We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel and Suites Charleston - Historic District to your Saves list
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel and Suites Charleston - Historic District
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   181 Church Street, Charleston, SC 29401 (Downtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
35% Off Parking-Breakfast
Ranked #31 of 59 Hotels in Charleston
Vero Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great location!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

The location was wonderful. The hotel room was fine but the staff was what made it such a great experience! Every person we dealt with was friendly and eager to help. Unfortunately, our room (#150) was close to the elevator and we could hear the elevator going up and down all night long. Not a big deal since the beds were extremely comfortable. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DTreebyHilton, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel and Suites Charleston - Historic District, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
Dear Pat P,
Thank you for bringing to our attention your candid review of your recent stay with the Doubletree by Hilton. I am sorry to hear about your guestroom location near the elevators. We certainly understand that Charleston is full of hospitality choices and we appreciate your business!
As a company it is our goal for each guest to experience the warmth and glow of hospitality and we are you you got to see us in action.
I look forward to speaking with you soon.

Safe Travels…


Sincerely,
Michael Perry
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,415 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    597
    500
    197
    92
    29
See reviews for
320
528
40
286
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (236)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
75 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

I am a meeting planner and I recently held a meeting for approximately 15 people here in July 2014. The location is excellent for a meeting! It is walking distance to the open air marketplace and all the shops, etc. It is also walking distance to many excellent restaurants. The hotel rooms are good. I told my clients to ask for an executive king room after looking at previous reviews of this hotel on Tripadvisor since they have larger bathrooms. One of my clients booked his room last minute and got one fo the other rooms and did say his bathroom was tiny but knew it was his own fault :) The sleeping room was an average room. Perfectly fine, but nothing special. Our meeting space was nice. It was in another part of the hotel (through a courtyard) so a few people had trouble finding it. It also had a small staircase you had to go up to get to. Many of my clients bring their suitcases with them to their meeting in the morning so they can dash out to the airport when they are done (half day meeting) so that was a little inconvenient. The banquet staff was excellent! They were very attentive and on the ball. The only issue I had is I did reserve wifi for my meeting room and it wasn't turned on when I arrived that morning. They had an issue with getting it going. They had to "reboot" it or something. So there was a little delay on that but it was taken care of. The front desk,, av, banquet, sales, & catering staff were all pleasant to work with.

Room Tip: Ask for an executive king if you want a larger bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DTreebyHilton, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel and Suites Charleston - Historic District, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
Dear Ann5521
We sincerely appreciate your feedback and apologize for the difficulty in finding your meeting rooms. We understand first impressions can be lasting impressions and we never want you to have a bad experience while staying with us. Your comments will be incorporated into future trainings so we can ensure we're meeting our guests high expectations. We are glad to hear that the banquet staff took such great care of you. Please come back and see us again soon….

Kind regards,
Michael Perry
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

Great location, but our room had very dated living room furniture and tiny bathroom. The staff at check in was great. However, we went to ask clerk in the late evening about activities and such and he was not helpful or seemed to care even though there was no one else there.

No pool but did not need. Location was perfect, but just did not wow us.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DTreebyHilton, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel and Suites Charleston - Historic District, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
Dear Jeff M
Thank you for bringing to our attention your candid review of your recent stay with the Doubletree by Hilton. I am sorry to hear that your impression of the room was “dated” and that the evening staff was not accomodating. This is very troubling to us and I will be meeting with our department heads, as well as, the Team to ensure that these issues do not happen again and are handled differently. We certainly understand that Charleston is full of hospitality choices and we appreciate your business!
As a company it is our goal for each guest to experience the warmth and glow of hospitality and we are sorry for not living up to this standard with your visit.
I look forward to speaking with you soon.

Safe Travels…

Michael Perry
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spartanburg, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014

Very nice hotel, great location!! Brought my Grandkids here for their first trip to Charleston. The location was perfect for shopping at the market and for catching a carriage tour. Great restaurants within walking distance also. I definitely would recommend this hotel for anyone visiting Charleston.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DTreebyHilton, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel and Suites Charleston - Historic District, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
Dear Karen M,
Thank you for your gracious review reminding everyone how convenient the hotel is in the historic market area. It is exciting to hear how much guests enjoy our location when visiting historic Charleston as they visit the variety of shopping and restaurant choices that make up the historic area.
We know that Charleston is full of choices and appreciate you making the historic Doubletree your choice. We look forward to seeing you again real soon…

Sincerely,
Michael Perry
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Covington, Georgia
Level Contributor
46 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

We had a good stay at the Doubletree in Charleston staying in the new section across the courtyard from the reception area. I was concerned that it would be noisy because we were one floor above the meeting/banquet room level but we never heard anything from that. We did hear some noise out in the hallway and our air conditioner and plumbing were quite noisy at times. The room was pretty and our bed was quite comfy. Our favorite thing about this hotel is it's great location next door to the City Market and it's great proximity to all of the restaurants and sites in the historical district. We have stayed here in the past and would stay here again

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DTreebyHilton, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel and Suites Charleston - Historic District, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Dear vgp95
Thank you for bringing to our attention your candid review of your recent stay with the Doubletree by Hilton. I am sorry to hear about the noise encounters. We certainly understand that Charleston is full of hospitality choices and we appreciate your business!

Best wishes,
Michael Perry
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

I arrived a little early and the room wasn't ready, no big deal, I just walked around the Historic area. On check-in I was told that to park my car would be an additional $27/nite. I still wasn't too upset until I got to my king room! I could touch the ceiling, it was the tiniest room I have ever stayed in. Bathroom was in major need of renovation, plastic tub and surround, old tile that had been patched many times around base. And did I mention that there were roaches in the room! I would not recommend this hotel. The only reason I booked it was the close proximity to the Historic area.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DTreebyHilton, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel and Suites Charleston - Historic District, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Dear keywestlady
I sincerely apologize for the unfortunate experience you had during your stay. I appreciate your speed in bringing this opportunity to me and allowing me to follow up with our team, ensuring that you and future guests do not experience this situation again. With Charleston full of hospitality choices I hope you will allow us another chance to show you the Doubletree by Hilton experience as you have grown and expect.
Kind regards,
Michael Perry
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
51 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014 via mobile

Let me preface my comments by stating I have no complaints about the property or the staff. Everything was ok - not terrific, not awful, just ok. I don't know if I expected more and didn't get it or if it is just an average hotel. As a Hilton Diamond and a Starwood Platinum member, I spend a lot time in hotels and although this location is right in the middle of it all, something just didn't click. The staff was courteous but seemingly not interested in exceeding expectations. I didn't feel as if they cared if I was happy or not - the service at breakfast was fine, not great. The room was
fine, not great. I inquired about a later check-out - the front desk begrudgingly gave me an hour. Other than location, nothing here gave me a reason to return, but at the same time, nothing was terrible. I guess some places are just average.
As for location, you are right at the market, within walking distance of shops and restaurants - carriage rides are around the corner. Try walking an extra block or two to find some non- touristy, excellent restaurants.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DTreebyHilton, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel and Suites Charleston - Historic District, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Dear drdave60
Thank you for bring to our attention your candid review of your recent stay with the Doubletree by Hilton. I am sorry to hear our service did not excced your expectations. We certainly understand that Charleston is full of hospitality choices and we appreciate your business!
As a company it is our goal for each guest to experience the warmth and glow of hospitality and we are sorry for not living up to this standard with your visit.
Sincerely,
Michael Perry
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charleston hotels
Downtown
Hampton Inn Charleston - Historic District
King Charles Inn
#14 of 59 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 stars 2,023 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Kings Courtyard Inn
Kings Courtyard Inn
#24 of 59 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 stars 408 reviews
Andrew Pinckney Inn
#15 of 59 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 stars 1,094 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel and Suites Charleston - Historic District? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel and Suites Charleston - Historic District

Address: 181 Church Street, Charleston, SC 29401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Business Hotel in Charleston
#25 Family Hotel in Charleston
#27 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel and Suites Charleston - Historic District 3.5*
Number of rooms: 212
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located overlooking the Charleston City Market in the heart of Charleston's Historic District, DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites offers the perfect combination of incredible location, guest room size, Southern hospitality, and amenities. DoubleTree Charleston Historic District is surrounded by award-winning restaurants, including Hank's Seafood and Brasserie Gigi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hilton Hotels, Orbitz, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel and Suites Charleston - Historic District reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Hotel Charleston
Doubletree Historic District

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel and Suites Charleston - Historic District, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.