We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice property in heart of historic district” 4 of 5 stars
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel and Suites Charleston - Historic District

Save Saved
You added DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel and Suites Charleston - Historic District to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Booking.com Doubletree.com
and 6 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel and Suites Charleston - Historic District
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   181 Church Street, Charleston, SC 29401 (Downtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
45% Off WiFi & Parking
Ranked #33 of 54 hotels in Charleston
Chalfont, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Nice property in heart of historic district”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

You couldn't be any closer to everything you'll want to see, do, shop and eat. The 2 room suites are spacious and exceptionally clean. Ours was 273 overlooking both the courtyard and Church Street, a bit dark, but renovated. Check in is 4 pm ... don't expect to check in prior to that bewitching hour, it won't happen! However, the valet will park your car and deliver your bags to your room when the suite # has been assigned. You might want to take a walk to take your mind off the wait ... if you're anything like me after a long drive, the wait could really frustrate you. The hotel has a nice buffet breakfast for $10.95, but with all the great restaurants nearby, you might want to try them ... Eli's (formerly Joseph's) and Toast are both great. Plan to have at least one lunch or dinner at Magnolia's ... you will not be disappointed! Free WIFI a plus, parking rate of $22 per day a minus.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DTreebyHilton, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel and Suites Charleston - Historic District, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Thank you for your gracious review reminding everyone how convenient the hotel is in the historic market area. It is exciting to hear how much guests enjoy our location when visiting historic Charleston as they visit the variety of shopping and restaurant choices that make up the historic area.
We know that Charleston is full of choices and appreciate you making the historic Doubletree your choice. We look forward to seeing you again real soon…
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

876 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    355
    287
    137
    73
    24
See reviews for
193
338
25
170
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (155)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Charlottesville, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

The location of this hotel is wonderful, easy walking distance to most Charleston sights. First suite/room was disappointing, asked for upgrade when I saw brighter rooms, which they accommodated.

Breakfast staff was wonderful.

Stayed on the fourth floor, which I wouldn't do again because of the long, long waits for the elevators. There are no service elevators, just two small elevators and it was often filled up, even after waiting 7-10 minutes for it.

Rooms so-so. The bathroom of our suite was so small we could barely turn around in it. One tiny waste basket in the common area. No mirrors in bedroom. Lamps have multiple outlets for electronics, which was very helpful.

Room Tip: Lower floors because of elevator issues.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DTreebyHilton, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel and Suites Charleston - Historic District, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Thank you for bringing to our attention your candid review of your recent stay with the Doubletree by Hilton. I am sorry to hear about your impression of the guestrooms and elevator speed. These items are very troubling to us and I will be meeting with our maintenance department to look into increasing the elevator speed and efficiency. We certainly understand that Charleston is full of hospitality choices and we appreciate your business!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florence, South Carolina, United States
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is located right in the middle of the historic district. You are right beside the market, walking distance to almost anything you could possibly want. Amazing stay. I will say if us very pricey but for the location you cannot really beat it.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DTreebyHilton, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel and Suites Charleston - Historic District, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Thank you for your gracious review reminding everyone how convenient the hotel is in the historic market area. It is exciting to hear how much guests enjoy our location when visiting historic Charleston as they visit the variety of shopping and restaurant choices that make up the historic area.
We know that Charleston is full of choices and appreciate you making the historic Doubletree your choice. We look forward to seeing you again real soon…
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Casselberry, Florida
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

Enjoyed staying in historic district within walking distance of everything including the Market. Service was great. Just had to use valet parking which was easy. Car was always available in reasonable timeframe.
Enjoyed Xmas light show on James Island. Something not to be missed.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DTreebyHilton, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel and Suites Charleston - Historic District, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Many thanks for your recent posting! We love to read such praise and appreciation of our property, location, and service. As you mention, the Doubletree by Hilton has a superb location that only compliments the quality of our guest space, beautifully appointed rooms and superior service. We are always ready when you are prepared to make your next reservation and look forward to having you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simpsonville, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

Being right in the Market Street hot spot makes this a fantastic location. We had a pretty good experience with the place but there were a couple of things that were off-putting. Breakfast was mismanaged. Either they didn't have enough staff or just lost the handle on things but running out of flatware and making us wait to eat so long our food started getting cold is pretty bad. And we were given a King Jr Suite which is a two level affair. It turns out the walls are very thin. Our neighbors had children and at one point Mom called down to her children, "I put a washcloth on the bannister on the stairs for you baby doll." I called back, "Make sure you get the right stairs, it's not over here!" Things got quiet after that. :-D For the money I can't give higher than average for this hotel but other than my two picky things we really enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DTreebyHilton, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel and Suites Charleston - Historic District, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Thank you for reaching out to share feedback on your recent stay with us via TripAdvisor. We are sorry to hear of the noise and breakfast issues you encountered as your satisfaction is our ultimate goal. I apologize for the mismanagement of the situation, and for the frustration you must be facing. We are dedicated to ensuring your satisfaction and hope to have another opportunity to show you the complete quality stay you deserve should you return to our area in the future.

Thank you,
Michael Perry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

My daughter and I stayed for one night using our Hilton Honors points. Check in was quick and very friendly. The desk clerk made recommendations for breakfast and offered to order a cab for our return to the airport the next afternoon. Warm cookies were offered and she told my daughter to come by anytime for more.
We had a 2 level suite. It smelled musty, but otherwise it was clean, roomy and comfortable. Daughter used the work out room, which appeared small, but she was pleased with the equipment available. We were given the wrong bill, but this was quickly resolved.
The hotel is centrally located and after storing our luggage, we spent the day wandering the city. Carriage rides are easy to find just across the parking lot in front of the hotel, and there is a desk for one company located in the lobby.
At the end of the day we had a short wait until time to go to the airport. The lobby rest rooms were closed, and we had to go through the courtyard to get to another building to use the ones there. There was a company reception going on, so it was a bit akward traveling through it. The food at the reception tempted us to pose as employees! It looked and smelled so good. We collected our bags and found out a cab had NOT been ordered, but this was taken care of and the bell man came to the lobbly to get us when it arrived..
Due to the central location and friendly staff, we would consider staying here again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DTreebyHilton, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel and Suites Charleston - Historic District, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Thank you for your candid review of your recent stay at the DoubleTree by Hilton. Your comments regarding the service short falls were a concern to me and I have reviewed your comments with our Team to ensure our guests do not encounter this again. We know you have a choice in lodging accommodations and appreciate your business and hope to see you again in the near future.
.
Safe travels…
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burke, VA
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

I recently stayed at this hotel for the second time. I was very satisfied with my first visit--in Mar. 2012, but was far less satisfied when my wife and I stayed there this past week. I made the reservation months ago, so my wife and I could celebrate my retirement in my favorite southern city. In 2012 I had a lovely bright and comfortable suite on one floor, but for the most recent visit we were given a dark suite with the bed in a loft that required us to walk up stairs within the small suite. We each have bad backs and lugging our bags up the stairs to the loft was very difficult for us. We also needed to slimb the stairs whenever we needed to use the (very small) bathroom. But what was most disappointing was the attitude of the manager when I told him we were having problems with the layout of the suite. He acted as though he couldn't care less and said that the suite had is advantages and disadvantages. I have no idea what the advantages may have been, but our dissatisfaction with the suite and the manager's attitude will cause us to lodge elsewhere on our next trip to Charleston.

Room Tip: Request a bright suite with a decent size bathroom and all the rooms on the same floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DTreebyHilton, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel and Suites Charleston - Historic District, responded to this review, March 30, 2013
Thank you for bring to our attention your candid review of your recent stay with the Doubletree by Hilton. I am sorry to hear about your service related experiences and with your room location. These items are very troubling to us and I will be meeting with our department heads, as well as, the Team to ensure that these issues do not happen again and are handled differently. We certainly understand that Charleston is full of hospitality choices and we appreciate your business!
As a company it is our goal for each guest to experience the warmth and glow of hospitality and we are sorry for not living up to this standard with your visit.
I look forward to speaking with you soon.

Safe Travels…
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel and Suites Charleston - Historic District? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel and Suites Charleston - Historic District

Also Known As:
Doubletree Hotel Charleston
Doubletree Historic District
Address: 181 Church Street, Charleston, SC 29401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston > Downtown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Business Hotel in Charleston
#27 Family Hotel in Charleston
#31 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel and Suites Charleston - Historic District 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels, Tingo, getaroom.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel and Suites Charleston - Historic District reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel and Suites Charleston - Historic District, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.