We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“super location, great hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel and Suites Charleston - Historic District

Save Saved
You added DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel and Suites Charleston - Historic District to your Saves list
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel and Suites Charleston - Historic District
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   181 Church Street, Charleston, SC 29401 (Downtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
35% Off Parking-Breakfast
Ranked #33 of 54 Hotels in Charleston
Columbia, SC
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“super location, great hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

super location for hotel. Walking distance to market, king St. etc. Great restaurants just around any corner. Hanks bar is great for nightcap. Cru Cafe around the corner. knowledgeable staff. Parking is either valet or in the Bank of America parking garage. If you're not going to move your car, opt for the garage but the valet lets you in and out as many times as you want during the day for a flat fee. Warm cookie at check in. The suite rooms are nice with a sitting and work area. Really enjoyed the coffee in the room and real creamers! great bath products, helpful staff. A wonderful stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DTreebyHilton, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel and Suites Charleston - Historic District, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Many thanks for your recent posting! We love to read such praise and appreciation of our property, location, and service. As you mention, the Doubletree by Hilton has a superb location that only compliments the quality of our guest space, beautifully appointed rooms and superior service. We are always ready when you are prepared to make your next reservation and look forward to having you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,062 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    435
    358
    161
    82
    26
See reviews for
227
402
33
216
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (183)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Woodbridge, VA
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

I have stayed at this hotel on business several times and like it for it's location in the center of town. The rooms are large, comfortable, and quiet. The last time I stayed here I was disappointed with the breakfast and breakfast staff. Hotel management responded to my comments so I was very surprised to find the breakfast staff hadn't changed their lazy ways. Example: I arrived and was left waiting to be seated while staff members talked with their backs to me. Finally, one turned and seeing me came over to seat me. I was told who would be waiting on me and asked if I wanted coffee. Saying yes, coffee was provided. Then I sat there waiting for someone to take my order. After drinking the whole cup of coffee, someone who had been standing around noticed how agitated I was becoming and came over to ask if she could help me. I ordered eggs then went to the buffet for toast. Neither toaster was working. When my eggs were brought I asked about the toasters. Someone came out and plugged them in. Needless to say my breakfast experience was unsatisfactory.

Room Tip: I've been lucky enough to always have a room towards the back where it is quiet. If you need to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DTreebyHilton, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel and Suites Charleston - Historic District, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
We're very sorry to hear about the unpleasant dining experience. We always want our guests to start off their day with a full breakfast and smiles on their faces. Unfortunately, we have failed to meet your expectations. We will continue to train our Team to offer the signature “southern hospitality” we are known for. We hope you'll reconsider staying with us again in Charleston.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

You see that this is rated about midway in best hotels, but based on the location, price and overall hotel experience, I would recommend this to anyone. The rooms were good, bath rooms could use a little updating, but most of our time was spent exploring the city, so it wasn't anything that was a deal breaker. The staff was extremely courteous and friendly. Save yourself a few $100 and stay here, and use the money saved and visit some of the great restaurants in the area.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DTreebyHilton, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel and Suites Charleston - Historic District, responded to this review, November 2, 2013
Thank you for your posting and reminding everyone of our numerous amazing attributes that make Doubletree by Hilton such a special place to visit in Charleston. As you mention, our eager staff assist with making memories for our guests on a daily basis with a genuine sense of pride and hospitality not found in many properties. We look forward to your next visit.
Best Wishes…
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

Wonderful location for a medium sized conference. Reception food much better than average for a hotel. Room (suite) very comfortable and quiet, bed was good quality and water pressure in the shower was strong. It sounded like there was a significant spectrum of size of rooms available in the hotel. Front desk friendly and helpful. At the front of the hotel, I was able to get a discount ticket for a horse-drawn carriage tour (one hour during a break from the conference) and was able to have a very pleasant introduction to historic Charleston. Interesting/unique shopping at the market across the street, and plenty of casual to fancy restaurant options within close walking distance. The only not-so-great thing was airport transportation coming 20 minutes later than I had requested (but likely not the hotel's fault).

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DTreebyHilton, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel and Suites Charleston - Historic District, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
Thank you for your gracious review reminding everyone how convenient the hotel is in the historic market area. It is exciting to hear how much guests enjoy our location when visiting historic Charleston as they visit the variety of shopping and restaurant choices that make up the historic area.
We know that Charleston is full of choices and appreciate you making the historic Doubletree your choice. We look forward to seeing you again real soon…
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

We had reserved the bi-level 2 room suite. When we got there for check in we were told that our room was being upgraded. We were delighted. However, when we opened the door to our room we were given the standard 2 room suite. VERY UPSET. Not only did we not get the room we reserved but we got a lesser room instead of an upgrade. We reserved the bigger room for a reason. We decided to order the express breakfast for the next morning. We ordered 1 oatmeal, 1 yogurt and coffee for 2. The price was just under $50 and it took 3 trips to our room to get the order right. We complained and got our breakfast compted. So we decided to try the breakfast downstairs. This cost was almost $15.00 per person. Ordered 2 eggs over medium and they were BURNT. They should never have left the kitchen that way. Reordered eggs and the rest of the meal got cold! Ended up starting all over again with breakfast order. The hotel staff was very accommodating but the overall service was lacking greatly. They advertise room service but this is not accurate. The "supposed" room service is VERY limited in time. Poor snack options. The room has a mini fridge and coffee maker but no microwave. The rooms are dated and almost shabby. Overall an overpriced hotel.

Room Tip: Poor quality rooms for price.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DTreebyHilton, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel and Suites Charleston - Historic District, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
Please accept our sincere apologies for the disappointing service and conditions of your recent stay. We know our guests deserve the best and we will use your comments as we continually evolve to best meet and exceed our guests' expectations. We have shared your comments with our team and assure you appropriate steps have been made to correct the issues you encountered with service and value. Should you return to our area in the future, we would love to have you back so we may better demonstrate the complete quality stay you expect and deserve.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cary, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

Terrific location. Everything is within walking distance. Friendly, helpful staff made good recommendations. The rooms are basic but nice which is reflected in the price. A good value overall. We would definitely return.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DTreebyHilton, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel and Suites Charleston - Historic District, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
We're so glad you enjoyed the location and it's excellent news to hear that our service was right on point. We appreciate your feedback. Come back and see us again soon.

Safe travels...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

Very pricey but great location. Right downtown in the historic district walking distance to the waterfront and city park. Very few places to park to check in or unload your luggage.
I liked the breakfast, great coffee, lots to choose from wonderful servers and they will cook to order.

Room Tip: Be careful when you book, some of the rooms have the bedrooms with the bath upstairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DTreebyHilton, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel and Suites Charleston - Historic District, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
Thank you for your gracious review reminding everyone how convenient the hotel is in the historic market area. It is exciting to hear how much guests enjoy our location when visiting historic Charleston as they visit the variety of shopping and restaurant choices that make up the historic area.
We know that Charleston is full of choices and appreciate you making the historic Doubletree your choice. We look forward to seeing you again real soon…
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel and Suites Charleston - Historic District? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel and Suites Charleston - Historic District

Address: 181 Church Street, Charleston, SC 29401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Charleston
#28 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
#30 Family Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel and Suites Charleston - Historic District 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotels.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Hilton Hotels, getaroom.com, Odigeo, Venere and Otel so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel and Suites Charleston - Historic District reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Hotel Charleston
Doubletree Historic District

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel and Suites Charleston - Historic District, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;