We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect little gem.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Andrew Pinckney Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Andrew Pinckney Inn to your Saves list
Andrew Pinckney Inn
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   40 Pinckney St, Charleston, SC 29401 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
15% Off & FREE Valet
Ranked #14 of 58 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Crofton, Maryland
1 review
“Perfect little gem.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

My husband and I were in Charleston for the marathon... we had never been to Charleston before and fell in love. The Andrew Pinckney made it special. It's small, quaint, charming and suited us to a tee. It is close enough to everything so walking is easy and yet not in the thick of it with too much street noise. When we stayed they were renovating the building across the street so the breakfast buffet was not functioning... didn't matter... a charming lady brought us whatever we wanted right to our door. Like free room service. We would definitely stay here again... and btw... we travel with a military band around 100 days a year... suffice it to say, we know hotels :)

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndrewPinckneyInn, General Manager at Andrew Pinckney Inn, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Thank you so much for the beautiful review of your recent stay with us at the Andrew Pinckney Inn. As you mentioned, we were in the process of renovating our Church Street Building during your stay but we are days away from unvailing our sparkling new renovated bathrooms and other wonderfull enhancements to our guest rooms. We hope that you will return soon to experience the charm of Charleston and the Andrew Pinckney Inn.

Best Regards,
Barry Hutto
General Manager
Andrew Pinckney Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

933 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    532
    266
    84
    34
    17
See reviews for
124
507
26
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (196)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Lawrenceville, Georgia
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

Our first trip back to Charleston in many years and the staff at Andrew Pinckney truly helped make our long weekend memorable. They were generous with their time and effort to make it so. The town house was spacious and very comfortably decorated. We loved the little details included in our special package as well. From the very clean rooms, to friendly and conversational staff to the location--a block from the market--this is the perfect Charleston Inn. We will definitely be back and stay at the Andrew Pinckney Inn!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndrewPinckneyInn, General Manager at Andrew Pinckney Inn, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post the kind words of your recent stay at the Andrew Pinckney Inn. It is most rewarding to know that you found our staff to be warm, friendly and attentive to the details of your stay. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Best Regards,
Barry Hutto
General Manager
Andrew Pinckney Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

This is our second stay and the Andrew Pinckney and once again WONDERFUL! Come down to do some Christmas shopping and it's the perfect location as it is close to everything! Sandy once again was great with suggestions and ideas and of course his delicious hot breakfast! Ed at the front desk was fun and interesting and full of info about all the new restaurants opening. Valet, maids and breakfast lady were all part to making our stay the best!
Keep up the good work Andrew Pinckney Inn!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndrewPinckneyInn, General Manager at Andrew Pinckney Inn, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Wow, thank you for the kind words of our staff's service from the welcoming Valet, to our Guest Service Agents providing you with ideas and suggestions for your dinning and shopping during your Christmas Holidays in Charleston. We hope that you return soon to experience the continued enhancements on the property before next Christmas once again.

Best Regards,
Barry Hutto
General Manager
Andrew Pinckney Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winter Garden, Florida
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

I stayed here for my first visit to Charleston based off of TripAdvisor reviews and I wouldn't hesitate staying here every visit. We had an inside room (no windows to outside) but I think I actually preferred this because the room was pitch dark at night which made for a perfect nights sleep. The breakfast buffet was nice....im not really a breakfast food type of person to begin with but my husband is and he really enjoyed the food. You can go out onto the balcony at night which was pretty awesome to just relax and look out onto the city. The location was great...walking distance from everything we wanted but far enough that I didnt notice street noise. The staff was very friendly and I felt right at home. The only reason I didnt give it a 5 is because there was an odd smell during a couple of the days which could have been from the way the wind was blowing from the paper mills that are outside of the city so its not really the hotel's fault but depending on how often the smell comes to the area it could be a deterrent.

Room Tip: I really enjoyed the interior rooms and felt like they were darker and quieter because of the lack o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndrewPinckneyInn, General Manager at Andrew Pinckney Inn, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post comments of your recent stay with us at the Andrew Pinckney Inn. We are delighted to know that you "loved" your stay and enjoyed starting each day out on our Rooftop Terrace for our wonderful breakfast. We look forward to seeing you again in the near future.

Best Regards,
Barry Hutto
General Manager
Andrew Pinckney Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burnsville, North Carolina
Top Contributor
144 reviews 144 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

Friendly staff, pleasant room, nicer than our first visit. Too bad it was too cold and rainy to eat on the veranda. Patio heaters would have been great and also for later when enjoying our glass of wine in evening. Great location. Valet extremely friendly and helpful. The housekeeper actually wrote a thank you note for the tip! Damita, sweet and friendly and gave us extra time to get ourselves out and on our way in the morning. Left the car and never used it until we checked out. Hated to pay the $20.00 a day for the car parking. Whatever the price, be sure to include parking and many other taxes. We enjoyed our visit and will return. Fabulous places to eat withing walking distance.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndrewPinckneyInn, General Manager at Andrew Pinckney Inn, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Thank you for the kind words and the patronage of our inn. We appreciate and value our guest's ideas and suggestions as we continue further enhancements to the property. As a result of the suggestions of our guest we are in the process of reviewing the best ways to better condition the Rooftop Terrace space for chilly days and other inclimate weather conditions.

We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Best Regards,
Barry Hutto
General Manager
Andrew Pinckney Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

This hotel is located a block from the Market area - a perfect location - easy to walk to everything. The staff are very friendly and accommodating. We stayed in one of the two story townhouses and had plenty of room.

Room Tip: The townhouse rooms face the street - so there is a little street noise in the morning hours, but th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

This hotels is perfect if you want to stay in Historic Chaleston. It is located right off of market street and with in walking distance of everything. They also have a wonderful roof top continental breakfast. The staff was very helpful helping us find out what to do and where to eat. We loved this place and will definitely stay here again on our next visit to Charleston.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndrewPinckneyInn, General Manager at Andrew Pinckney Inn, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
We appreciate your kind words and your valuable time to post your comments on Tripadvisor.com. It is a delight to know that you enjoyed our breakfast each morning on our Rooftop Terrace and our most convenient location in the hiistoric district.for dinning, shopping and touring of our beautiful city.

We look forward to your return in the near future.

Best Regards,
Barry Hutto
General Manager
Andrew Pinckney Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Andrew Pinckney Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Andrew Pinckney Inn

Address: 40 Pinckney St, Charleston, SC 29401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston > Downtown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Charleston
#10 Luxury Hotel in Charleston
#14 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
#18 Family Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Andrew Pinckney Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 41
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, TravelClick, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Andrew Pinckney Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Andrew Pinckney Hotel Charleston
Andrew Pinckney Charleston

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Andrew Pinckney Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.