We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best luxury hotel in historic area especially with corporate discount” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Andrew Pinckney Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Andrew Pinckney Inn to your Saves list
Andrew Pinckney Inn
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   40 Pinckney St, Charleston, SC 29401 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
15% OFF + Free Parking
Ranked #15 of 57 Hotels in Charleston
Northport, Alabama
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
“Best luxury hotel in historic area especially with corporate discount”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here with little notice after being forced to travel to Charleston from NYC when our cruise ship couldn't dock there due to damage by hurricane Sandy. We love Charleston, but it was supposed to be a port stop, and not a place to spend two unplanned nights until we could board our cruise ship.
We selected the Andrew Pinckney inn after considering several others. Since we were doing this with only a smart phone while we waited for our flights to Charleston.
The reviews of this hotel were great and combined that with the superb location and fantastic corporate rate, it was an easy choice. Upon arrival at the inn and after staying here, the only reason I'm not rating as a 5 is because it's in a historic buildings, there are creaky wood floors and the walls are thin. Otherwise it is everything you'd expect from a luxury 5-star boutique hotel-except the high price tag is not present here.
Service is excellent and love the homemade cookies in the afternoon.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndrewPinckneyInn, General Manager at Andrew Pinckney Inn, responded to this review, November 2, 2012
Thank you for selecting the Andrew Pinckney Inn. We are delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay with us prior to boarding for your Cruise. We hope that you will be back again to enjoy our beautiful city and the Andrew Pinckney Inn.

Best Regards,
Barry Hutto
General Manager
Andrew Pinckney Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

846 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    475
    244
    80
    32
    15
See reviews for
115
454
24
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (187)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Daytona Beach, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

My husband and I spent several days in Charleston, and would stay again at the Andrew Pinckney Inn. The buildings were historical and charming, the beds were super comfortable, and the staff was cheerful, helpful, and mannerly truly showing that Old Southern Hospitality that makes you want to come back again. The free breakfast on the upper terrace overlooking the harbor was more than adequate even with biscuits and sausage gravy and an egg and cheese casserole. My husband left something very valuable to him in the room, and they found it and sent it to him!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndrewPinckneyInn, General Manager at Andrew Pinckney Inn, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
We are delighted to hear that you had a most enjoyable stay with us at the Andrew Pinckney Inn.
It is great to know that we were able to retrieve your lost valuable items and have them shipped to you promptly. Thanks again for taking the time to post your comments on Tripadvisor.com. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Best Regards,
Barry Hutto
General Manager
Andrew Pinckney Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
US
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

You can walk to anywhere downtown from this location. The hotel is split between three buildings (two on one side of the street and the other directly across the street). The check-in is at the main building in a small great room. No checking in at some huge high countered front desk but at a regular desk. Located in the main building are complimentary hot drinks, water, lemonade, and cookies. The cookies are only available at a certain time of the day.

Sandy and his crew at Andrew Pinckney were so friendly and helped us with arranging a private carriage ride that picked us up right outside the inn.

We stayed in the main building upstairs on the back side of the building. Our room was small but nice and plenty of room for just two people. I would try to avoid a room on the first floor of the yellow buildings as they didn't look as if they had any type of view at all.

There is a free continental breakfast at the building across the street. We loved sitting outside in the mornings overlooking Charleston waking up. We were always early and never had any problem with finding a table outside. There is more seating downstairs in the atrium area. One suggestion I would make is to have a complimentary beer and wine reception in the evenings for guests in the outdoor seating area and atrium.

We will definitely recommend this inn to anyone we know going to visit Charleston.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndrewPinckneyInn, General Manager at Andrew Pinckney Inn, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post comments of your recent stay at the Andrew Pinckney Inn. We are delighted to know that you found our staff to be most friendly and accommodating. As you mentioned, what a wonderful way to begin your morning in Charleston with our breakfast and a cup of fresh hot coffee on our Rooftop Terrace overlooking the Market. We hope to see you again in the near future.

Best Regards,
Barry Hutto
General Manager
Andrew Pinckney Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

This was one of the nicest, quaintest hotels in the beauiful city of Charleston. It is centrally located and within walking and/or biking distance to all of the sites, restaurants, and places of interest.

There are several great features about this hotel. First, is its rooftop veranda where our friends met every evening for cocktails while overlooking a beautiful view of the city (* note, the hotel bar does not have a bar so we brought our own alcohol). Second, is the veranda is where a full complimentary breakfast is served each morning. Breakfast consists of everything from Southern fare to fruits, bagels, and other breakfast items (* despite not having a restaurant, the hotel does bring in a full complimentary breakfast). Last, but not least, the staff is wonderful. Every person we interacted with was warm, cheerful, and completely accomodating.

You will not go wrong staying at the Andrew Pinckney Inn.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndrewPinckneyInn, General Manager at Andrew Pinckney Inn, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
It is most rewarding to receive comments such as yours from guest staying at the Andrew Pinckney Inn. We pride ourselves in taking good care of our guest and appreciate the opportunities you give us to do so. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Best Regards,
Barry Hutto
General Manager
Andrew Pinckney Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012 via mobile

This is our second year visiting Charleston in October for our Anniversary. I have always depended on trip advisor for my hotel picks & to be fair the reviews have all been pretty good for the Andrew Pinckney Inn. However, my husband being the world traveler for business he's more of a hotel junky than myself. With both of our opinions combined we give this place 3 1/2 stars. The location couldn't be more of a central location if they tried. Literally one block from the market & in the middle of King Street & Main Street. We did not use a vehicle our entire stay. The service was great. The valet/bell hop guys were great (minus being a Jets fan Paul..totally kidding you were awesome) but all jokes aside great service by all of them. The desk attendants were super nice. We only came in counter with Sandy and I believe it's Keith or Kevin (sorry I forget the correct name). I read reviews about there being waffles but that was not offered when we stayed. We had your typical hot continental breakfast. Biscuit & Gravy, Egg Soufle, Danishes, Cereal, Yogurt, Fruit & Bagels. My personal opinion is instead of using generic jam/jelly & regular butter use some of the local jams & butter. As far as the room goes we originally were in a room with no window & they moved our room without hesitation...again this goes with the great customer service that was offered. However, this is an old building, the rooms are not entirely carpeted & have the original old wood floors. Don't get me wrong it definitely adds character but you hear everything. We didn't complain because we appreciated them moving us the first time but we heard everything from the room above. Granted I am a very light sleeper and if you are too maybe ask for the 4th floor, we were on the 2nd. The room did have a musky smell & feel to it but was an overall clean room. The beds were okay, my personal
opinion is they werent very comfortable & my back hurt each morning. The housekeeping was great. We didn't use them during our stay as we kept our do not deserve on our door. However they always left clean towels & soap at our door for us without asking...again great customer service. I hate to only give the Andrew Pinckney 3 1/2 stars because the staff & location alone would give this place 5 stars but being that you are not only paying for those two things I do have to rate the actual rooms as well.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndrewPinckneyInn, General Manager at Andrew Pinckney Inn, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
Thank you for choosing to celebrate such a special occasion with us at the Andrew Pinckney Inn. We love to hear from our repeat guest and appreciate their valuable input and suggestions. We hope that you will return again next year to experience the continued enhancement of services and facilities at the Andrew Pinckney Inn.

Best Regards,
Barry Hutto
General Manager
Andrew Pinckney Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new jersey
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

I'm just back from 4 nights in Charleston and the Andrew Pinckney Inn. One of the Inn's greatest features is its location. Such a treat to have your "home" so close to everything in the city when you've been walking all over all day. We had a problem with the air conditioner in our room and it took two nights before we moved to another room. My preference would have been to see hotel staff be more proactive, versus reactive, but we were satisfied with the second room. The rooms are small, but nicely decorated. One thing to be aware of is that the beds are very tall and could be hard to climb into if you're very petite.
It's nice having the breakfast and the ladies who work there are very attentive, and work hard to keep everything full and nicely presented. They might want to consider a menu board to identify the hot items.

Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndrewPinckneyInn, General Manager at Andrew Pinckney Inn, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post comments of your recent stay at the Andrew Pinckney Inn. We are disappointed to know that we were unable to resolve your hvac issue on your first night. We take great pride in preventive maintenance in order to avoid any such issues as you encountered. We are currently in the process of a large capital project replacing all hvac units in each guest room. We hope that you will give us the opportunity again in the near future to experience the wonderful continued enhancements on the property.

Best Regards,
Barry Hutto
General Manager
Andrew Pinckney Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

Stayed there 11th to14th September 2012. Excellent and charming hotel, staff both friendly and helpful, nothing was too much trouble for them.
Location couldn't be better, the old city with all the history that goes with it,is all in walking distance from hotel. A wide range of excellent restaurants within short distance from Hotel. Also if you are interested in the history of music go to The Circular Church for The Sound of Charleston. Excellent Hotel in a wonderful city.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndrewPinckneyInn, General Manager at Andrew Pinckney Inn, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments on Tripadvisor.com. As you mentioned our location is ideal for shopping, dining and touring as well. We hope that you will return for another visit in the near future.

Best Regards,
Barry Hutto
General Manager
Andrew Pinckney Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Andrew Pinckney Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Andrew Pinckney Inn

Address: 40 Pinckney St, Charleston, SC 29401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston > Downtown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in Charleston
#12 Business Hotel in Charleston
#15 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
#16 Family Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Andrew Pinckney Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 41
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, BookIt.com, TravelClick, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Andrew Pinckney Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Andrew Pinckney Hotel Charleston
Andrew Pinckney Charleston

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Andrew Pinckney Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.