We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel accommodations” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Charleston

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Charleston to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Charleston
2.5 of 5 Motel   |   1943 Savannah Highway, Charleston, SC 29407   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #21 of 57 Hotels in Charleston
Harrisburg, PA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Hotel accommodations”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

This hotel was perfect in every way. A wonderful and friendly staff and accommodations were superb. Room layout, comfort of bed, great TV and easy check in and out were some of the perks of this hotel. Southern hospitality to the max! Reasonable price for what you get.

Room Tip: Easy and quick access to downtown and historic areas in Charleston. 10 minutes away. Second floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KellyFassett, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Charleston, responded to this review, April 27, 2013
We are so pleased and happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. We truly appreciate the wonderful review. I am happy that our staff was able to give you the "Southern Hospitality" that you deserve while you were visiting Charleston. We hope you have another opportunity to stay in Charleston and with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

379 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    216
    109
    33
    12
    9
See reviews for
106
145
24
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Anderson, South Carolina
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

As a business traveler, I seldom make hotel reservations because all to often plans change and I like my schedule to stay flexible. Of course, at times, the holiday inns I stop at will be booked up and I end up in the parking lot calling around in a random city trying to find availability. After arriving late in the evening from a 6.5 hour drive, I stopped into this hotel and they had no availability. Octavia went out of her way - calling on multiple locations, obtaining pricing, etc... to find me a room in the area and one that fit into my expense allotment. You don't get this type of customer service anymore and I was truly impressed with her and all she did to help me. Although I didn't stay with them that evening, she gained my business during future travels to the area.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KellyFassett, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Charleston, responded to this review, April 27, 2013
WOW!!! Thank you for the fantastic review! Thank you for recognizing Octavia, we are extremely pleased that she was able to help you with other arrangements. We look forward to your return trip to Charleston and to stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dwight, Illinois
Top Contributor
132 reviews 132 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

We opted to stay here our last night in Charleston so we would be close to downtown attractions (without the downtown price). This was an excellent choice! The good reviews were correct and we had no regrets about staying at this location. The rooms were clean, quiet and well appointed and the staff was wonderfully accomodating. Check in was a breeze and the breakfast in the morning was good and plentiful. I would definately recommend this hotel and stay here again myself!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KellyFassett, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Charleston, responded to this review, April 27, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience with us. I am so pleased that your experience was wonderful and that you enjoyed your stay with us. We are looking forward to your return trip to Charleston and hoping you will stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

This place is so clean and well kept. And quiet! Breakfast and coffee leave a bit not quite Hilton - quality, but I'll seek this place out on every time I need a place to stay in Charleston! Front desk personnel top-notch!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KellyFassett, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Charleston, responded to this review, April 13, 2013
Thank you for the wonderful review! We are so pleased that you recognized our staff to be "Top Notch". The strive to make each guest stay with us memorable and enjoyable. We are so happy that they exceeded your expectations. We are looking forward to return trip to Charleston and to our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for 3 nights whilst visiting Charleston and thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

Our room was on the ground floor, close to reception and we were initially worried it was going to be noisy but we didn't hear a thing. The room was very clean and comfortable.

The complimentary breakfast provided was great with a nice selection. We particularly enjoyed the warm cinnamon rolls.

All the staff we met were extremely friendly and helpful, particularly the lady who checked us in who gave us some useful recommendations for our stay.

The hotel is in a good location, only 10-15 minutes drive from downtown Charleston and with plenty of shops and restaurants nearby.

We would definitely stay at this hotel again if we returned to the area

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KellyFassett, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Charleston, responded to this review, April 13, 2013
Thank you for your wonderful review about your stay with us in April. I am glad to hear that the staff was helpful and you found the rooms nice and clean. Plus extremely happy to hear that you enjoyed breakfast especially the warm cinnamon rolls. We truly appreciate all the wonderful comments you experience during your stay with us. We look forward to your return trip.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

This hotel was excellent. It was very close to the gardens that we wanted to see. The staff were friendly and helpful, the breakfast was good, the room was clean and quiet. We had no complaints about anything, and would stay there again, should we visit that area.

I have liked every Holiday Inn Express and Holiday Inn where we have stayed. They are my favorite hotel chain.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KellyFassett, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Charleston, responded to this review, April 13, 2013
Thank you for your wonderful reviews that you had about your stay. Thank you for choosing us while you were visiting Charleston. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and your trip to Charleston as well. We look forward to having you stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

We stayed 3 nights in early April. I’d estimate that it was about a 15 minute drive from the hotel to downtown Charleston and a little more when there was traffic. The staff was very friendly. They were especially helpful when we needed to use their business center (computer and printer) as well as their fax machine. This was our first visit to Charleston so we took advantage of the maps of downtown Charleston as well as lots of helpful travel brochures that are near the lobby. Their breakfasts were surprisingly good with cinnamon rolls, bacon, biscuits, instant pancakes, cereal, juice, and coffee. We didn’t care for the eggs. Our room was closest to the lobby on the first floor, but inside our room we could not hear the outside noise. However, our room had a connecting door with another guest’s room, and we could hear them from time to time. If you need only one room I would recommend requesting a room without a connecting door between rooms. Also, after our first night the cleaning crew forgot to clean our room but after we spoke to the front desk they did not forget us again. _ _ _ _

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KellyFassett, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Charleston, responded to this review, April 13, 2013
We are so pleased and happy to hear that you had "Solid Stay" while you were visiting us in April. Thank you for sharing your wonderful stay with us, and extremely happy that the staff was helpful with providing you directions and that breakfast was good as well. We look forward to your return trip to Charleston.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Charleston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Charleston

Address: 1943 Savannah Highway, Charleston, SC 29407
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Family Hotel in Charleston
#24 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
#26 Business Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Charleston 2.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Hotel Charleston is the perfect choice for value and convenience, located five miles from Historic Downtown Charleston and Charleston International Airport. At check-in, enjoy freshly baked cookies and icy lemonade. In addition, our friendly staff will assist in your plans to explore Charleston shopping, Charleston golf, Charleston area beaches, great local Charleston restaurants and many other Charleston attractions. For your convenience, tours are available with convenient pick up from our lobby. Our friendly staff will assist you with Charleston tour packages, directions and discount coupons. Charleston Annual Special Events & Festivals (within 5 miles of hotel) Southeastern Wildlife Expo (February) Charleston Food & Wine Festival (February) Festival of House & Gardens (March) Flower Town Festival (April) Cooper River Bridge Run (April) Charleston Cajun Festival (April) Family Circle Cup (Tennis April) Spoleto & Piccolo Spoleto Festival (May-June) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, IHG, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Charleston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Charleston (Us 17 And i-526)
Holiday Inn Express Charleston (Us 17 & i-526) Hotel Charleston
Holiday Inn Charleston
Charleston Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Charleston, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.