways the slight noise. Charge $20 per day for valet parking. Really should be free for what you pay for the room. Free wine & cheese & cookies and milk every night. Free light breakfast every day with four choices. Over all this is a very nice hotel but definitely not for the budget conscious. However, the cost is in line with similar hotels and inns. The location is perfect and the view of the water park and harbor was a real plus from our balcony.

Room Tip: If you can afford a habor side room with a balcony do it. It is the best part of the room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AGM-HarbourViewInn, Guest Relations Manager at Harbourview Inn, responded to this review, November 23, 2012
Thank you for staying with us at the HarbourView Inn! We are always delighted to be part of a celebration! Thank you for your note about the noise in your room; we will certainly have our engineering team investigate the source of the noise. We all also appreciate your suggestion about including valet parking within the room rate; it is certainly something we will take under consideration. We are glad that you enjoyed your say and we hope to you will stay with us again on your next trip to Charleston!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, OH
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

I visit Charleston every year and this hotel has been on my list. Last week was finally able to experience this fabulous hotel and it didn't disappoint. Nothing new to add, previous reviewers have covered it well. If you're a M & M freak, you will hang out in the lobby eating the free chocolate and peanut M & Ms.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AGM-HarbourViewInn, Guest Relations Manager at Harbourview Inn, responded to this review, November 18, 2012
Thank you for choosing to stay with us at the HarbourView Inn! We are so glad that you were able to finally stay with us and that you had a great time. We hope you can stay with us again and enjoy more plain and peanut M&Ms!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Jackson, Texas
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

Ahhhh yes! A high-end inn facing Charleston Harbor! So we splurged and paid $383.14 for one night to get a room with a view facing the harbor. But we found out that few, if any, of the rooms actually have a view of the harbor, but rather the view is obscured by trees and/or a building across the street. You can go to a small open-air terrace on the forth (top) floor and see parts of the harbor. There is no restaurant in the Harbourview. A cold breakfast is offered either in your room, on the terrace, or in the atrium area, which has two small round tables and a few couches. The bake goods at breakfast are exceptionally tasty, but forget about a hot meal with service. Yes the staff is attentive, the rooms are spacious and well-appointed, and the location is prime. But other accommodations in Charleston share these features. I suggest that the Harbourview should enclose and air condition their upper floor terrace for serving a full breakfast. A bar on the terrace would also be a welcome addition to better enjoy the view both in the day and after dinner.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AGM-HarbourViewInn, Guest Relations Manager at Harbourview Inn, responded to this review, November 18, 2012
Thank you for staying with us at the HarbourView Inn. We do have select rooms that provide a HarbourView and I am sorry that we did not live up to your expectations, view-wise. However I am glad that you were able to use and enjoy our fourth floor rooftop terrace and that you enjoyed your time with our staff. Thank you for your constructive suggestions about our rooftop terrace and possibly adding a bar, we will certainly take those suggestions under consideration.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Rafael, California
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

We spent 2 nights at the HarbourView Inn (I had previously stayed there 18 mo. ago for 5 nights).
The service is wonderful; always helpful, attentive; polite; and cheerful. Everything from breakfast to the M&M's made us smile. What a lovely hotel and within walking distance of all the best sites, restaurants, shops and services of downtown historic Charleston. Great job, everyone!

Room Tip: Traditional rooms are all you need.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AGM-HarbourViewInn, Guest Relations Manager at Harbourview Inn, responded to this review, November 10, 2012
We greatly appreciate your comments about the HarbourView Inn! We feel that one of the most important things to ensure our guests have a positive experience staying with us is a caring and helpful staff. From making restaurant recommendations to ensuring clean and comfortable rooms our staff does its best to make guests stays enjoyable. We are very lucky to have such a prime location in the heart of historic downtown Charleston and are always glad to hear that our guests also appreciate our convenient location.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marietta, Georgia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

The Harbourview Inn is a wonderful place to stay while in Charleston. I chose to stay here based on the many good reviews here on Tripadvisor. I was not disappointed in any way. The building is immaculately clean. The entire staff is very friendly, but not overbearing, and willing to help in any way. The Inn is located on a road off one of the main thoroughfares adjacent to an beautiful waterfront park. The setting is perfect.

Being that I am in a wheelchair, one of my key areas of focus in evaluating a hotel/Inn is its accessible features. The Harbourview Inn excels in its handicapped accessible features. I stayed in Room #213. Because of where the room is located, they are able to maximize the space in the room. The room is easily negotiated by a wheelchair. The bathroom is large and equipped with one of the best roll-in showers I have had in any hotel. The only complaint about the room is that it is located adjacent to the electrical/mechanical room for the elevator. So, you do hear a lot of noise whenever the elevator is in use. A secondary complaint is the elevator itself. It is rather slow. I believe a second elevator is needed.

Overall, I highly recommend the Harbourview Inn. It is a beautiful property in a great location, staffed by helpful people.

Room Tip: Room #213 is great for disabled travelers.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AGM-HarbourViewInn, Guest Relations Manager at Harbourview Inn, responded to this review, November 10, 2012
Thank you very much for your comments and for choosing to stay with us at the HarbourView Inn during your time in Charleston! We are very glad to hear that you enjoyed our excellent location in the historic city of Charleston. We pride ourselves in accommodating all of our guests to the best of our ability and are very happy to hear that our staff and room were able to meet and exceed your needs. We hope that you choose to stay with us again next time you visit our wonderful city and greatly appreciate your positive comments!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charleston hotels
French Quarter Inn
#1 of 59 in Charleston
5.0 of 5 stars 2,063 reviews
French Quarter
The Vendue
The Vendue
#12 of 59 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 stars 1,414 reviews
King Charles Inn
#13 of 59 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 stars 1,966 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Belmond Charleston Place
#15 of 59 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 stars 2,149 reviews
Market Pavilion Hotel
#7 of 59 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 stars 864 reviews
Planters Inn
#8 of 59 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 stars 984 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harbourview Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbourview Inn

Address: 2 Vendue Range, Charleston, SC 29401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston > French Quarter
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Charleston
#5 Luxury Hotel in Charleston
#5 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
#14 Business Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Harbourview Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy unparalleled service and signature amenities from this AAA Four-Diamond and Condé Nast "Gold List Award" luxury hotel. Panoramic views, vast atriums and beautifully appointed guest rooms - some with private balconies, working fireplaces, and whirlpool tubs - await your arrival. From the moment you enter one of the most historic hotels in Charleston, SC, you will find modern features and services, old world charm and unpretentious Southern hospitality. The waterfront and atrium lobbies are reminiscent of Charleston's early years as a colonial nautical trading hub. They offer the perfect setting for idle reflection, a glass of wine or just the refined sport of people watching. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook, BookIt.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your Harbourview Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harbourview Hotel Charleston
Harbour View Inn Charleston

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Harbourview Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.