We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Stay in Charleston Historic District” 5 of 5 stars
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel and Suites Charleston - Historic District

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel and Suites Charleston - Historic District to your Saves list
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel and Suites Charleston - Historic District
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   181 Church Street, Charleston, SC 29401 (Downtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
35% Off Parking-Breakfast
Ranked #31 of 57 Hotels in Charleston
Fort Myers
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Wonderful Stay in Charleston Historic District”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

Best location i the heart of CHarleston, Wonderful views of the market and also the water in the distance. We never had to use our car as we could walk everywhere! The hotel has a unique charm about it and our suite was great a size. Service was top notch with great recommendations each day from the staff on what to do and where to eat! We willbe back again next year!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DTreebyHilton, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel and Suites Charleston - Historic District, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Thank you for your 5 star posting. We appreciate your summation and agreement with others that boast of our “great location, attentive service, and spacious rooms” and pleased to hear you will join us again on your next visit to Charleston. As a company we pride ourselves on our “southern hospitality” we offer every guests who entire our doors. I will be sharing your comments with our Team as they were a special point in your posting and are our biggest assets making dreams into memories.
We look forward to having you back again real soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,168 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    484
    401
    173
    83
    27
See reviews for
242
441
33
251
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (197)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013

Room was clean and spacious. The room overlooked the courtyard so it was very quiet. Everything in the room looked relatively new. Coffee and tea available for free during the breakfast hours. Staff was friendly. Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DTreebyHilton, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel and Suites Charleston - Historic District, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Many thanks for your recent posting! We love to read such praise and appreciation of our property. As you mention, the Doubletree by Hilton is quiet and our Team is always friendly. We are always ready when you are prepared to make your next reservation and look forward to having you back again soon.
Safe travels...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evans, GA
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2013

This was a long girls' only weekend in Charleston. 3 ladies shared an Extra Large King Suite. There was plenty of space. The best thing for 3 ladies getting ready is that the bathroom sink is separate from the toilet/shower room AND there was a wet bar sink with a large mirror. The pull out couch mattress was nothing special and was the typical sink in the middle with bars in the back. But, other than the expected, the room was very nice. The staff was very helpful and got items we requested quickly. The location is wonderful. This hotel sits just off Market Street. Perfect for walking to all locations! The hotel does have Valet Parking which makes things easy especially since we never had to get the car until we left. Valet Parking does cost $22/day + tax. There was some crazy charge of $1.00/day for a Charleston Police Fund Donation. Didn't understand that and wasn't asked if we wanted to make a "donation". Didn't bother us that much since it was only $1.00/day. Plus, we saw LOTS of police out in force over the weekend doing a fine job keeping the peace. Definitely recommend this hotel and will stay there again!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DTreebyHilton, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel and Suites Charleston - Historic District, responded to this review, November 16, 2013
Many thanks for your recent posting! We love to read such praise and appreciation of our property, location, and service. As you mention, the Doubletree by Hilton has a superb location that only compliments the quality of our guest space, beautifully appointed rooms and superior service. We are always ready when you are prepared to make your next reservation and look forward to having you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is in a great location and staff is friendly. That aside it would have been nice to have a larger bath area-I thought with 2 rooms at least there would be some space there. Also the fitness room doesn't open til 8am-that certainly doesn't work when you need to leave early for fun or work. Otherwise bed and space was fine.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DTreebyHilton, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel and Suites Charleston - Historic District, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share feedback on your recent stay with us. We appreciate your honest input and we will use your comments as we constantly evolve to best meet our guests needs. We hope you will return to stay with us the next time you are in the area so we may show you an improved quality of stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glen Ridge
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

The hotel is very weirdly situated. There are different towers that don't link up and you have to walk outside to get to your room or meeting space. I was there on business and it was still expensive. Glad I didn't have to foot the bill. The elevators were the slowest in existence.

The bathroom was not so nice and falling apart. Who builds a sink that has such a large knockout? I had to go on my tip toes to rinse out my toothpaste and I am not short. The view was non existent but at least the bed was comfortable. I asked to have a late check out by 1/2 hour and the night clerk said I would have to wait until 7 AM when housekeeping came in to ask (he was not so nice about it either). I called again in the morning and the guy who answered the phone said no problem in 2 seconds so what was the big deal that had to wait until morning?

WHY does Doubletree insist on putting nuts in their cookies?

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DTreebyHilton, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel and Suites Charleston - Historic District, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Thank you for bringing to our attention your candid review of your recent stay with the Doubletree by Hilton. I am sorry to hear about your guestroom location and layout. We certainly understand that Charleston is full of hospitality choices and we appreciate your business!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

I've stayed in this hotel several times, and it's always a good experience. Clean rooms, good service. Location is an added bonus as it is near the main strip of shopping/restaurants and the local market.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DTreebyHilton, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel and Suites Charleston - Historic District, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Thank you for your 5 star posting. We appreciate your summation and agreement with others that boast of our “great location, attentive service, and spacious rooms” and pleased to hear you will join us again on your next visit to Charleston. As a company we pride ourselves on our “southern hospitality” we offer every guests who entire our doors. I will be sharing your comments with our Team as they were a special point in your posting and are our biggest assets making dreams into memories.
We look forward to having you back again real soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vero Beach, Florida
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

I expect my bill to an accurate account of charges legitimately made during my stay. Doubletree sees fit to include daily donations to the CHS Police Fund without my agreement or approval. The hotel is conveniently located in the historic district. I found hotel staff to be friendly and very helpful. The room itself was very small but comfortable. The bed was excellent - left me felling like I was at home.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DTreebyHilton, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel and Suites Charleston - Historic District, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Thank you for your candid review of your recent stay at the DoubleTree by Hilton. Your comments regarding our Team and comfort of the rooms were very much appreciated and indicative of what our guest encounter. However, your comments regarding the Charleston Police Fund was a concern as this is a voluntary program and I have reviewed your comments with our Team to ensure our guests do not encounter this again.
We hope to see you back here in Charleston again soon. Safe travels…
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel and Suites Charleston - Historic District? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel and Suites Charleston - Historic District

Address: 181 Church Street, Charleston, SC 29401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Charleston
#28 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
#28 Family Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel and Suites Charleston - Historic District 3.5*
Number of rooms: 212
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located overlooking the Charleston City Market in the heart of Charleston's Historic District, DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites offers the perfect combination of incredible location, guest room size, Southern hospitality, and amenities. DoubleTree Charleston Historic District is surrounded by award-winning restaurants, including Hank's Seafood and Brasserie Gigi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hilton Hotels, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel and Suites Charleston - Historic District reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Hotel Charleston
Doubletree Historic District

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel and Suites Charleston - Historic District, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.