We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home away from home while on business” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Andrew Pinckney Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Andrew Pinckney Inn to your Saves list
Andrew Pinckney Inn
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   40 Pinckney St, Charleston, SC 29401 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
15% OFF + Free Parking
Ranked #13 of 58 Hotels in Charleston
Charlotte
1 review
“Home away from home while on business”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

I've stayed at the Andrew Pinckney Inn several times while in Charleston for business and pleasure. There are other hotels which are not as nice and some which are overly extravagant. The Andrew Pinckney is a great combination of very nice while also providing a great value. The staff is great, the rooftop breakfast is better than I could ask for and I simply always enjoy my stay. I'd highly recommend whether for business or pleasure - a very comfortable place to stay for multiple days - a great home away from home!

  • Stayed January 2015, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

878 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    499
    252
    80
    32
    15
See reviews for
117
472
24
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (189)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Havelock
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

great location - excellent staff -very clean. could use BETTER QUALITY toilet paper!! good food - décor had a homey feeling - wine and cheese reception hour was very nice - enjoyed the rooftop terrace very much (nice touch)!

  • Stayed January 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Upon checking into the hotel we arrived very late and it was raining out. The woman at the front desk could not have been more helpful or done more to help us out. We checked into the room late and were very happy with the setup in the room as well as the comfort and the bathroom. We turned in right away and woke up to check out the included continental breakfast. It was on the roof of the hotel and was excellent. There was a great selection lf fruits, pastries and hot and cold snacks as well as biscuits and gravy and Grits and cereals. The location of the hotel is great for getting around the entire historic area. The hotel staff were very helpful at telling us where to go and what to see. The beds in the room were very comfortable and the sheets made sleeping great. Loved the hotel and the stay in Charleston

Stayed January 2015, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndrewPinckneyInn, General Manager at Andrew Pinckney Inn, responded to this review, yesterday
Thank you so much for taking the time to post the wonderful review of your recent stay at the Andrew Pinckney Inn. We certainly appreciate your comments as a Senior Contributor for Tripadvisor. So nice of you to recognize the friendliness and efficiency of our staff and all the wonderful amenities and services we have to offer our guest. We certainly look forward to seeing you again soon.

Thanks again,
Best Regards,
Barry Hutto
General Manager
Andrew Pinckney Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ncrunner
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Noise along the street below from garbage trucks and work trucks early in the morning. You can hear the guests talking through the wall. Clean room and good breakfast and happy hour. Decent view of the city. Comfortable bed.



  • Stayed January 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndrewPinckneyInn, General Manager at Andrew Pinckney Inn, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments. We are delighted to know how much you enjoyed our Rooftop Breakfast and Afternoon Reception. As you mentioned we are located in an urban environment that may result in some street noise but we continue to invest in the property with the installation of special sound proofing double pane windows in all guest rooms in hopes of reducing such concerns . Please keep us in mind when traveling to Charleston in the future.

Best Regards,
Barry Hutto
General Manager
Andrew Pinckney Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We recently visited Charleston for the second time and chose the Pinckney because of our enjoyable first stay. The staff was just as friendly and helpful this time. The room was still lovely and well appointed! Breakfast was even better than before, with quiches, delicious biscuits and gravy, croissants and more. The wine and cheese afternoon reception was a nice addition, and very well done. Our only concern was the computer in the business center. It was difficult to use and the printer was not functioning correctly. We let front desk staff know this and they offered to print whatever we needed, make reservations, and the like. Overall, a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed January 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndrewPinckneyInn, General Manager at Andrew Pinckney Inn, responded to this review, 2 days ago
What a delight to hear from our repeat guest and know that your second stay was even better than your first. So glad that you enjoyed the latest additions to our amenities and services such as the Afternoon Reception and expanded breakfast options. Thank you so much for your patronage. Please keep us in mind when visiting Charleston once again.

Best Regards,
Barry Hutto
General Manager
Andrew Pinckney Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Very accommodating to plans that had to changed at last minute. Central location with valet parking. Nice room and good breakfast. Staff very friendly and helpful. Good recommendations for dinners, both casual and upscale.

Stayed January 2015, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndrewPinckneyInn, General Manager at Andrew Pinckney Inn, responded to this review, 2 days ago
So nice to know that our staff was able to accommodate your last minute itinerary changes. Thank you so much for the kind words of our staff's friendliness and knowledge with their recommendations. Please keep us in mind when visiting Charleston in the future.

Best Regards,
Barry Hutto
General Manager
Andrew Pinckney Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My stay at the Andrew Pinckney Inn was very pleasant. The breakfast buffet was always stocked full of fruit, coffee, and biscuits and gravy, which is all a southern girl needs to start the day right. The location was excellent- downtown in the historic district, close to King Street for food and shopping as well as the Charleston market, Bay Street, and the carriages. It did not take too long to get there from the highway, which has access to the airport, outlets, and Publix all within a 20-30 minute drive. The staff was extremely friendly and was very helpful in allowing me to make the most of my stay in Charleston. I would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed January 2015, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndrewPinckneyInn, General Manager at Andrew Pinckney Inn, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Well thank you so much for the wonderful review of your recent stay at the Andrew Pinckney Inn. So nice to know how much you enjoyed our Rooftop Breakfast especially our "Southern Touch". As you mentioned our location is most convenient for shopping, dining and much more. We hope to see you again soon.

Best Regards
Barry Hutto
General Manager
Andrew Pinckney Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Andrew Pinckney Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Andrew Pinckney Inn

Address: 40 Pinckney St, Charleston, SC 29401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston > Downtown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Charleston
#9 Luxury Hotel in Charleston
#13 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
#16 Family Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Andrew Pinckney Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 41
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, BookIt.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, TravelClick, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Andrew Pinckney Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Andrew Pinckney Hotel Charleston
Andrew Pinckney Charleston

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Andrew Pinckney Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.