We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable experience ... Louise L.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Charleston

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Charleston to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Charleston
2.5 of 5 Motel   |   1943 Savannah Highway, Charleston, SC 29407   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #20 of 57 Hotels in Charleston
Smithfield, North Carolina
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Enjoyable experience ... Louise L.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

With a group of fifteen ladies one would think there would be some complaints!
But no... everyone was so very pleased with their accommodations, and with the
staff who were so courteous and helpful. Cheryl was very helpful not only
with our reservations for our rooms, but also helpful in guiding us to the best
sites in the area! The hotel is conveniently located to all the Charleston sites!
We all would recommend this hotel and stay again here when visiting the area!
A great big thank you to Cheryl, Rebecca and the evening staff who were so great
with all us ladies sitting around chatting each night!

Room Tip: We were on the ground floor and all 8 rooms were great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChasHIE-GM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Charleston, responded to this review, September 17, 2012
Thank you Louise! Having your group here was like having a family reunion with all our favorite aunts! We truly enjoyed your visit as much as you did.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

379 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    216
    109
    33
    12
    9
See reviews for
106
145
24
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Columbus, Ohio
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

We visited Charleston for a couple days before going on a cruise. The staff, especially Leila, was wonderful. She came up to check our air conditioning unit and called us to make sure our room was to our satisfaction. She gave us directions to several places in Charleston all with a smile. She is such a pleasant young lady and Holiday Inn Express is lucky to have her as an employee. Thank you Leila for making our visit to Charleston so nice.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChasHIE-GM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Charleston, responded to this review, September 17, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to recommend us. We are here to help make your stay enjoyable and are more than willing to help make any changes to accomodate you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bentonville, Arkansas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

Had a great stay here at the Holiday Inn Express. The location made for an easy trip to Folly Beach and a drive to Savannah, GA. The hotel employees at the front desk are friendly and helpful with directions. I forgot my iPhone charger at home and the woman at the front desk lent me her personal iPhone charger for the weekend and insisted I use it despite my protests. Lemonade and cookies in the lobby in the afternoon are an added treat for hotel guests. Complimentary breakfast available in the morning was a plus. There is a heated outdoor pool which was nice especially as the weather gets cooler. My only complaint is that the pool towels could stand to be larger and need to be located around the pool so we didn't have to go back to front desk after going out to the pool and realizing there are no towels around.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChasHIE-GM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Charleston, responded to this review, September 17, 2012
Thank You! We are in a great location and convenient to all of Charleston's attractions. Each afternoon we do provide a nice treat for all of our guests which includes cookies and lemonade, just to remind you how much we appreciate you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franklin, Tennessee
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

On our first trip to this exciting city,we started out on the right foot by choosing this hotel.the rooms were very clean and up to date.we met a friendly face by the name of Octavia who
checked us in and helped us find a great neighborhood restaurant.we went to our room
with a menu in hand.Later in the weekend she checked to make sure we were satisfied
with her recommendations.Octavia is the escence of what customer service is all about.
Holiday Inn is blessed to have her on their staff. We will return.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChasHIE-GM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Charleston, responded to this review, September 22, 2012
We are so happy you enjoyed your stay. It's because of our employees like Octavia that we are able to provide such great service and get such wonderful reviews. Our welcoming employees truly care about showing off their city to visitors.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montgomery, Alabama
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

We stayed here during the week of Labor Day and really enjoyed everything about this hotel. The location was perfect. It was close to everything and a great value! My favorite part about this hotel was the front desk staff. They were so friendly and helpful. One of the ladies always asked us how we were enjoying our stay. I also liked the cookies and lemonade in the lobby. My favorite restaurants around the area were East Bay Deli and Hominy Grill. Thanks so much Holiday Inn!!!

Room Tip: Room 121 is on the bottom floor directly next to the pool entrance door. I enjoyed this room because...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChasHIE-GM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Charleston, responded to this review, September 17, 2012
Thank you for your review! We are delighted that your experience at Holiday Inn Express was a great one. We are conveniently located to the interstate, historic downtown, and beaches. Our front desk staff loves hearing about our guests' day with all of the exciting things they were able to see and do. Thank you again for staying with us and we would love to have the opportunity to make your next stay just as pleasurable as the first.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
coventry
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

We visited our children in charleston. The staff made us feel very welcome. hotel was clean, smart and very enjoyable after 2 long flights from the uk............................................................................................

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChasHIE-GM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Charleston, responded to this review, September 17, 2012
Thank you for choosing us during your most important visit. How nice it must have been to arrive quickly from the airport after such a long flight and be able to relax. We'll look forward to your next visit almost as much as your kids!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spartanburg, South Carolina
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

We found the hotel very clean. It is about 4 miles from downtown charleston and close to Citadel Mall. If you are looking for something downtown or close to the beach, this is not it... but it is a good choice if you don't want to be downtown. The breakfest is good, but they need more seats... we could never find an open table.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChasHIE-GM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Charleston, responded to this review, September 17, 2012
We take pride in the cleanliness of our hotel and make sure that our guests feel the same way. We are just blocks away from Citadel Mall and only a couple of miles from the Historic Downtown area. Our breakfast area can become congested at times when we are sold out, mostly on weekends; to ensure that all of our guests can take advantage of our great breakfast, we extend the hours on weekends from 6:30 a.m. to 10:00 a.m.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Charleston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Charleston

Address: 1943 Savannah Highway, Charleston, SC 29407
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Family Hotel in Charleston
#23 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
#26 Business Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Charleston 2.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Hotel Charleston is the perfect choice for value and convenience, located five miles from Historic Downtown Charleston and Charleston International Airport. At check-in, enjoy freshly baked cookies and icy lemonade. In addition, our friendly staff will assist in your plans to explore Charleston shopping, Charleston golf, Charleston area beaches, great local Charleston restaurants and many other Charleston attractions. For your convenience, tours are available with convenient pick up from our lobby. Our friendly staff will assist you with Charleston tour packages, directions and discount coupons. Charleston Annual Special Events & Festivals (within 5 miles of hotel) Southeastern Wildlife Expo (February) Charleston Food & Wine Festival (February) Festival of House & Gardens (March) Flower Town Festival (April) Cooper River Bridge Run (April) Charleston Cajun Festival (April) Family Circle Cup (Tennis April) Spoleto & Piccolo Spoleto Festival (May-June) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Booking.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Charleston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Charleston (Us 17 And i-526)
Holiday Inn Express Charleston (Us 17 & i-526) Hotel Charleston
Holiday Inn Charleston
Charleston Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Charleston, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.