We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel and Suites Charleston - Historic District to your Saves list
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel and Suites Charleston - Historic District
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   181 Church Street, Charleston, SC 29401 (Downtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
35% Off Parking-Breakfast
Ranked #29 of 59 Hotels in Charleston
Odenton, United States
1 review
“Lovely hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

We attended a family wedding at this hotel and booked a suite in the block of rooms held for guests. Our room was a larger double bed suite and was very spacious. Beds were so comfortable! Had the breakfast buffet for 2 mornings and it was pricey but not more than other top hotels. Food was plentiful and good. The main drawback to this hotel was the lack of an airport shuttle which would have made life so much easier travelling with a disabled person.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DTreebyHilton, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel and Suites Charleston - Historic District, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
On behalf of the entire Team we would like to thank you for your candid review. We are glad to hear that our Doubletree by Hilton was a “A Lovely Hotel”. I will be sharing your comments with our entire Team so they can hear your comments.
With Charleston full of hospitality choices we are pleased that you choose us and look forward to serving you again in the near future.
Safe travels…
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,299 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    537
    460
    186
    89
    27
See reviews for
279
484
37
276
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (217)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hilton Head, South Carolina
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

Hotel is an older established hotel located near the Market Place with access to many shops and the Market Area. Excellent service by staff and clean modern rooms make this a place to stay. We love the atmosphere and service from arrival to departure.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DTreebyHilton, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel and Suites Charleston - Historic District, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
We thank you for your recent review and recognition of our property and staff. We strive to ensure each and every guest is provided the best possible experience and it appears our efforts were successful during your visit. It is rewarding to hear we made “such a positive impression” as Charleston is full of options for lodging and this is a fantastic nod to our dedicated team of professionals.
Best Wishes and we look forward to assisting you on your next to Charleston.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
warren ri, United States
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

loud, noisy, a/c sounded like delivery truck in bedroom!!! so noisy we could hear a/c from other rooms, then elevators( not near them) when a/c's were off. Out side court could only hear roof top a/c condencers

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DTreebyHilton, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel and Suites Charleston - Historic District, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
We understand how important a good night's rest is and I apologize for the A/C noise disruptions. Our maintenance team as been contacted and is making the necessary repairs. However, I regret it was not fixed sooner. Thank you for bringing this to our attention and we hope we can invite you back for a quieter stay.

Safe travels,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas, United States
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

Solid property with nice furnishings. While I was here for business, it has the romantic feel that I think couples would like, coupled with proximity to a lot of the historic sites in Charleston. Hotel staff was welcoming and the lobby and rooms have the "old southern" feel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DTreebyHilton, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel and Suites Charleston - Historic District, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Thank you for your candid review of our hotel and its service. I will be sharing your comments with our Team as they are one of the special points you made comment to in your review. As a company it is our goal to make each guest experience a warm and inviting experience offering our signature “southern hospitality”.
Best Wishes and we look forward to assisting you on your next trip to Charleston.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, VA
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

For our stay at the Double Tree, we were first greeted by the friendly and courteous valet personnel. These guys seemed to love their jobs and were not jockeying just for tips, but really seemed to want to make sure that all your needs were met. Our room was the 2 story suite. Although vey clean and tastefully decorated, the next time I would stay in the 2 room suite with the bed and living area on the same floor. I'm not sure of the other rooms, but our 2 floor suite had the smallest bathroom. So small that the sink and mirror were located outside the bathroom. The location of the hotel just can't be beat. Just walk out the door and you are in the midst of everything Charleston has to offer. The market is located just across the street! The staff at the hotel was very friendly and accommodating. When we arrived and found out we were on the first floor facing the courtyard after requesting an upper floor room, the staff quickly took action and offered to relocate us but suggested that I inspect the room first and if not satisfied, they would gladly move us. Although we still preferred the upper floor, we stayed in the lower floor room to avoid the hassle. We never ate at the restaurant as our stay was only for 2 nights and there were way too many other places to eat instead of a hotel restaurant.

All in all, our stay was quite pleasant and we would most assuredly stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DTreebyHilton, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel and Suites Charleston - Historic District, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Thank you for your candid review of your recent stay at the DoubleTree by Hilton. Your comments regarding our valet and hotel staff was very much appreciated and indicative of what our guest encounter. It is exciting to hear how much guests enjoy our location when visiting historic Charleston as they visit the variety of shopping and restaurant choices that make up the historic area.
We hope to see you back here in Charleston again soon. Safe travels…
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linn Creek, Missouri
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

If you want to stay at the best location in Charleston SC then this is the place. You can't get any further downtown. From the valet to when you checkout you will not find a friendlier staff. The hotel was very clean. The only problem I had was that there was five in my reservation but the hotel had only placed four bath towels in our room. My wife and I took our three grandsons with us. The boys even made mention of how nice the hotel was. They are six and two nine-year olds.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DTreebyHilton, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel and Suites Charleston - Historic District, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Thank you for your gracious review of our hotel and our Team. Your comments referencing our service the Team offers was most appreciated, as well as, your comments regarding our guestroom cleanliness. We are sincerely sorry that you did not have an extra set of towels for one of your grandchildren and I have shared your comments with our Team so they can learn from our service failure. We look forward to your return visit and wish you Safe travels…
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013 via mobile

We arrived on June 12, 2013. There was a very strong odor that hit us immediately upon entering the lobby. I would describe the smell as a very strong chemical glue. Upon arriving on the third floor, the smell got stronger. Concerned about breathing this toxic odor for two nights, we immediately began calling neighboring hotels for availability. Must say, front desk staff was very understanding and let us out of our reservation without penalty.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DTreebyHilton, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel and Suites Charleston - Historic District, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
We're very sorry to hear about the unpleasant encounter during our roof replacement project. Although too late for your stay we have completed the roofing project. We always want our guests to feel comfortable and learned from your experience. We hope you'll reconsider staying with us again in Charleston.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel and Suites Charleston - Historic District? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel and Suites Charleston - Historic District

Address: 181 Church Street, Charleston, SC 29401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Business Hotel in Charleston
#27 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
#29 Family Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel and Suites Charleston - Historic District 3.5*
Number of rooms: 212
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located overlooking the Charleston City Market in the heart of Charleston's Historic District, DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites offers the perfect combination of incredible location, guest room size, Southern hospitality, and amenities. DoubleTree Charleston Historic District is surrounded by award-winning restaurants, including Hank's Seafood and Brasserie Gigi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo and getaroom.com so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel and Suites Charleston - Historic District reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Hotel Charleston
Doubletree Historic District

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel and Suites Charleston - Historic District, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.