We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm welcome and service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Charleston

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Express Charleston to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Charleston
2.5 of 5 Motel   |   1943 Savannah Highway, Charleston, SC 29407   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #22 of 54 hotels in Charleston
Montreal, Canada
1 review
“Warm welcome and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

On November 21st, after being on the road for many hours, we were greeted by a fantastic employee "Octavia" who made us feel most welcome. She went out of her way to assist us and answer our questions, and all that with a smile. Octavia is certainly an asset to your organization and if we do go back to Charleston, this hotel will be the one we select.

Pierre and Micheline Ducharme PC 500134285

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChasHIE-GM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Charleston, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
Thank you for choosing us as your "place to stay" in Charleston. Octavia does such a wonderful job at welcoming our guests and thank you for recognizing her.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

339 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    196
    93
    29
    12
    9
See reviews for
95
127
21
31
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

We chose this Holiday Inn Express based on price and easy access to downtown Charleston ( 15-20 minute drive). We got a warm welcome from Octavia and Leila at the front desk who offered several suggestions for developing our list of "must see" sites. Room was quiet, comfortable and nicely appointed. Breakfast buffet offers plenty of choices including warm cinnamon rolls (great) and pancakes from an automatic machine (better than I expected). The hot coffee/tea and chocolate chip cookies in the evening are a nice touch. Special thanks to Ben from Housekeeping who promptly followed up on every issue/request.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChasHIE-GM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Charleston, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Thank you so much Dave and Lynda for recognizing our wonderful staff. We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience with others. I hope you had a safe trip home and have a Happy Thanksgiving!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

Good value for the price. Bed was comfortable, the breakfast options were as expected. Staff were approachable and accommodating. We received a positive response to our request for an hour extension for check out. We chose for the price and not location as it is out of town and is surrounded by strip malls.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChasHIE-GM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Charleston, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review us. We apreciate your business and glad you enjoyed our great value!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henrico, Virginia, United States
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

My husband and I stayed here on our visit to Charleston for our 3rd anniversary. We normally stay at bed and breakfasts, but we wanted to save a little money and had stayed at Holiday Inn Express in the past and were happy with them, so we booked a room here. The staff make you completely welcome here. We were greeted by Leila when we registered that evening and she wished us a happy anniversary and ensured we got a king bed. She also checked in with us by calling our room the next day to make sure everything was okay with the room. The room was clean and updated. We also decided to do something we normally do not do and eat breakfast at the hotel (again to save some money). The breakfast was good for a hotel and we enjoyed the pancake maker which was a nice change from the usual waffle maker. I didn't catch her name, but the lady that was working the breakfast each morning we were there was pleasant and kept everything stocked until closed which I was impressed with since the few times I've ever eaten breakfast at a hotel if you come last minute you lose out if they run out of things. The lady doing the breakfast also mentioned how sorry she was to see us go and she was just a nice lady all around. You are also close enough to Charleston without being downtown which was a plus for me. (parking=free!) The bed was a little too hard for me, but I got over it after the first night. Just something I had to get used too as I have a soft bed. Anyway, I would totally reccomend this Holiday Inn Express.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChasHIE-GM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Charleston, responded to this review, November 4, 2012
Happy Anniversary! Thank you so much for an excellent rating. Reading your review brought a smile to my face knowing that I have such a wonderful staff that is so genuine and able to help our guests feel right at home. You are now part of our family so we will look forward to your return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florence, Kentucky
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

Mom & i would like to express our Thanks to the very welcoming staff at Holiday Inn Express. (October 18-21, 2012) Octavia met us at the front desk with a smile and always words of interest --whether it may be suggestions for a place to dine or a tour that we might enjoy, or simply that she had just made fresh coffee for our enjoyment! Our room was very clean and so comfortable. The staff member that handles the Breakfast Buffet each morning was so cheerful and kept everything well stocked and hot for our consumption. Will definetly recommend to friends and family. Your friends from Kentucky.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChasHIE-GM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Charleston, responded to this review, November 4, 2012
It was wonderful for you to visit us from Kentucky! Our staff truly enjoys what they do and it shows. We're so happy you enjoyed us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delta, British Columbia, Canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

I would like to share my experience at the Holiday Inn Express in Charleston (US 17 & I 526 - October 12/13/14). First off it is a exceptionally clean hotel, the housekeeping staff really care about their work. The breakfast room was warm and inviting and the staff were on top of the food when it was extremely busy one morning.

The main reason for writing this review is to acknowledge one guest service person in particular, her name is Leila, she worked the evening shift the three nights we were there, as we came in the door to register she greeted us with a smile and welcomed us to the hotel. From that moment on she ensured our stay was comfortable and that if we needed anything that she was just a phone call away. On our arrival she gave us great information regarding a City tour, the tour was $22.00 and was 2 hours long, it was excellent and if not for Leila's suggestion we would not have been that lucky to see what we saw with a great tour guide.

Over all our stay with the Holiday Inn was superb but it would have only been 'good' if it had not been for Leila and her great smile and personality!!!!!

Thanks Leila
Kathryn Grant

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChasHIE-GM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Charleston, responded to this review, November 2, 2012
Wow! Thank you for recognizing our staff, especially Leila. All of our employees take great pride in providing our guests an "experience", not just a room.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Daytona, Florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

We came up from Florida to visit the Charleston area. This hotel is in a good location,easy to get to downtown Charleston and historic district The hotel was clean and bright. The staff was very friendly and helpful. We will stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChasHIE-GM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Charleston, responded to this review, November 2, 2012
Thank you for sharing your experience with others. We certainly appreciate you mentioning our great location, clean hotel, and friendly staff!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Holiday Inn Express Charleston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Charleston

Address: 1943 Savannah Highway, Charleston, SC 29407
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Business Hotel in Charleston
#20 Family Hotel in Charleston
#25 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Charleston 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Hotel Charleston is the perfect choice for value and convenience, located five miles from Historic Downtown Charleston and Charleston International Airport. At check-in, enjoy freshly baked cookies and icy lemonade. In addition, our friendly staff will assist in your plans to explore Charleston shopping, Charleston golf, Charleston area beaches, great local Charleston restaurants and many other Charleston attractions. For your convenience, tours are available with convenient pick up from our lobby. Our friendly staff will assist you with Charleston tour packages, directions and discount coupons. Charleston Annual Special Events & Festivals (within 5 miles of hotel) Southeastern Wildlife Expo (February) Charleston Food & Wine Festival (February) Festival of House & Gardens (March) Flower Town Festival (April) Cooper River Bridge Run (April) Charleston Cajun Festival (April) Family Circle Cup (Tennis April) Spoleto & Piccolo Spoleto Festival (May-June) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Charleston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Charleston (Us 17 And i-526)
Holiday Inn Express Charleston (Us 17 & i-526) Hotel Charleston
Holiday Inn Charleston
Charleston Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Charleston, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.