We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Charleston Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Andrew Pinckney Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Andrew Pinckney Inn to your Saves list
Andrew Pinckney Inn
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   40 Pinckney St, Charleston, SC 29401   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Lowest Rate Guaranteed!
Ranked #17 of 59 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Asheville, North Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Charleston Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

This hotel is located a block from the Market area - a perfect location - easy to walk to everything. The staff are very friendly and accommodating. We stayed in one of the two story townhouses and had plenty of room.

Room Tip: The townhouse rooms face the street - so there is a little street noise in the morning hours, but th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pledse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,235 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
58 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

This hotels is perfect if you want to stay in Historic Chaleston. It is located right off of market street and with in walking distance of everything. They also have a wonderful roof top continental breakfast. The staff was very helpful helping us find out what to do and where to eat. We loved this place and will definitely stay here again on our next visit to Charleston.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jreeves1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndrewPinckneyInn, General Manager at Andrew Pinckney Inn, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
We appreciate your kind words and your valuable time to post your comments on Tripadvisor.com. It is a delight to know that you enjoyed our breakfast each morning on our Rooftop Terrace and our most convenient location in the hiistoric district.for dinning, shopping and touring of our beautiful city.

We look forward to your return in the near future.

Best Regards,
Barry Hutto
General Manager
Andrew Pinckney Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
77 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

We were here for three nights and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The staff was accommodating and professional. They are undergoing a renovation of the annex (across the street) but the main building is not affected.

Nice, clean, comfortable rooms. Also, well located. This is a jewel!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank parkietx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndrewPinckneyInn, General Manager at Andrew Pinckney Inn, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Thank you for choosing the Andrew Pinckney Inn on your recent trip to Charleston. We are delighted to know how much you enjoyed your stay with us this January. As you mentioned, we were in the process of renovating our Church Street Building which features our RooftopTerrace, atruim and 32 guest rooms but we are glad to announce that we are just days away from relaunching our newly renovated guestrooms.

We hope to see you again soon!

Best Regards,
Barry Hutto
General Manager
Andrew Pinckney Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

I highly recommend this inn. Stayed three nights. I wanted a room that was clean, up-to-date and modernized but allowed us to enjoy the old city ambiance. The Andrew Pickney Inn was perfect. My husband and I travel a lot and usually at very fine hotels. The pros: modern plumbing, comfortable beds, like-new furnishings, quiet, strong water pressure; big tvs; breakfast on site (fresh fruit, typical Charleston weak coffee, juice, fruit yogurt, cereals, biscuits and gravy, and store-bought muffins and croissants); the nicest staff possible; location. We could walk everywhere and I liked that we were in a quieter edge of the hub bub. Cons: showers/no tubs in the king room and in the townhouse; no magnifying mirror in bathroom. Really,nothing to complain about, and lots to love.

Room Tip: The townhouse was great for our family---one adult son traveling with his parents.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank warmsonoma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013 via mobile

This place is pretty small (the hotel not the rooms) and the rooms are nothing special but the service, location, and breakfast were fantastic!!! Everyone we interacted with associated with the hotel was friendly, helpful, and wanted to make our stay perfect. The location was also amazing just one block over from market street and nice and quiet. It was in perfect walking distance for everything we wanted to do. The breakfast was also great. We had French toast, great biscuits and gravy, and my husband couldn't stop going on about their coffee. Breakfast is served on a wonderful patio overlooking downtown which is really nice too. We also loved that they valet your car for $20 with unlimited in and out even on day of checkout and hot tea, coffee, and snacks in the lobby throughout the day. We have stayed in Charleston numerous times in different places and this was our best stay by far. We will definitely be back.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank swskat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Timonium, Maryland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

My family and I stayed at the Pinckey for the weekend. Service from the staff was great . Rooms clean, Breakfast nice and hot. Everyone there was very helpful in giving directions around town and places to eat. Lisa in housekeeping nice lady, At the frontdesk Jeff, Andrew, and Ed all very helpful. The valets Carl,and Drew "THE BEST". and Jerome (houseman) also did a nice job. This Inn is a MUST STAY in my book.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank loescher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seymour, Indiana
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

My boyfriend and I orginally planned on only staying 2 nights at this hotel (since weekend rates are much higher!) but then once we got there they gave us a great weekend deal that we ended up staying 3 nights instead. They were so helpful and friendly when it came to dining options as well other tourist options. Our room was always clean and the breakfast was great each morning! Great location as well! We would definitely stay there again! We were sad to leave.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Courtney R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charleston hotels
King Charles Inn
#16 of 59 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 stars 2,300 reviews
French Quarter Inn
#1 of 59 in Charleston
5.0 of 5 stars 2,267 reviews
French Quarter
The Vendue
The Vendue
#12 of 59 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 stars 1,578 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Belmond Charleston Place
#18 of 59 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 stars 2,407 reviews
Francis Marion Hotel
#28 of 59 in Charleston
4.0 of 5 stars 2,101 reviews
French Quarter
Harbourview Inn
Harbourview Inn
#7 of 59 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 stars 1,606 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Andrew Pinckney Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Andrew Pinckney Inn

Address: 40 Pinckney St, Charleston, SC 29401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in Charleston
#12 Business Hotel in Charleston
#12 Luxury Hotel in Charleston
#14 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:4 star — Andrew Pinckney Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 41
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Odigeo and Hotwire so you can book your Andrew Pinckney Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Andrew Pinckney Hotel Charleston
Andrew Pinckney Charleston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing