We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved this place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Andrew Pinckney Inn

Save Saved
You added Andrew Pinckney Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Andrew Pinckney Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   40 Pinckney St, Charleston, SC 29401 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
15% OFF + Free Parking
Ranked #17 of 54 hotels in Charleston
Winter Garden, Florida
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Loved this place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

I stayed here for my first visit to Charleston based off of TripAdvisor reviews and I wouldn't hesitate staying here every visit. We had an inside room (no windows to outside) but I think I actually preferred this because the room was pitch dark at night which made for a perfect nights sleep. The breakfast buffet was nice....im not really a breakfast food type of person to begin with but my husband is and he really enjoyed the food. You can go out onto the balcony at night which was pretty awesome to just relax and look out onto the city. The location was great...walking distance from everything we wanted but far enough that I didnt notice street noise. The staff was very friendly and I felt right at home. The only reason I didnt give it a 5 is because there was an odd smell during a couple of the days which could have been from the way the wind was blowing from the paper mills that are outside of the city so its not really the hotel's fault but depending on how often the smell comes to the area it could be a deterrent.

Room Tip: I really enjoyed the interior rooms and felt like they were darker and quieter because of the lack o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndrewPinckneyInn, General Manager at Andrew Pinckney Inn, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post comments of your recent stay with us at the Andrew Pinckney Inn. We are delighted to know that you "loved" your stay and enjoyed starting each day out on our Rooftop Terrace for our wonderful breakfast. We look forward to seeing you again in the near future.

Best Regards,
Barry Hutto
General Manager
Andrew Pinckney Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

744 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    405
    218
    77
    29
    15
See reviews for
102
391
21
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (169)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Burnsville, North Carolina
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

Friendly staff, pleasant room, nicer than our first visit. Too bad it was too cold and rainy to eat on the veranda. Patio heaters would have been great and also for later when enjoying our glass of wine in evening. Great location. Valet extremely friendly and helpful. The housekeeper actually wrote a thank you note for the tip! Damita, sweet and friendly and gave us extra time to get ourselves out and on our way in the morning. Left the car and never used it until we checked out. Hated to pay the $20.00 a day for the car parking. Whatever the price, be sure to include parking and many other taxes. We enjoyed our visit and will return. Fabulous places to eat withing walking distance.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndrewPinckneyInn, General Manager at Andrew Pinckney Inn, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Thank you for the kind words and the patronage of our inn. We appreciate and value our guest's ideas and suggestions as we continue further enhancements to the property. As a result of the suggestions of our guest we are in the process of reviewing the best ways to better condition the Rooftop Terrace space for chilly days and other inclimate weather conditions.

We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Best Regards,
Barry Hutto
General Manager
Andrew Pinckney Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

This hotel is located a block from the Market area - a perfect location - easy to walk to everything. The staff are very friendly and accommodating. We stayed in one of the two story townhouses and had plenty of room.

Room Tip: The townhouse rooms face the street - so there is a little street noise in the morning hours, but th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

This hotels is perfect if you want to stay in Historic Chaleston. It is located right off of market street and with in walking distance of everything. They also have a wonderful roof top continental breakfast. The staff was very helpful helping us find out what to do and where to eat. We loved this place and will definitely stay here again on our next visit to Charleston.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndrewPinckneyInn, General Manager at Andrew Pinckney Inn, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
We appreciate your kind words and your valuable time to post your comments on Tripadvisor.com. It is a delight to know that you enjoyed our breakfast each morning on our Rooftop Terrace and our most convenient location in the hiistoric district.for dinning, shopping and touring of our beautiful city.

We look forward to your return in the near future.

Best Regards,
Barry Hutto
General Manager
Andrew Pinckney Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

We were here for three nights and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The staff was accommodating and professional. They are undergoing a renovation of the annex (across the street) but the main building is not affected.

Nice, clean, comfortable rooms. Also, well located. This is a jewel!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndrewPinckneyInn, General Manager at Andrew Pinckney Inn, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Thank you for choosing the Andrew Pinckney Inn on your recent trip to Charleston. We are delighted to know how much you enjoyed your stay with us this January. As you mentioned, we were in the process of renovating our Church Street Building which features our RooftopTerrace, atruim and 32 guest rooms but we are glad to announce that we are just days away from relaunching our newly renovated guestrooms.

We hope to see you again soon!

Best Regards,
Barry Hutto
General Manager
Andrew Pinckney Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

I highly recommend this inn. Stayed three nights. I wanted a room that was clean, up-to-date and modernized but allowed us to enjoy the old city ambiance. The Andrew Pickney Inn was perfect. My husband and I travel a lot and usually at very fine hotels. The pros: modern plumbing, comfortable beds, like-new furnishings, quiet, strong water pressure; big tvs; breakfast on site (fresh fruit, typical Charleston weak coffee, juice, fruit yogurt, cereals, biscuits and gravy, and store-bought muffins and croissants); the nicest staff possible; location. We could walk everywhere and I liked that we were in a quieter edge of the hub bub. Cons: showers/no tubs in the king room and in the townhouse; no magnifying mirror in bathroom. Really,nothing to complain about, and lots to love.

Room Tip: The townhouse was great for our family---one adult son traveling with his parents.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013 via mobile

This place is pretty small (the hotel not the rooms) and the rooms are nothing special but the service, location, and breakfast were fantastic!!! Everyone we interacted with associated with the hotel was friendly, helpful, and wanted to make our stay perfect. The location was also amazing just one block over from market street and nice and quiet. It was in perfect walking distance for everything we wanted to do. The breakfast was also great. We had French toast, great biscuits and gravy, and my husband couldn't stop going on about their coffee. Breakfast is served on a wonderful patio overlooking downtown which is really nice too. We also loved that they valet your car for $20 with unlimited in and out even on day of checkout and hot tea, coffee, and snacks in the lobby throughout the day. We have stayed in Charleston numerous times in different places and this was our best stay by far. We will definitely be back.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Andrew Pinckney Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Andrew Pinckney Inn

Address: 40 Pinckney St, Charleston, SC 29401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston > Downtown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#17 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
#17 Business Hotel in Charleston
#21 Family Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Andrew Pinckney Inn 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with GCommerce Solutions, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Tingo, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Andrew Pinckney Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Andrew Pinckney Hotel Charleston
Andrew Pinckney Charleston

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Andrew Pinckney Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.