We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay worth repeating.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Andrew Pinckney Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Andrew Pinckney Inn to your Saves list
Andrew Pinckney Inn
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   40 Pinckney St, Charleston, SC 29401 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
15% OFF + Free Parking
Ranked #14 of 57 Hotels in Charleston
Woodhaven.Michigan
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Stay worth repeating.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

Charleston is a great city worth visiting again and again. The Pinckney Inn was a perfect choice for our first time in town. Great location within walking distance or a nice pedicab ride to everything we needed. The City Market Square, restaurants, entertainment and bars were all within a few blocks. The Inn also offered roof top breakfasts, with a great view of the city, including the cruise ship dock. I did not realize that Charleston was a destination city. Some of the locals found out that being a destination city was not all good when several thousand tourists flooded their city at once. The suite we stayed in fit our needs as we were traveling with friends and were able to share the cost. The staff did an excellent job of greeting us and loading and unloading our cars. A time worth repeating.

Room Tip: The building across the street from the lobby has an elevator. The rooms in the building with the lo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndrewPinckneyInn, General Manager at Andrew Pinckney Inn, responded to this review, April 27, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post the wonderful comments of your recent stay at the Andrew Pinckney Inn. As you mentioned the location is prime for experiencing the historic charm of Charleston. It is always rewarding to hear that our staff was not only welcoming but accommodating to your needs during your stay. We hope that you will indeed be a repeat guest of the Andrew Pinckney Inn. Thank you again for your kind words. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Best Regards,
Barry Hutto
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

847 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    476
    244
    80
    32
    15
See reviews for
115
455
24
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (187)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Victoria
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

Must agree the lobby area is a pleasant change from the norm and the breakfast effort is notable. The problem with this place is that for a nightly rate of $300 for a solo traveller one expects some amenities such as a cupboard/wardrobe or armoire. No such thing in room 202. One can rest one's. head on the pillow and gaze at your suitcase as there is nowhere to put it. There is the iron and ironing board in the corner of the room resting on the rack attached to the wall which brings back college dorm memories. There is no supply of bathrobes. The window, which I had unlike a reviewer who did note she didn't even have an external one, provided a view of a blank pink stucco wall across the street. No, for $300 a night, management edges very close to ripoff in setting the rate on room 202.

Room Tip: Avoid 202 and perhaps have a video of the proposed room sent to you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndrewPinckneyInn, General Manager at Andrew Pinckney Inn, responded to this review, April 27, 2013
Thank you for posting your honest evaluation of your accommodations and experience when staying at the Andrew Pinckney Inn. We greatly value our guest's feedback and most often make enhancements to services and accommodations based upon our guests input. Please keep in mind that we have various room types and therefore perhaps more suitable accommodations to your liking when visiting Charleston in the future. Thank you again for your critique and patronage..

Best Regards,
Barry Hutto
General Manager
Andrew Pinckney Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

I booked my stay on a discount website and when I called to confirm the reservation, I found out the room reserved was too small. The staff was very honest with me and gave me their opinion regarding to comfort in the room and were willing to work with me if I was able to find a larger room elsewhere since they were fully booked for the weekend. It seemed all of Charleston was booked while we were there so we thought we would just tough it out in a small room. Upon checking in, they were able to give us a larger room the first night and then put us in a Queen size room the second night. They moved all of our luggage for us while we were out for the day so we didn't have to worry about anything. The breakfast was very good. All of the staff we met were friendly, professional and very pleasant. The location is terrific as well!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oak Park, Illinois
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

Loved this place. It is within walking distance to everything and as a result we didn't need a car. It is small, quaint and clean with nicely furnished rooms. They efficiently accommodated a room change at our friend's request as well as tended to a slow draining sink. The service was excellent. A full complimentary breakfast was served daily on the roof stop terrace. In the afternoon, there are freshly baked treats in the hotel lobby along with coffee and tea. The staff at the front desk are friendly and helpful and also assisted us with cabs and dinner reservations. The housekeeping staff are competent and friendly as well. We were extremely pleased with our stay and were glad that we chose the Pinckney Inn for service, accommodations and location.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndrewPinckneyInn, General Manager at Andrew Pinckney Inn, responded to this review, April 27, 2013
We are delighted to hear how much you enjoyed your recent stay with us at the Andrew Pinckney Inn. As you mentioned our location is ideal for shopping, dinning and touring within the heart of the historic district and much more. Thanks again for taking the time to post your comments.

Best Regards,
Barry Hutto
General Manager
Andrew Pinckney Inn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valdosta, Georgia, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

I came to Charleston for my bachelorette party with a group of girls and we stayed in the townhouse suite, the staff was great!!! All of our needs were taken care of above and beyond expectation and everyone did it with a smile. A huge thanks to the staff for a great weekend. Will stay there again on the next trip to Charleston!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndrewPinckneyInn, General Manager at Andrew Pinckney Inn, responded to this review, April 27, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post comments of the wonderful experience our entire staff provided for you on your recent stay. The Townhouse Suites are wonderful accommodations for such special occasions as you celebrated on your recent trip to Charleston and the Andrew Pinckney Inn. We look forward to seeing you again for other special occasions in the future.

Best Regards,
Barry Hutto
General Manager
Andrew Pinckney Inn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lubbock, Texas
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

Perfect location for walking to almost everything. Close to carriage rides and pedicabs. Staff was wonderful! The breakfast on the rooftop was great. Rooms were quaint and clean. Perfect historic hotel to end our trip!!!!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndrewPinckneyInn, General Manager at Andrew Pinckney Inn, responded to this review, April 27, 2013
Wow...we are appreciative of your kind words for the Andrew Pinckney Inn. It is our sincere goal to continue offering you the "Perfect Stay" in every way in the future. As you mentioned our location is second to done and the various amenities and services we offer make for a fine choice in our beautiful city.

Best Regards,
Barry Hutto
General Manager
Andrew Pinckney Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arcadia, California
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

We found this property on Trip Advisor and it was exactly as advertised. It is a converted historic home and building. The staff was terrific and very helpful. Breakfast is substantial, house prepared and served on a nice balcony overlooking the city. The location is the best part of this Inn. They are one block from the carriage tours of Charleston which we highly recommend. They are also one block from the marketplace that covers several blocks. It was easy to walk around the historic district and to dinner. Parking can be problematic, so this is a major benefit. The desk manager was knowledgeable about the city, its restaurants and attractions. He was more than willing to make reservations for us. They even had umbrellas our to lend when the weather turned wet. All in all, fairly priced and a nice diversion from the mainstream lodging model.

Room Tip: There is the original inn and an annex building. Both are nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndrewPinckneyInn, General Manager at Andrew Pinckney Inn, responded to this review, April 27, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments for other potential guest to view. We are delighted to know that you had a wonderful experience at the Andrew Pinckney Inn when recently visiting our beautiful city. As you mentioned, parking can be problematic in the historic district but with our Valet Parking Service and our central location in the historic district it makes for great ease to walk to dinner, do a little shopping or simply take a romantic stroll without moving your vehicle..

Best Regards,
Barry Hutto
General Manager
Andrew Pinckney Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Andrew Pinckney Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Andrew Pinckney Inn

Address: 40 Pinckney St, Charleston, SC 29401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston > Downtown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Charleston
#12 Business Hotel in Charleston
#15 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
#16 Family Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Andrew Pinckney Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 41
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, BookIt.com, TravelClick, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Andrew Pinckney Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Andrew Pinckney Hotel Charleston
Andrew Pinckney Charleston

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Andrew Pinckney Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.