We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value and location.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Charleston - Days Inn Historic District

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Charleston - Days Inn Historic District to your Saves list
Charleston - Days Inn Historic District
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   155 Meeting Street, Charleston, SC 29401   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Plan Ahead and Save 15%
Ranked #48 of 58 Hotels in Charleston
Live Oak
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great value and location.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

Only feet away from Market St. Some great places to eat close by. The pool was small but very clean and was a plus since most hotels in the historic district don't have a pool. No charge on site parking was also great.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,139 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    131
    341
    325
    204
    138
See reviews for
325
459
47
59
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

I stayed for 2 nights & the location is GREAT. You can walk to everything. However, the room was dingy, carpet was ripped & coming away from wall in many places. The room connected to next room (locked on my side) but person in the adjacent room was violently banging on the door at 1:00 a.m. Location is awesome, but the room was in horrible condition. Very disappointed!!

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014

I booked and then read the reviews and was frightened at what I was going to find. The front desk staff (especially Ms. D) was the best. Because of her hospitality and the great location, I would stay again. From the outside it looks very quaint and inviting but the overall condition of the facility and the rooms cleanliness were not the best. There were many employees, most of them nice but the management/owners must take responsibility for quality and step up their game. Recommend they spend some money on carpet cleaning for inside areas and pressure washing for outside areas and get a new office chair for the lobby, only $99 for goodness sake. I could have complained but instead I took a little time and tidied up for myself to keep my sanity and the positive vacation vibes flowing. After wiping off the surfaces+appliances and freshening the air a bit in my temporary space, I slept well, took hot showers, enjoyed the pool and criss-crossed the city having quite an enjoyable and educational time.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014

Room was clean enough. Layout out dated, bathrooms clean but, poor drainage. Water from sink was alwas hot. NO CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST OR LOBBY COFFEE. Room had Microwave, tube tv, fridge, 2 cup coffee maker. A bit noisy on the weekend. Pool looked murky. Bare necessities for overnight stays.

Room Tip: No real reason to stay unless it is a bargan stay required.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

We stayed at the Days Inn for 2 nights in July. The motel is run down and our room had a musty smell.

Unfortunately when we returned back to our room at 6pm, on our second day, the sheets had been taken off the 2 beds in our room, and nothing else. When we told reception they asked if we had the "do not disturb" on our door, then told us that housekeeping had left for the day. We told them that we didn't need our room cleaned, but we did need sheets on the bed! Thankfully when we returned to the room after dinner, the bed had been made up.

The saving grace for this motel is that it is perfectly located for anyone who wants to walk to everything within the historic district.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian G, General Manager at Charleston - Days Inn Historic District, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Cyntheap,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your thoughts and comments regarding your stay with us. Please accept our sincere apology for the overall dissatisfaction you experienced and we regret you found the level of service you received less than satisfactory. We give the utmost importance to our guest comments as they help us improve, and continually provide the best guest experience possible.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canton, Ohio
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

We read the reviews before we booked. We knew what we were getting into, but I would not stay here again. The location is simply perfect. The staff was a mix of good and bad, but the room was just bad. My husband ushered out no less than 10 bugs including 5 caterpillars! I expected the furniture would be out of date, but I did not expect watermarks and stains. It was just old. I felt dirty here. PLEASE do yourself a favor and stay directly next door at the Meeting Street Inn. The prices were comparable for the same dates we stayed. Plus it has a cute southern charm.
If you do stay, make sure you check your bill. They charge you $1.50 per night for the safe whether you use it or not.

Room Tip: I'm assuming all the rooms are as old and disgusting as the one we stayed in. Don't stay he...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian G, General Manager at Charleston - Days Inn Historic District, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
R B,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your thoughts and comments regarding your stay with us. Please accept our sincere apology for the overall dissatisfaction you experienced and we regret you found the level of service you received less than satisfactory. We give the utmost importance to our guest comments as they help us improve, and continually provide the best guest experience possible.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

I really couldn't be happier with this hotel. For the price, it's exactly what I was looking for. It was MUCH cheaper than other hotels in the area, but if you go into it expecting a clean, simple hotel, you'll be pleasantly surprised. Stayed here for three nights over a long weekend with my girlfriend and we we felt safe and comfortable. Staff was friendly, rooms were older but clean. We even spent an afternoon by the pool which wasn't luxurious, but was a nice touch in the middle of the city. The BEST part of this hotel is the location. You are RIGHT in the middle of historic downtown and we walked to excellent shopping, tours, bars and restaurants every night. If you're looking for something clean, and cost efficient but still in a great location, this is your place!

Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian G, General Manager at Charleston - Days Inn Historic District, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
MrsMichellePaul,

Thank you for your review! Our location is definitely ideal for our guests whom would like to experience Historic Downtown Charleston. We appreciate your positive comments regarding the décor of our property.Your feedback is such a valuable part of our continued efforts to improve the overall experience of our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Charleston - Days Inn Historic District? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Charleston - Days Inn Historic District

Address: 155 Meeting Street, Charleston, SC 29401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #48 of 58 Hotels in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Charleston - Days Inn Historic District 2*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the historic district, this hotel exudes all the warmth and charm of historic Charleston. Like the city this hotel has retained all the character and history of its past. This hotel provides an excellent starting point for your shopping, touring, and dining venues. Southern hospitality and special comforts are what makes this Days Inn Historic Charleston the place to stay when visiting Charleston. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Wyndham, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Charleston - Days Inn Historic District reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Charleston - Days Inn Historic District Hotel Charleston
Days Inn Charleston

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Charleston - Days Inn Historic District, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.