We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WOULD STAY AGAIN” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Charleston - Days Inn Historic District

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Charleston - Days Inn Historic District to your Saves list
Charleston - Days Inn Historic District
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   155 Meeting Street, Charleston, SC 29401   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #48 of 57 Hotels in Charleston
Indiana
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“WOULD STAY AGAIN”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2012

This hotel is a little outdated but very clean and the staff was amazing....check-in/check-out time less than 5 minutes. Great place to stay if you're wanting in the historic district. We walked to EVERYTHING! Some of the advantages were free parking next to room, friendly, efficient staff & the restaurant/bar Toast which had a great breakfast which we took advantage of every morning before the lines got too long! Would recommend due to the location & reasonable price.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,101 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    129
    330
    314
    195
    133
See reviews for
313
443
47
54
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Columbia, SC
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2012

For the price this was a great experience. The hotel staff was helpful and polite. We had made the mistake of booking through Hotwire - never again - and been put into a smoking room. The host at the front desk helped us find a better option - (less smoky). Everything was just basic - the pool was pleasant and clean. But the location is what made the trip. We were there for the Spoleto festival and walked to everything. Parked free in the hotel lot and didn't move the car for three days.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

The Days Inn, Historic District, Charleston SC is an ok hotel. The location amazing. Literally a stones throw from the famous market. A 4 minute drive to the aquarium, and adjacent to King street. The staff are nice. The rooms..... well... need work. The shower goes from ice cold to boiling hot in about 2 seconds. For the price, and we could bring our chihuahua, we'd come back!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tampa bay
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2012

We only had one night in Charleston so we wanted to be centrally located but did not want to pay $300-400 a night. We had the added problem of travelling with our malti poo. On the website "Bring Fido.com" we found the best price for a pet friendly room (with taxes $130 plus a $1t5 pet fee at check-in). Only drawback is that dogs can only stay in smoking rooms. Room was clean, 2 double beds. I didn't really detect any smoking odors. Probably more pet owners than smokers stay in these rooms.
The restaurant Toast is located in the building and the buggy driver said it was one of the best places for breakfast in the city We did not eat there but it seemed nice. The hotel is one block from Market St., where the city market and the horse and carriage barns are located. We checked in around 3pm and were on a carriage tour by 3:30. Hotel is also a couple of blocks off Broad st. and close walking distance to the waterfront. Free parking too. Seems every building in the area has some sort of historic plaque on it
I would definitely stay there again. Staff at front desk is very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2012

I was lucky enough to have stayed at two hotels, over two days, one block away from each other. This was the cheaper of the two, and it showed it. The other was a Holiday Inn property at 115 Meeting street (Mills House). This Days Inn had a minimal room, with poor water pressure, clean enough, free parking, and in the center of the historic district, but cheap. It really didn't even live up to my experience at other Days Inns. But the comparison to the Mills House, just up the street is almost unfair. Stay at this one if you're on a budget. Stay at Mills House if you want a memory.

Room Tip: No tips on room selection. Outdoor door exposure, 2 floors. You have car noise, people noise, str...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vegas
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2012

Got a great rate, the location in historic downtown is awesome, but the noise from outside the hotel (traffic, parking lot, drunk people in the parking lot, big trucks backing up, construction....was incredible. So Leave your air on all night long, and bring earplugs. Hotel employees were just okay, same with housekeeping.
Not enough parking at hotel for all the guestrooms, so we had to park at a commercial garage a block away...this was a drag even though there was no charge.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2012

It has free parking which is a great bonus for the historic district. It is just a block away from the City Market and there are trolley stops nearby. We only used our car for part of one day before we checked out. Nice clean linens, comfortable bed and pillow, and I felt safe there. (my 2 requirements, clean and safe). It is an older motel, but it had all I needed. This location saved us time and gas!

Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Charleston - Days Inn Historic District? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Charleston - Days Inn Historic District

Address: 155 Meeting Street, Charleston, SC 29401
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #48 of 57 Hotels in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Charleston - Days Inn Historic District 2*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the historic district, this hotel exudes all the warmth and charm of historic Charleston. Like the city this hotel has retained all the character and history of its past. This hotel provides an excellent starting point for your shopping, touring, and dining venues. Southern hospitality and special comforts are what makes this Days Inn Historic Charleston the place to stay when visiting Charleston. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Wyndham, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Charleston - Days Inn Historic District reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Charleston - Days Inn Historic District Hotel Charleston
Days Inn Charleston

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Charleston - Days Inn Historic District, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.