We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, perfect location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel and Suites Charleston - Historic District

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel and Suites Charleston - Historic District to your Saves list
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel and Suites Charleston - Historic District
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   181 Church Street, Charleston, SC 29401 (Downtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
35% Off Parking-Breakfast
Ranked #30 of 59 Hotels in Charleston
Columbia, SC
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great hotel, perfect location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2009

Just got back from staying at the Doubletree and loved it! We had an executive king suite room and it was huge! Even had a balcony you could walk out on. The staff was very helpful - even suggested some nice restaurants. It is within walking distance to several nice shops, restaurants, and bars. I would definately stay at this hotel again!

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,300 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    537
    460
    186
    90
    27
See reviews for
279
484
37
277
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (218)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Georgia
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2009

The Doubletree is located right in the Historic dtstrict close to all the shopping, restaurants. We were in town for the Wildlife Festival. It was very clean, they had a free breakfast, and gave you warm cookies at arrival. The staff was very friendly.
The room was tiny, the bathroom was just 2 steps away from the bed, no coffee maker in the room.
It's fine for one person, but next time I would prefer a larger room.
the term "suites" here is a little misleading.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Size of the room
  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salem, SC
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2009

The location is good and the exterior is attractive. Our rooms were awful! We had a suite and and an adjoining room while installing our son in college. Low ceilings, TINY bathrooms, and roaches running in and around the refrigerator. Cheap furnishings, broken fixtures and extremely dated. We booked for four nights and checked out the second day and moved to Charleston Place. It was more expensive but the rooms are what you would expect, clean, attractive, comfortable, great restaurant/room service and location. Actually going back tomorrow for our son's birthday! We have had positive experiences with Doubletree in ATL but will be wary in the future.

  • Liked — Doubletree cookies
  • Disliked — Property is dirty and in disrepair especially at their price point.
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2009

Our family of four spent five delightful nights in two adjoining spacious suites on the recently renovated fifth floor of this delightful hotel right across from the Charleston Market in the heart of the old town. We were attending a large gathering at the nearby Charleston Place, which was considerably more expensive.

After we checked in, we each received a delicious, warm chocolate chip cookie (ok, I have a sweet tooth). Most of the hotel rooms have been renovated. The furnishings are tasteful and clean and the carpeting brand new. The beds are plush and very comfortable, with high quality sheets, comforter, and pillows. The towels were also plush and soft.

Each of our adjoining suites had a bedroom with only the bed and an armoire with standard television set; a living room with couch and television, refrigerator and bar sink. We asked for a microwave and dishes, and received them promptly at no charge.

One criticism: The toilet and tub with shower were confined to a tiny room that was not part of the bedroom, but rather opened onto the main living area. The marble sink and large counter were out in an open area next to the door for the toilet/tub and off of the living room. It might be awkward to have the bathroom sink open to the living area if you have visitors. Also, oddly, there was a locked closet housing the HV/AC in the bedroom, but the clothes closet was in the living area.

The rooms were very quiet, although we were on the top floor, so I don't know noise levels on lower floors.

The hotel also has a clean, new, unattended exercise room, with two Precor treadmills, one elliptical and one recumbent bicycle, as well as a full set of free weights. The exercise machines had individual television screens and a large wall screen for those lifting weights.

We did not eat at the hotel so I cannot comment on the food. Wireless broadband is free in the lobby and sitting areas, but costs $8/day or $15/week in the suites. There is valet parking in the garage beneath the hotel which costs $15/day.

The staff was very cheerful, responsive, and efficient.

Other than the quirky layout of the rooms, I have nothing but accolades for this friendly, clean, convenient and comfortable hotel. And aaah, those chocolate chip cookies...

  • Liked — luxurious bedding and comfortable bed -- and that great chocolate chip cookie
  • Disliked — location of closet and bathroom sink/bathroom
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2008

Attended this hotel for a conference and found it incredibly comfortable. Wonderful bed in separate room, sitting room with work and TV facilities and lovely bathroom. Very conveniently situated for all the wonderful restaurants in Charleston and absolutely a great place for a conference.

  • Liked — So much space and wonderful bed
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2008

DoubleTree is in a fantastic location but the rooms are being updated and need it in a big way!! Not your DoubleTree standard.

Positives: Location, walking distance to almost everything, helpful staff and very comfortable bed.

Negatives: You can stay at the Renaissance Hotel for the same price and it's so much nicer. There were stains all over my carpets (Room 184), blinds broken (they fixed it by shoving a towel in between the blind, TV menu not working, and the room walls, furnishing were beyond tired--it needs a major face lift.

Must do's: Historical Walking Tour, City Tour, Harbor Tour, and Carriage Ride, Market, and walk the Battery. Plantation Tour was wonderful too! Enjoyed touring the Calhoun Mansion and Alston Houses. Charleston Museum excellent too!

Good eats: Sweetwater Cafe, Market Street, and Jestine's Kitchen

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Hotel VERY tired --face lift needed!!!
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, NC
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2008

Stayed at the Doubletree for a 1 night getaway with a friend and it bascially served its purpose. Overall I would say we were "under-whelmed" based on the price we paid. It is a nice hotel that could use some sprucing up. Everything seems a little worn and there were a few problems. First of all, at check-in the front desk was very friendly and helpful. Upon arrival to our room we found a window partially open which was allowing outside air as well as street noise into the room). One mention of this to the front desk and they had it taken care of immediately. We also discovered later that the a.c. wasn't working properly and maintenance showed up very quickly. Upon inspecting the cooling unit he determined that the unit was not going to work and immediately went downstairs and got us a new room down the hall. The bartender for happy hour was also very friendly and accommodating.

The rooms are unique in their setup (living area downstairs and sleeping area and bathroom upstairs). A great setup if you have a number of people/family sharing the room, however, the stairs make for noisy rooms (you can also hear the people in adjoining rooms constantly marching up and down the stairs). The walls must be thin as we heard people in the adjoining rooms all night (including a party that went on until 4:30 in the morning with no intervention from the hotel staff). No sleep makes for a grumpy hotel customer! Additionally, there was quite a bit of street noise very early in the morning (delivery trucks with loud backup signals and such). Maybe if you're on the courtyard side of the hotel this isn't a problem.

Upon checkout the desk clerk was not friendly. She insisted we had breakfast (which we did not) and was very hesistant to take it off our bill. She eventually did but gave me quite a bit of attitude about it.

In summary, decent hotel in a great location that is convenient to shopping and restaurants but overpriced.

  • Liked — most of the staff was congenial and helpful
  • Disliked — noise and price
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel and Suites Charleston - Historic District? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel and Suites Charleston - Historic District

Address: 181 Church Street, Charleston, SC 29401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Business Hotel in Charleston
#27 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
#29 Family Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel and Suites Charleston - Historic District 3.5*
Number of rooms: 212
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located overlooking the Charleston City Market in the heart of Charleston's Historic District, DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites offers the perfect combination of incredible location, guest room size, Southern hospitality, and amenities. DoubleTree Charleston Historic District is surrounded by award-winning restaurants, including Hank's Seafood and Brasserie Gigi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo and getaroom.com so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel and Suites Charleston - Historic District reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Hotel Charleston
Doubletree Historic District

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel and Suites Charleston - Historic District, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.