We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save Saved
You added DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel and Suites Charleston - Historic District to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel and Suites Charleston - Historic District
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   181 Church Street, Charleston, SC 29401 (Downtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
35% Off Parking-Breakfast
Ranked #35 of 54 hotels in Charleston
Little Rock, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

Nice hotel in a great city to visit. Comfortable and clean. Courteous, efficent, helpful staff. Hotel overall needs some refreshing though. Location is great. Within walking distance to most points of interst and lots of great resturants are very close.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DTreebyHilton, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel and Suites Charleston - Historic District, responded to this review, May 4, 2013
On behalf of the entire Team we would like to thank you for your candid review. We are glad to hear that our Doubletree by Hilton was a “A Great location”. I will be sharing your comments with our entire Team so they can hear your comments.
With Charleston full of hospitality choices we are pleased that you choose us and look forward to serving you again in the near future.
Safe travels…
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

987 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    402
    328
    150
    81
    26
See reviews for
213
380
28
195
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (172)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jacksonville, United States
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

A/C in room didn't work. No offer of help moving to 2nd room that was unacceptable (2 levels). Staff seemed unconcerned that this affected a dinner reservation. Furniture quite dated and uncomfortable.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DTreebyHilton, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel and Suites Charleston - Historic District, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
We're most certainly always concerned about our guests' comfort and apologize that we were not more proactive in our efforts to accommodate you with a room change. I also regret the maintenance issues and any discomfort imposed upon you. Thanks for alerting us to your concerns so our maintenance and front office teams are aware. Please feel free to contact us directly so we can speak with you about your experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
charleston, United States
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

Hotel is standard, nothing special. The worst part is you can't open windows in room (we had two room suite) there was a very strong cleaning product smell, that we had no way of airing out and in Charleston you really want to enjoy the good weather and fresh breeze, not possible. Bathroom was very small, like touch both walls with your arms small. we would not return for sure.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DTreebyHilton, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel and Suites Charleston - Historic District, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Thank you for bring to our attention your candid review of your recent stay with the Doubletree by Hilton. I am sorry to hear about your dissatisfaction with the inability to open the guestrooms windows. Unfortunately, the city ordinance prevents any window higher than the first floor from being opened for public safety. I have reviewed you comments with our housekeeping Team to discuss alternatives to avoid heavy cleaning product smells in the room and happy to announce that we have found a solution. We certainly understand that Charleston is full of hospitality choices and we appreciate your business!
We hope you will reconsider and give the Doubletree by Hilton another chance.
Safe Travels…
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbridge, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

The Charleston Double Tree is listed as being in the historical section. A great hotel for touring the city and have business in the downtown area. Good staff and great rooms. We had others in the wedding party at other hotels. We had the best deal. Plenty of bars, restaurants, and places to visit within walking distance.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DTreebyHilton, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel and Suites Charleston - Historic District, responded to this review, May 4, 2013
Thank you for your posting and reminding everyone of our numerous amazing attributes that make Doubletree by Hilton such a special place to visit in Charleston. As you mention, our eager staff assist with making memories for our guests on a daily basis with a genuine sense of pride and hospitality not found in many properties. We look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

This hotel is very meh...it's in downtown which is why I stayed there and it would probably be fine for a short trip, but I was there for almost 3 months and the experience and atmosphere got old quick. After a while some of the valets recognized me and quit lingering around for a tip (sorry, but I'm not going to tip you everyday for 3 months for driving my car a block). The hotel itself is an older building, which, again, is fine, but not for an extended stay. Towards the end of my stay my room started having ants crawling around it and downtown and lost its charm, so rather than staying for the full 6 months like I intended I switched hotels. Also - for those of you staying long term, be wary, they cap you at 100,000 HHonors points per stay Nothing awful about the hotel, nothing great about it either. Very middle of the road and seems on par for the other hotels I stayed at in downtown Charleston.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DTreebyHilton, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel and Suites Charleston - Historic District, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience with us and we're so glad you chose to stay with us for such an extended period of time. We always try and provide guests with a comfortable and welcoming environment whether with us for one night or several. Based on your review additional training has been instated for our team and a professional pest control company has addressed the ant issue. We regret that due to some of our missteps you could not stay for the entire length of your scheduled work trip. Please contact us if you would like to discuss your experience greater detail and accept our deepest apologies.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

This was my first visit to Charleston and the hotel is in a perfect location for a first time visit. Everything you need within footsteps of the front door...wonderful restaurants, shopping, carriage rides, pedi-cab, market place, historic homes and gardens and the waterfront is only 2 blocks away! We didn't take a taxi, bus or need a car the whole time. We rode the pedi-cab once just for the fun of it. The hotel is nice but I must say I've stayed at nicer Doubletree hotels. We had a suite and it was somewhat small. No place to put a suitcase in the bedroom. Only one bathroom sink. There was a small bar sink and refrigerator but no microwave. The homemade chocolate chip cookies that we were given on arrival were absolutely delicious. Very nice staff. Hope to visit Charleston again someday and I will probably stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a upper floor room or courtyard view room. Many of the first floor rooms look right out onto...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DTreebyHilton, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel and Suites Charleston - Historic District, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Thank you for your candid review of our hotel and its service. I will be sharing your comments with our Team as they are one of the special points you made comment to in your review. As a company it is our goal to make each guest experience a warm and inviting experience offering our signature “southern hospitality”.
Best Wishes and we look forward to assisting you on your next trip to Charleston.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Top Contributor
135 reviews 135 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

This was our second stay at this hotel. It had a PERFECT location - next to the French Market, shopping and great restaurants within 2 blocks, like: Peninsula Grill, Hanks, Hyman's, Charleston Grill, Toast and others. Nice room - although the living area furniture needs to be replaced. Helpful and friendly service with lots of coffee in the morning. Thanks, Doubletree for a great stay.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DTreebyHilton, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel and Suites Charleston - Historic District, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Thank you for your posting and reminding everyone of our numerous amazing attributes that make Doubletree by Hilton such a special place to visit in Charleston. As you mention, our eager staff assist with making memories for our guests on a daily basis with a genuine sense of pride and hospitality not found in many properties. We look forward to your next visit.
Best Wishes…
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel and Suites Charleston - Historic District? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel and Suites Charleston - Historic District

Address: 181 Church Street, Charleston, SC 29401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston > Downtown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Business Hotel in Charleston
#30 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
#30 Family Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel and Suites Charleston - Historic District 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Amex, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Hilton Hotels, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, getaroom.com and Otel so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel and Suites Charleston - Historic District reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Hotel Charleston
Doubletree Historic District

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel and Suites Charleston - Historic District, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.