We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Soild Stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Charleston

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Express Charleston to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Charleston
2.5 of 5 Motel   |   1943 Savannah Highway, Charleston, SC 29407   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #21 of 54 hotels in Charleston
Charlotte, North Carolina, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Soild Stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

We stayed 3 nights in early April. I’d estimate that it was about a 15 minute drive from the hotel to downtown Charleston and a little more when there was traffic. The staff was very friendly. They were especially helpful when we needed to use their business center (computer and printer) as well as their fax machine. This was our first visit to Charleston so we took advantage of the maps of downtown Charleston as well as lots of helpful travel brochures that are near the lobby. Their breakfasts were surprisingly good with cinnamon rolls, bacon, biscuits, instant pancakes, cereal, juice, and coffee. We didn’t care for the eggs. Our room was closest to the lobby on the first floor, but inside our room we could not hear the outside noise. However, our room had a connecting door with another guest’s room, and we could hear them from time to time. If you need only one room I would recommend requesting a room without a connecting door between rooms. Also, after our first night the cleaning crew forgot to clean our room but after we spoke to the front desk they did not forget us again. _ _ _ _

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KellyFassett, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Charleston, responded to this review, April 13, 2013
We are so pleased and happy to hear that you had "Solid Stay" while you were visiting us in April. Thank you for sharing your wonderful stay with us, and extremely happy that the staff was helpful with providing you directions and that breakfast was good as well. We look forward to your return trip to Charleston.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

355 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    202
    101
    31
    12
    9
See reviews for
100
136
22
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mount Arlington, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

We visited Charleston the end of March and we had a great time. The hotel was great and in a very good location. Only about a 10 minute ride into historical Charleston. We would recommend this hotel to anyone thinking of visiting Charleston...we would certainly stay there again, The price is right and the hotel is clean and the people working there were very friendly and helpful. Kudos to the Holiday Inn Express Charleston!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KellyFassett, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Charleston, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
We are so excited that you had a wonderful time in Charleston and at our location. Thank you so much for the wonderful review about your stay. Very happy to read that the staff was very friendly and helpful and that you would stay with us again. We hope you have another opportunity to stay in Charleston and looking forward to return trip to the Holiday Inn Express.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

I have yet to find a Holiday Inn Express I did not like or enjoy staying at. I was in Charleston S.C. for a historical outing. The room was clean, clean, clean. The room came equiped with a small refrigerator, microwave, coffee maker and hair dryer. The hotel supplies breakfast and the dining area was always over flowing with patrons. I would recommend this hotel for anyone who travels to charleston for pleasure and wants to stay outside the main tourist areas.

Room Tip: Get a higher floor room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KellyFassett, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Charleston, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Thank you for the wonderful review about your recent stay with us while you were visiting Charleston. I am so pleased that your experience was wonderful and that you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope you have another opportunity to stay in Charleston and with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto Canada
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

The reviews on tripadvisor are right about this hotel. My wife and I spent 5 nights here on a trip a few days ago. We stayed at the end of the hall on the first floor. The room was quiet. The AC was a little loud but we got used to it. Room came with microwave, alarm clock, fridge, hair dryer, and a great flat screen tv. They all worked. Room was nicely appointed and tastefully decorated. We were unable to use the pool because it was too cold. The pool and the pool area was small, but good for splashing around with kids.

This hotel is perfectly situated in regards to the Charleston historic downtown. It takes about 10 to 12 minutes to get in even with rush hour traffic. The drive is a straight shot. There is also a giant mall 5 to 7 minutes from the hotel so shopping is easy to get to. Just drive straight across Savannah highway from the lights at the hotel entrance. We like antique shopping and there were 5 antique stores within 15 minutes drive of the hotel. Hotel staff were incredibly friendly and very concerned about our stay. Breakfast is typical of a mid grade hotel. You have hot plate eggs and bacon or sausage, and even pancakes every day. Juice, milk, toast, wonderful hot cinnamon buns, coffee with plenty of cream provided in a pitcher. Breakfast at the hotel was a nice money saving way to start each day. If you want a drink after a long day of sightseeing leave your car and walk 50 feet to the Ruby Tuesdays right next door. They have a great selection of craft beer, happy hour specials, and very friendly waitstaff. The food is good as well with a well stocked buffet salad bar.

I was concerned when I booked this hotel. It offered real savings over the downtown historic hotels (savings of $50.00 or more per night) but I felt I was going to "miss out" from being able to walk from our hotel to restaurants. Nothing could be further from the truth. Charleston is really a small town in comparison to most North American cities. As a result driving in and out is a breeze. Downtown traffic outside of rush hour is virtually non existent and parking can be found usually for $10.00 or less per day. If you are driving in to the city after 6pm for one of the restaurants please note that parking after 6pm on many streets is free. We were able to find free parking every single night. Also note that drinking and driving is not tolerated in SC. Pick a DD for the night if going out for a few.

This hotel to us was a gem. It was the off season so we were able to get very reasonable prices. The location was absolutely perfect. For those of you (like me) that like to park your own car outside your hotel, rather than give the car to Valet parking, this could be the hotel for you. Give it a try. It won't disappoint.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KellyFassett, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Charleston, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
WOW! Thank you so much for the fantastic review that you had about your recent stay with us while you were visiting Charleston. We are so pleased that you were able to enjoyed downtown Charleston, Ruby Tuesday, antique shopping, and other local attractions. I can't thank you enough for the positive comments you said about our hotel. We look forward to your return trip and hoping that you will stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

Chose this hotel based on reviews on Tripadvisor. Those reviews were accurate. Staff was very helpful and friendly. Breakfasts were hot and tasty (coffee was good). Rooms were clean, beds were so/so. There area seemed pretty safe and we got a pretty good rate. I would recommend this hotel to all and will stay again if in Charleston.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KellyFassett, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Charleston, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Thank you the wonderful reviews that you had about your stay. We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and in Charleston. We are looking forward to your return trip to Charleston and hoping you will stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

We recently returned from an Anniversary trip to Charleston and stayed here. This is one of the cleanest hotels with a friendly staff. Each day, we felt like family. Sherry helped us with tours and always had a smile. Ben was quick to help with directions! The breakfast was more than adequate and parking was easy, It's so nice to walk into a room and not see any signs of wear and tear or uncleanliness. We truly enjoyed our stay.

Room Tip: Request the highest floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KellyFassett, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Charleston, responded to this review, March 16, 2013
Happy Anniversary! We are so pleased that you had a wonderful Anniversary and a wonderful time in Charleston. Thank you so much for recognizing our staff, especially Sherry. All our employees take great pride in providing our guests an "experience", not just a room. We hope you have another opportunity to stay in Charleston and with us. Again Happy Anniversary!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Charleston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Charleston

Address: 1943 Savannah Highway, Charleston, SC 29407
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Business Hotel in Charleston
#19 Family Hotel in Charleston
#26 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Charleston 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Hotel Charleston is the perfect choice for value and convenience, located five miles from Historic Downtown Charleston and Charleston International Airport. At check-in, enjoy freshly baked cookies and icy lemonade. In addition, our friendly staff will assist in your plans to explore Charleston shopping, Charleston golf, Charleston area beaches, great local Charleston restaurants and many other Charleston attractions. For your convenience, tours are available with convenient pick up from our lobby. Our friendly staff will assist you with Charleston tour packages, directions and discount coupons. Charleston Annual Special Events & Festivals (within 5 miles of hotel) Southeastern Wildlife Expo (February) Charleston Food & Wine Festival (February) Festival of House & Gardens (March) Flower Town Festival (April) Cooper River Bridge Run (April) Charleston Cajun Festival (April) Family Circle Cup (Tennis April) Spoleto & Piccolo Spoleto Festival (May-June) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Orbitz, Tingo, Travelocity, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Charleston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Charleston (Us 17 And i-526)
Holiday Inn Express Charleston (Us 17 & i-526) Hotel Charleston
Holiday Inn Charleston
Charleston Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Charleston, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.