We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Staff was great” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Andrew Pinckney Inn

Save Saved
You added Andrew Pinckney Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Andrew Pinckney Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   40 Pinckney St, Charleston, SC 29401 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Signature Sweetheart
Ranked #17 of 54 hotels in Charleston
helena, mt
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Staff was great”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

My sister and I recently spent a week in Charleston and stayed at the Andrew Pinckney Inn. The staff was some of the nicest and most helpful that we have dealt with in our travels. The location was great-we were close to everything. Everyone we met was polite and friendly. "Southern Hospitality" at its best!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndrewPinckneyInn, General Manager at Andrew Pinckney Inn, responded to this review, December 14, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post comments of your recent stay at the Andrew Pinckney Inn. It is a delight to know that you found our staff to be most accommodating and a fine example of " Southern Hospitality" We look forward to seeing you again in the near future.

Best Regards,
Barry Hutto
General Manager
Andrew Pinckney Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

704 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    385
    202
    73
    29
    15
See reviews for
94
373
20
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (149)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Clane, Ireland
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

OK, "Average" (the descriptor for 3 stars) might be fractionally harsh , but Trip Advisor has this awful gap between "Average" and its 4 star rating, which is "Very Good" -and despite all the 5 star ratings others have given I find it it hard to describe our experience as in the Andrew Pinckney as "Very Good". "Good", maybe.Or maybe we are being too fussy? Positives: great location right in the centre of Charleston; its old fashioned ambience; the atrium space where our room was and the wonderful breakfast location ,in the open- air looking over the city. Terrific. Neutral: the staff; some Ok some less so. Negatives: Expensive for the room we had, which was small and had a tiny outside window-unimpressive, but I am sure there are better rooms there.Breakfast, where every cereal had raisins, which for a raisin hater was annoying (staff found my raising this issue to be tiresome I think!) and quite frankly had nothing of interest anyway.Poor. Also a negative was the way each day all soaps etc were changed for new ones. What an absolute waste! We tried to say that we were happy to use the same soap for a few days, but the staff found this difficult to handle. It was a hotel that I felt we should have liked, but somehow we just did not. Even the tour recommended by the hotel was not as enjoyable as we normally found tours to be- the bus was distinctly poor and the guide, though not terrible,was just not as funny as he thought he was. 1.5 hours was quite enough of him I thought.I know this review goes against what others have said and I cannot say it was awful- it was far from that. Just that I thought it did not live up to its promise - or its price-and just did not "click" for us anyway. These things can be subjective at times. Major positive, though, is the excellent location- its just the feeling somehow that you cannot live on that ever.

Room Tip: Get there early to give yourself a better choice or room than we had.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndrewPinckneyInn, General Manager at Andrew Pinckney Inn, responded to this review, December 14, 2012
We value our guest's feedback & comments and do appreciate you taking the time to share yours with us. Please keep in mind we have several different room types of various shapes, sizes and views and perhaps on your next visit we may arrange another room type more suitable to your liking. We are disappointed to hear that you did not enjoy our complimentary Rooftop Breakfast and we will review you concerns about a better cereal selection. We hope you give us the opportunity in the future to exceed your expectations when visiting Charleston.

Best Regards,
Barry Hutto
General Manager
Andrew Pinckney Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012 via mobile

Great hotel in a great location. Got to our room upon check-in and it smelled smokey. Called down to the desk and they handled it great . Moved us to an up grade townhouse, no questions asked. Bed was very comfortable-management, what is brand and model of mattress? Getting ready to buy one for our house and it was that good. Fresh cookies each afternoon was also a nice touch. Breakfast included in price of room was wonderful both days.
Thanks to all at Andrew Pinckney for making our stay great. We stayed in #216 in 11/26 and 11/27.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndrewPinckneyInn, General Manager at Andrew Pinckney Inn, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post the wonderful comments of your recent stay at the Andrew Pinckney Inn. We take great pride in assisting our guest in order to make for a most pleasant stay. Glad to hear that you not only enjoyed the Andrew Pinckney but the fine suggestions made by our staff for dining in Charleston.

Happy Holiday's!

Barry Hutto
General Manager
Andrew Pinckney Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New England
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

This was not our first visit to this hotel. As always, the entire staff did a great job. They were friendly and gave us excellent service. Special thanks go out to Carl for being so friendly, and quickly fixing the problems we had with the room. This hotel is right in the middle of all the best Charleston has to offer. It is a little bit of a walk to the restaurants we like on King Street. (Pane e Vino is one you should check out). But all the good spots on East Bay Street are an easy walk. The hotel is clean and is very well kept. The rooms are a little on the small side, but that is no big deal when you take into consideration the location of the hotel and how well appointed the rooms are. The roof top terrace is a great spot for your morning breakfast or relaxing in the evening with a bottle of wine. You will not regret staying here.

Room Tip: Rooms away from the street are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndrewPinckneyInn, General Manager at Andrew Pinckney Inn, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
First let me thank you for your patronage of the Andrew Pinckney Inn. We are delighted to know how much you enjoy staying with us because of our ideal location as we are situated in the heart of the historic district and surrounded with fine dining, shopping and other conveniences. I will gladly acknowledge our staff for the job well done especially those mentioned in your posting.
We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Enjoy the Holidays!

Best Regards,
Barry Hutto
General Manager
Andrew Pinckney Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

From Lisa, to Carl, and Jeff, this hotel understands what service means. Great location in the heart of Charleston, but just far enough off the beaten path to be quiet. Older Hotel so you are going to hear the other guests, but great rooms. Great Inn, great people!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndrewPinckneyInn, General Manager at Andrew Pinckney Inn, responded to this review, November 24, 2012
There are no finer rewards than hearing comments from our guest such as yours of our service. We are delighted to know that you enjoyed the convenience of our location, accommodations and amenities. We appreciate your kind words.

Best Regards,
Barry Hutto
General Manager
Andrew Pinckney Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
encinitas
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

Not knowing what to expect we were thrilled with our stay in Charleston, and especially pleased with the Andrew Pinckney Inn. The decor draws from a Caribbean influence, the beds are fantastic, the rooftop breakfast balcony has a great view and you really feel like you've arrived in another place. The staff was extremely helpful with tours, restaurant suggestions and historical info. Charleston is like a cleaner, more friendly New Orleans with better food...really!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndrewPinckneyInn, General Manager at Andrew Pinckney Inn, responded to this review, November 24, 2012
What a pleasure to know that we exceeded your expectations on your recent visit to Charleston. We are fortunate to be a part of the #1 voted destination city in the world by Conde Nast. Thank you for taking the time to post your comments for other potential hotel guest to view. We hope that you will choose to stay at the Andrew Pinckney Inn once again when visitng Charleston in the future.

Best Regards
Barry Hutto
General Manager
Andrew Pinckney Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Alabama
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

The Andrew Pinckney Inn is in a great location and serves a robust breakfast with different selections daily and my favorite - always fresh fruit. Everything - restaurants, shopping, historic are all within an easy walk. We never used our car during the long weekend. We were in newer building across the street from original inn. Clean, low noise, very comfortable and plenty of room. Our car was valet parked in lot directly behind the inn $20 day. Also, we were within a quick walk of TD Arena.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndrewPinckneyInn, General Manager at Andrew Pinckney Inn, responded to this review, November 24, 2012
We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us at the Andrew Pinckney Inn. As you mentioned the location is most ideal for shopping, dining and touring without having to move your vehicle after our Valet Attendant has parked your vehicle for you. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Best Regards,
Barry Hutto
General Manager
Andrew Pinckney Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Andrew Pinckney Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Andrew Pinckney Inn

Also Known As:
Andrew Pinckney Hotel Charleston
Andrew Pinckney Charleston
Andrew Pinckney Hotel
Address: 40 Pinckney St, Charleston, SC 29401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston > Downtown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#11 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
#21 Family Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Andrew Pinckney Inn 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Tingo, Priceline, Hotels.com, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Andrew Pinckney Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Andrew Pinckney Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.