We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Andrew Pinckney Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Andrew Pinckney Inn to your Saves list
Andrew Pinckney Inn
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   40 Pinckney St, Charleston, SC 29401   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Lowest Rate Guaranteed!
Ranked #17 of 59 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great location and service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

Great location and service. Nice breakfast on charming rooftop terrace. Rooms on the small side and ours did not have a window. The multifloor open area in the middle of the hotel made for a bit of a noise problem.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Michelle V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,238 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Woodhaven.Michigan
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

Charleston is a great city worth visiting again and again. The Pinckney Inn was a perfect choice for our first time in town. Great location within walking distance or a nice pedicab ride to everything we needed. The City Market Square, restaurants, entertainment and bars were all within a few blocks. The Inn also offered roof top breakfasts, with a great view of the city, including the cruise ship dock. I did not realize that Charleston was a destination city. Some of the locals found out that being a destination city was not all good when several thousand tourists flooded their city at once. The suite we stayed in fit our needs as we were traveling with friends and were able to share the cost. The staff did an excellent job of greeting us and loading and unloading our cars. A time worth repeating.

Room Tip: The building across the street from the lobby has an elevator. The rooms in the building with the lo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rdusi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndrewPinckneyInn, General Manager at Andrew Pinckney Inn, responded to this review, April 27, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post the wonderful comments of your recent stay at the Andrew Pinckney Inn. As you mentioned the location is prime for experiencing the historic charm of Charleston. It is always rewarding to hear that our staff was not only welcoming but accommodating to your needs during your stay. We hope that you will indeed be a repeat guest of the Andrew Pinckney Inn. Thank you again for your kind words. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Best Regards,
Barry Hutto
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria
Level Contributor
74 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

Must agree the lobby area is a pleasant change from the norm and the breakfast effort is notable. The problem with this place is that for a nightly rate of $300 for a solo traveller one expects some amenities such as a cupboard/wardrobe or armoire. No such thing in room 202. One can rest one's. head on the pillow and gaze at your suitcase as there is nowhere to put it. There is the iron and ironing board in the corner of the room resting on the rack attached to the wall which brings back college dorm memories. There is no supply of bathrobes. The window, which I had unlike a reviewer who did note she didn't even have an external one, provided a view of a blank pink stucco wall across the street. No, for $300 a night, management edges very close to ripoff in setting the rate on room 202.

Room Tip: Avoid 202 and perhaps have a video of the proposed room sent to you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank qwertVictoria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndrewPinckneyInn, General Manager at Andrew Pinckney Inn, responded to this review, April 27, 2013
Thank you for posting your honest evaluation of your accommodations and experience when staying at the Andrew Pinckney Inn. We greatly value our guest's feedback and most often make enhancements to services and accommodations based upon our guests input. Please keep in mind that we have various room types and therefore perhaps more suitable accommodations to your liking when visiting Charleston in the future. Thank you again for your critique and patronage..

Best Regards,
Barry Hutto
General Manager
Andrew Pinckney Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

I booked my stay on a discount website and when I called to confirm the reservation, I found out the room reserved was too small. The staff was very honest with me and gave me their opinion regarding to comfort in the room and were willing to work with me if I was able to find a larger room elsewhere since they were fully booked for the weekend. It seemed all of Charleston was booked while we were there so we thought we would just tough it out in a small room. Upon checking in, they were able to give us a larger room the first night and then put us in a Queen size room the second night. They moved all of our luggage for us while we were out for the day so we didn't have to worry about anything. The breakfast was very good. All of the staff we met were friendly, professional and very pleasant. The location is terrific as well!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank scally12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oak Park, Illinois
Level Contributor
49 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

Loved this place. It is within walking distance to everything and as a result we didn't need a car. It is small, quaint and clean with nicely furnished rooms. They efficiently accommodated a room change at our friend's request as well as tended to a slow draining sink. The service was excellent. A full complimentary breakfast was served daily on the roof stop terrace. In the afternoon, there are freshly baked treats in the hotel lobby along with coffee and tea. The staff at the front desk are friendly and helpful and also assisted us with cabs and dinner reservations. The housekeeping staff are competent and friendly as well. We were extremely pleased with our stay and were glad that we chose the Pinckney Inn for service, accommodations and location.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Louise2525
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndrewPinckneyInn, General Manager at Andrew Pinckney Inn, responded to this review, April 27, 2013
We are delighted to hear how much you enjoyed your recent stay with us at the Andrew Pinckney Inn. As you mentioned our location is ideal for shopping, dinning and touring within the heart of the historic district and much more. Thanks again for taking the time to post your comments.

Best Regards,
Barry Hutto
General Manager
Andrew Pinckney Inn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valdosta, Georgia, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

I came to Charleston for my bachelorette party with a group of girls and we stayed in the townhouse suite, the staff was great!!! All of our needs were taken care of above and beyond expectation and everyone did it with a smile. A huge thanks to the staff for a great weekend. Will stay there again on the next trip to Charleston!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Amanda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndrewPinckneyInn, General Manager at Andrew Pinckney Inn, responded to this review, April 27, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post comments of the wonderful experience our entire staff provided for you on your recent stay. The Townhouse Suites are wonderful accommodations for such special occasions as you celebrated on your recent trip to Charleston and the Andrew Pinckney Inn. We look forward to seeing you again for other special occasions in the future.

Best Regards,
Barry Hutto
General Manager
Andrew Pinckney Inn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lubbock, Texas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

Perfect location for walking to almost everything. Close to carriage rides and pedicabs. Staff was wonderful! The breakfast on the rooftop was great. Rooms were quaint and clean. Perfect historic hotel to end our trip!!!!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WeBFoodies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndrewPinckneyInn, General Manager at Andrew Pinckney Inn, responded to this review, April 27, 2013
Wow...we are appreciative of your kind words for the Andrew Pinckney Inn. It is our sincere goal to continue offering you the "Perfect Stay" in every way in the future. As you mentioned our location is second to done and the various amenities and services we offer make for a fine choice in our beautiful city.

Best Regards,
Barry Hutto
General Manager
Andrew Pinckney Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charleston hotels
King Charles Inn
#16 of 59 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 stars 2,309 reviews
French Quarter Inn
#1 of 59 in Charleston
5.0 of 5 stars 2,275 reviews
French Quarter
The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Belmond Charleston Place
#18 of 59 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 stars 2,419 reviews
Francis Marion Hotel
#28 of 59 in Charleston
4.0 of 5 stars 2,111 reviews
French Quarter
Harbourview Inn
Harbourview Inn
#8 of 59 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 stars 1,607 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Andrew Pinckney Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Andrew Pinckney Inn

Address: 40 Pinckney St, Charleston, SC 29401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#12 Business Hotel in Charleston
#12 Luxury Hotel in Charleston
#12 Family Hotel in Charleston
#14 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:4 star — Andrew Pinckney Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 41
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire and Odigeo so you can book your Andrew Pinckney Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Andrew Pinckney Hotel Charleston
Andrew Pinckney Charleston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing