We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our favorite in Charleston” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Harbourview Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Save
You added Harbourview Inn to your Saves list
Harbourview Inn
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2 Vendue Range, Charleston, SC 29401 (French Quarter)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Exclusive Savings
Ranked #7 of 55 Hotels in Charleston
Knoxville, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Our favorite in Charleston”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2012

We've visited Charleston a half-dozen times in recent years and on the most recent four visits we've stayed at the HarbourView Inn. Without exception they've treated us wonderfully. We've stayed in a historic wing room, a traditional room, and a deluxe harbor view room, and found each of them to be excellent. The location is perfect for us, across the street from Waterfront Park and within easy walking distance of Charleston's historic district. The free to ride DASH trolley stop is across the street, which makes it even easier to get around town. The employees, from the bell and valet staff, to the front desk, to the room service personnel are unfailingly polite, friendly, and efficient. Special mention for our most recent visit goes to Jenn at the front desk and as always to Bernadett in room service. We enjoy sampling the wine and cheese in the afternoon, as well as the milk and cookies awaiting us each evening when we return from dinner at one of the excellent restaurants within walking distance of the hotel. We plan to return to Charleston and when we do of course we plan to stay at the HarbourView Inn.

Room Tip: The view from the fourth floor harbor side room balconies makes it worth booking one of the deluxe r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AGM-HarbourViewInn, Guest Relations Manager at Harbourview Inn, responded to this review, May 16, 2012
Thank you for continuing to stay with us at the HarbourView Inn, we love having repeat guests! Charleston is wonderful in that there is always something new to explore and we cannot wait until you come back again to help you find some of our hidden favorites. We will certainly make sure that Jenn and Bernadett see the kind things you said about them and about our staff as a whole. Thank you again for making us part of your Charleston experience and we hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,275 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,013
    191
    46
    16
    9
See reviews for
196
727
26
52
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (287)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2012 via mobile

Just back from a two night stay. Very pleased. Hotel is in a fantastic location with a wonderful view. Restaurants, bars and sightseeing are all within walking distance. Rooms are spacious and clean. Continental breakfast is sent to your room each morning, wine and cheese as well as cookies and milk are offered each evening. Front desk staff was helpful with directions and suggestions for things to do and see. We did have one minor issue our first evening but can not complain because the manager appropriately rectified the situation and accomodated us the next morning. One thing we did find to be a bit strange was all front desk staff and bellman leave by 11:00 each night so basically your on your own if there are any issues that arise late at night.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AGM-HarbourViewInn, Guest Relations Manager at Harbourview Inn, responded to this review, May 16, 2012
We are glad that enjoyed your stay with us at the HarbourView Inn. Our location is one that is hard to beat for exploring the sights of Charleston. It is our pleasure to share our favorite parts of our city with our guests. We are sorry that our bellmen and Front Desk Agents were not available when you needed them. We will certainly review this with our overnight agents, so that they are more visible. But we are happy to hear that we were able to resolve them promptly so that you were able to enjoy the rest of your trip. We hope you keep us in mind for any future trips to Charleston.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turnersville, New Jersey
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2012

Just returned from a 4-night stay at the Harborview Hotel and we can think of not one thing that disappointed us. Our room that overlooked the Harbor was immaculate, beautifully decorated, and very roomy. Plus the location of this hotel is truly perfect. You are close enough to the center of downtown but a bit away so it is quiet. The daily perks of a lovely continental breakfast delivered to either our room or the rooftop, afternoon wine and cheese, and evening milk and cookies added to the homey yet very luxurious experience. Charleston is a GREAT city with amazing restaurants and we look forward to coming here as often as we are able, and plan to make the Harborview Hotel "our place". Kudos to all who make it so PERFECT!

Room Tip: Ask for any room that includes a view of the Harbor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AGM-HarbourViewInn, Guest Relations Manager at Harbourview Inn, responded to this review, May 11, 2012
We do have a great location to get around and see Charleston! We appreciate your thoughtful words about how much you enjoyed staying with us at the HarbourView Inn! The rooftop terrace is a great place to enjoy sweeping harbour views as well as the steeples of Charleston with your breakfast, afternoon wine and cheese and your milk and cookies! We are excited to be your Charleston home away from home.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2012

Stayed here for six wonderful nights. What a superb experience on our first visit to Charleston.
Being typically "English", it was fantastic to soak up the southern hospitality, and the staff in this hotel new exactly how to treat it's guests.
We did have a slight problem with noise on our first night, and had a word with the Manager (Matt), who explained that it was an air conditioning unit in the next door car park. Room 112 is to be avoided if you are a light sleeper ! Matt sorted out another room for us on the top floor, and all was well.
Lovely touches were, the roof terrace (excellent views) for breakfast: wine and cheese in the Atrium, and milk and cookies before bedtime.
All of the reception and concierge staff were incredibly helpful with restaurant recommendations, and all with a genuine smile.. Would definitely go back to stay in this perfect location to explore fantastic Charleston !

Room Tip: Top floor with view of the harbour would be our choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AGM-HarbourViewInn, Guest Relations Manager at Harbourview Inn, responded to this review, May 11, 2012
It was our pleasure to welcome you to the South! Thank you for your kind words regarding the gracious attitude of our staff. We would love to have you visit us again at the HarbourView Inn so that we may share some more of Charleston's hidden gems with you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HOU
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2012

Haborview Inn excellent view, very comfortable rooms, awesome staff, great location. Would have preferred a full breakfast but plan to stay here my next trip.

Room Tip: Face the Habor---
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AGM-HarbourViewInn, Guest Relations Manager at Harbourview Inn, responded to this review, May 11, 2012
Thank you for staying with us at the HarbourView Inn. We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to having you stay with us for your next trip to Charleston!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peoria, Illinois, United States
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2012

My husband and I stayed here last week. Beautiful place right in the heart of the historical downtown. Easy walk to everything you want to see - the Battery, the market etc. The staff was helpful and knowledgable. Our room was spacious and well appointed. Breakfast on the terrace was an enjoyable feature. When we go back, I will stay here again. Definitely recommend!!!!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AGM-HarbourViewInn, Guest Relations Manager at Harbourview Inn, responded to this review, April 30, 2012
Thank you for your review and for your kind words about our staff. This is the perfect time of year for breakfast outside on the Terrace. Thank you for choosing the HarbourView Inn. We look forward to hosting you during your next visit to Charleston.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marina del Rey
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2012

We arrived in Charleston without a reservation and knowing nothing about the town. The two young men at the front desk, Scott and Nathan, were incredibly courteous and helpful. They gave us a wonderful room and excellent recommendations for dinner.
The hotel is centrally located, beautifully furnished, well maintained and the staff are very friendly.
Sadly we only had one night in Charleston but we loved what we saw and we hope to return some time in the future. When we do return we will certainly stay at the Harbourview Inn again.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AGM-HarbourViewInn, Guest Relations Manager at Harbourview Inn, responded to this review, April 30, 2012
We are delighted that Scott and Nathan were able to provide you excellent service. We hope that you are able to return to the HarbourView Inn for a longer stay. We appreciate your review and look forward to your next trip to Charleston.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Harbourview Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbourview Inn

Address: 2 Vendue Range, Charleston, SC 29401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston > French Quarter
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Charleston
#5 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
#6 Luxury Hotel in Charleston
#16 Business Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Harbourview Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy unparalleled service and signature amenities from this AAA Four-Diamond and Condé Nast "Gold List Award" luxury hotel. Panoramic views, vast atriums and beautifully appointed guest rooms - some with private balconies, working fireplaces, and whirlpool tubs - await your arrival. From the moment you enter one of the most historic hotels in Charleston, SC, you will find modern features and services, old world charm and unpretentious Southern hospitality. The waterfront and atrium lobbies are reminiscent of Charleston's early years as a colonial nautical trading hub. They offer the perfect setting for idle reflection, a glass of wine or just the refined sport of people watching. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TravelClick, Travelocity, Priceline, BookIt.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Despegar.com, Otel, HotelTravel.com, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Harbourview Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harbourview Hotel Charleston
Harbour View Inn Charleston

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Harbourview Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.