We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“best hotel on our driving trip” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Charleston

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Express Charleston to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Charleston
2.5 of 5 Motel   |   1943 Savannah Highway, Charleston, SC 29407   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #19 of 54 Hotels in Charleston
West Chester, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“best hotel on our driving trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

After staying at dirty hotels with no or little maintenance, this review is a pleasure to write. This Holiday Inn Express was the best hotel on our multi-state driving trip. It is really wonderful. The appearance is A+. Everything is so clean. The rooms are nice. The superb breakfast includes scrambled eggs (really!) and hot biscuits. The staff is very friendly. This hotel shows that nice hotels are possible and don't have to cost a fortune. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KellyFassett, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Charleston, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
We are so pleased that your stay with us was the BEST hotel on your multi-state driving trip. Thank you for sharing your experience with us, we truly appreciate it. Plus thank you for giving us an A+, that means a lot to myself and to my team. We hope you have another opportunity to visit Charleston and us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

367 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    211
    104
    31
    12
    9
See reviews for
103
142
22
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Columbia, SC
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here when we had to be at MUSC early the next morning for tests. We usually stay in Mt. Pleasant but thought we would try this hotel. We stayed in a king room that was very spacious and the mattress was very comfortable and the bedding was very soft. Everything was clean and the breakfast was good. The biscuits were delicious. The only negative was that they were out of cribs so we didn't get much sleep trying to get our 1 yr. old to sleep. Would definitely recommend...and will return!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KellyFassett, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Charleston, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Thank you sharing your experience with us and trying this location for the 1st time. We are very pleased you enjoyed your stay here. We are looking forward to your return trip.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hendersonville, North Carolina
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for a long weekend. The hotel was very clean and the staff friendly. The location was very convenient for sightseeing at plantations, Folly Beach, historic downtown --- and several restaurants. It is right on highway 17 so we were pleasantly surprised by how quiet our room was.

Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KellyFassett, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Charleston, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Thank you for sharing with us about your recent stay with us. We are happy that you enjoyed your long weekend away. We are pleased that you will stay with us again. Thank you again for your kind words
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loganville, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

My husband and I stayed here 1/14/13 for the first time. The staff are really warm and welcoming. Ms. Cheryl Wooten, the Asst. General Manager was especially helpful to us when it came to selecting where to eat, how to get around and sights to see! Our room was exactly what we wanted. Spacious, beautifully kept and very clean. The hot breakfast is terrific. We had scrambled eggs, sausage gravy and bisquits, but there was so much more to choose from, cereal, pancakes and wonderful cinnamon rolls. My husbands favorite part of all is the baked fresh cookies every evening put out around 5:00 pm! On a personal note, I left my agenda in the lobby when we left for home. I called Ms. Wooten to ask if it could be UPS'd to my home. It arrived the very next day. We highly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KellyFassett, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Charleston, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Thank you for sharing your positive comments to us. Thank you for recognizing our staff, especially our Assistant General Manager, Cheryl. All our employees take great pride in providing our guests an "experience", and not just a room.
We are so happy that you received your agenda book the next day, we understand the importance of us getting things back to you as soon as possible.
We look forward to your return trip to Charleston.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calabash, North Carolina
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

We got in at 10 pm and left at 6:30 am. We were greeted very cordially and checked in quickly. The room was very clean and equipped with a refrigerator and microwave. Very comfortable bed . Breakfast was great. Would stay here again!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KellyFassett, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Charleston, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Thank you for staying with us on your "Quick Overnight Stop". We appreciate the feedback you have given to us about your stay. We are extremely pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. We are looking forward to your return trip to Charleston and to stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bayville, New Jersey
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

The accommodations and the breakfast bar were excelent. The staff was very courteous and friendly. I believe they truly wanted to make me feel welcome and at home. The location was near shops and various dining establishments yet very convenient to get into the heart of downtown Charleston, SC within minutes. I would highly recommend this Holiday Inn Express! Kudos to the management and staff of this hotel!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KellyFassett, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Charleston, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Thank you sharing with us your wonderful experience with us. We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay! We pride ourselves on having a genuine staff. I am happy that you were able to experience that while staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savannah, Georgia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

My wife and I have stayed at this hotel previously during renovations on our house, and we have also had family members stay here while they were in Charleston. We have never been disappointed. These people really know how to make you feel welcome! I have to travel quite a bit for my job, and I have never encountered a front desk staff as friendly, and as genuinely caring, as these ladies are. The location is only 10 minutes from downtown, and there are many restaurants near the hotel. They offer a complimentary breakfast in the morning which is quite good. We love their pancake machine! We have always found the rooms to be very clean, and have never had an issue in that regard. We did have a slight problem with the remote control to the TV, but after a call to the front desk, they had it fixed in five minutes flat (needed new batteries). It's that kind of attention to customer service that really sets this place apart. We would never stay anywhere else in Charleston!

Room Tip: We prefer a room on the 3rd floor, seems to be quieter, but have never experienced a problem with an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KellyFassett, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Charleston, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Thank you for staying with us while you were in the process of renovations. We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience with others. I will share the comments with the staff and they will love hearing the feedback as well. We are hoping that the renovations at your home is everything that you expected. Thank you again for staying with us and making us your second home.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Charleston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Charleston

Address: 1943 Savannah Highway, Charleston, SC 29407
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Business Hotel in Charleston
#17 Family Hotel in Charleston
#23 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Charleston 2.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Hotel Charleston is the perfect choice for value and convenience, located five miles from Historic Downtown Charleston and Charleston International Airport. At check-in, enjoy freshly baked cookies and icy lemonade. In addition, our friendly staff will assist in your plans to explore Charleston shopping, Charleston golf, Charleston area beaches, great local Charleston restaurants and many other Charleston attractions. For your convenience, tours are available with convenient pick up from our lobby. Our friendly staff will assist you with Charleston tour packages, directions and discount coupons. Charleston Annual Special Events & Festivals (within 5 miles of hotel) Southeastern Wildlife Expo (February) Charleston Food & Wine Festival (February) Festival of House & Gardens (March) Flower Town Festival (April) Cooper River Bridge Run (April) Charleston Cajun Festival (April) Family Circle Cup (Tennis April) Spoleto & Piccolo Spoleto Festival (May-June) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, IHG, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Charleston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Charleston (Us 17 & i-526) Hotel Charleston
Holiday Inn Express Charleston (Us 17 And i-526)
Holiday Inn Charleston
Charleston Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Charleston, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.