We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Stop!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Charleston

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Charleston to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Charleston
2.5 of 5 Motel   |   1943 Savannah Highway, Charleston, SC 29407   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #20 of 57 Hotels in Charleston
Montreal
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Best Stop!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

We ended up at this hotel after checking in and out immediately from the Comfort Suites that we were originally booked at, due to the horrible condition of the room! This hotel was, for only slightly more money, a palace compared to what we left! Well, not exactly a palace of course, but very clean, bright, nicely decorated, very welcoming lobby area. Chris, at the front desk, was exceptionally polite, courteous and helpful and we were checked in quickly. The room was lovely, fresh, clean, very comfortable bed and the bathroom was clean! Location was great, easy to get to to the main road and only 8 minutes from the Charleston Visitor's center. When we arrived back to our room later in the evening, there was a message from Chris at the front desk, asking us if we were comfortable or needed anything. Great experience, great staff!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

379 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    216
    109
    33
    12
    9
See reviews for
106
145
24
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sinking Spring, Pennsylvania
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

After just spending a few days in Charleston at another hotel, I found the Holiday Inn Express to be just a little more comfy and relaxing. Great TV selection, good breakfast, accommodating service people. Thank you Samantha for helping us with attraction locations and other services.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KellyFassett, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Charleston, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Thank you for the great review about your recent stay. We are so pleased that you enjoyed everything from the TV selection to breakfast. Thank you for taking the time to mentioned Samantha in your review. Samantha and the rest of our staff like to assist our guest with their plans while they are visiting Charleston. We hope you have another opportunity to visit Charleston again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hockessin, Delaware
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

We recently stayed this Holiday Inn Express. Overall a very comfortable and relaxing experience.
We booked a two room King Suite. Very nice! The only thing was the small bathroom. Two people could not navigate the same time in the bathroom.
Breakfast was good. The hostess made sure the food was always available. My only kink was I was not recognized as a priority club member at check-in. We did get that fixed though.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KellyFassett, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Charleston, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
We are so pleased that you enjoyed your "Charleston Vacation" while staying with us. Our King suites are extremely nice when you are traveling with family due to size of the room. We are happy that you had the opportunity to have breakfast each morning during your stay. We hope you have an chance to visit Charleston again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Plata, Maryland
Top Contributor
193 reviews 193 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 88 cities Reviews in 88 cities
134 helpful votes 134 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

We chose the Holiday Inn Express Charleston because of its strategic location between downtown and the plantations & other attractions west of the Ashley River. We were attending a wedding and touring all over the area---so this location was ideal.

It seems all Charleston hotels are expensive, but we found the Holiday Inn Express to be a good value. Breakfast is better than average, with several hot options every day. Best of all was the friendly service. We finished breakfast most mornings when the cleaning staff was getting started, and we were greeted and welcomed by them all. Front desk staff was helpful and friendly as well.

Our room was very comfortable and clean. The a/c was a workhorse when it needed to be, and it was still quite hot in September.

I didn't have time to use the pool, but I did take a peek. I was very impressed that they had a handicap-accessible chair to lift folks into the water. I didn't test it to see if it worked, but I had never seen one of those before. What a great idea.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KellyFassett, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Charleston, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Wow!! What an amazing review! We are so pleased that you had a wonderful stay with us while you were visiting Charleston to attend to a wedding. It sounds like you had a great opportunity to see the sights as well. We appreciate the wonderful comments, and we hope you have another to visit Charleston again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

We arrived in Charleston around 3Am and just needed a room to catch a few hours sleep. Was given a good rate and being a priority member I had a 2PM checkout. Room was clean and bed was very comfortable.It is an older hotel so don't expect anything else. But it is clean and well cared for and the price is excellent. Breakfast was okay. I would stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KellyFassett, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Charleston, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Thank you for the wonderful review on your recent stay with us. We are extremely happy that you had the opportunity to take advantage of the 2pm check out as a priority club member. We hope you had the time to see the sights while you were visiting Charleston. Thank you for staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Concord, North Carolina
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

Let me start off by saying that we travel extensively and I never leave bad reviews. But this is something I feel needs pointed out ( which we did while there). We checked in went to dinner came back to find a huge and I mean huge like over an inch ROACH not a water bug a roach! So we went to front desk as we were going back out for the evening told them we had put it in the trash in the bathroom would they go get it, of course.. Guess what upon returning to our room it was still there so at this point it is late at night I'm concerned of course that these things might go home with us, my husband convinces me no...next morning we checkout mention it to front desk again..they offer $20 off room, whoo hoo ok so I'm just ready to go home. Now over the last week I have found 3 of these things where my luggage is stored and one had made its way into my sons room. I have never had bugs in my home ever! Will never stay at this hotel again! Please be aware check your bags before leaving this hotel if you stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KellyFassett, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Charleston, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
I am truly sorry for the experience that you encounter during your recent stay with us. I would love to have the opportunity to talk to you about your experience at our hotel. You may contact me at kfassett@charlestownehotels.com or (843)402-8300 Ext 400. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

I was not too impressed with this hotel, but it was serviceable for our few nights in Charleston. The entire first floor has kind of a musty smell, like stale cigarette smoke or a fragrance to cover it up (despite that the hotel is all non-smoking).
The fitness center was very minimal and had dated equipment: one treadmill, one elliptical, and one recumbent bicycle. There were no free weights but a few weighted balls. There is a small outdoor pool, which is a plus.
Housekeeping came at strange times- one day they came after we left at about 12, but another day we left at 10:30 and they didn't come by. They knocked on our door at 10 am on Sunday for an 11am checkout- I don't know why they couldn't just wait until 11.
The elevator at the hotel was extremely slow- use the stairs located at either end of the hallway.
Breakfast was pretty standard- I would have liked more fruit options (they only had bananas available). The coffee was not great- plan on getting it somewhere else in the mornings.

Room Tip: rooms close to the stairs (at the ends of the hallway)- the elevator was super slow
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KellyFassett, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Charleston, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay with us. I truly am sorry that we didn't meet all your expectations while you were staying with us. Our goal is for our guest to enjoy their stay with us from service, to the product, cleanliness, and want to stay with us again. I am hoping you will give us another opportunity in the future to make it right.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Charleston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Charleston

Address: 1943 Savannah Highway, Charleston, SC 29407
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Family Hotel in Charleston
#24 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
#26 Business Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Charleston 2.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Hotel Charleston is the perfect choice for value and convenience, located five miles from Historic Downtown Charleston and Charleston International Airport. At check-in, enjoy freshly baked cookies and icy lemonade. In addition, our friendly staff will assist in your plans to explore Charleston shopping, Charleston golf, Charleston area beaches, great local Charleston restaurants and many other Charleston attractions. For your convenience, tours are available with convenient pick up from our lobby. Our friendly staff will assist you with Charleston tour packages, directions and discount coupons. Charleston Annual Special Events & Festivals (within 5 miles of hotel) Southeastern Wildlife Expo (February) Charleston Food & Wine Festival (February) Festival of House & Gardens (March) Flower Town Festival (April) Cooper River Bridge Run (April) Charleston Cajun Festival (April) Family Circle Cup (Tennis April) Spoleto & Piccolo Spoleto Festival (May-June) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, IHG, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Charleston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Charleston (Us 17 And i-526)
Holiday Inn Express Charleston (Us 17 & i-526) Hotel Charleston
Holiday Inn Charleston
Charleston Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Charleston, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.